CALL FOR QUOTES: 1-855-812-8395
Find affordable Alaska automobile insurance policy in minutes. Whether you live in Anchorage, Fairbanks, Juneau, College, Kenai, or Ketchikan, with so many companies offering car insurance in Alaska, how do you know what auto insurance is right for you? Find affordable auto insurance coverage and optional insurance policies available in Alaska.
Alaska drivers don’t have much to worry about when it comes to auto insurance, given that the state average monthly premium is around $37. But rates will vary by location. In a more populous city like Anchorage, prices are closer to $51/mo. But in smaller cities, like Ketchikan, you may be paying as little as $31 monthly for insurance.
AutoInsuranceEZ.com provides approximate measures of the relative cost of Alaska vehicle insurance to drivers in each state. Alaska ranks 12 out of 50 states in terms of average expenditures for auto insurance. These are the averages, of course; your rates may differ. To get your personalized car insurance quote and instantly compare rates in your area, please enter your zip code into the search box on this page.
Alaska requires liability insurance, with minimum of $50,000 for injury liability, $100,000 for all injuries, and $25,000 in property damage. The State of Alaska does not require UM/UIM coverage, also known as uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. No-fault insurance is not required in Alaska. Find cheap Alaska car insurance online.
|Bodily Injury Liability||50,000/100,000||100,000/300,000|
|Property Damage Liability||25,000||50,000|
|Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury||Not required||50,000/0130,000|
|Medical Payments||Not required||5,000|
|Collision||Not required||500 deductible|
|Comprehensive||Not required||100 deductible|
Most states only require you to purchase Liability coverage in order to drive legally, and Alaska is no exception. However, Liability only covers you if the accident is your fault. If an uninsured/underinsured driver crashes into you, if your car is stolen, or if severe weather damages your vehicle, your insurance won’t protect you from financial liability in these circumstances.
Got arrested for DUI in Alaska? You can be imprisoned for 72 hours, get your license suspended for 90 days, or receive a $1,600 fine. Also, Alaska requires an SR-22 filing to reinstate a revoked or suspended driver license. And on top of everything, DUI convictions will make your monthly insurance rates go up.
In Alaska, drivers as young as 14 can apply for and receive a Learner Stage driving permit. It will take at least 6 months and at least 40 hours of supervised driving practice (as well as 10 hours of supervised night driving) before they can graduate to their Intermediate stage. However, they cannot apply for an intermediate permit until they are at least 16 years of age. For the first six months, young drivers cannot be on the road between 1:00 and 5:00 AM, nor can they have a non-family passenger under the age of 21 in the vehicle with them. After this six-month trial period is over, young drivers in Alaska can receive a full license. Perhaps this extra driving experience is one of the reasons why Alaska is one of only a few states where teen drivers are not paying hundreds of dollars in insurance premiums each month.
Alaska is one of 47 states in the union where it is legal for your automotive insurance company to adjust your monthly premium according to what your credit score is. In most states, this presents a serious financial burden for drivers with a low credit score. In Alaska, however, even having poor credit doesn’t necessarily raise rates too drastically.
What happens if you borrow a friend’s car, and then get into an accident in their vehicle? There’s a popular myth that says “insurance follows the driver”, but in reality, the exact opposite is true. Insurance follows the vehicle, even if you aren’t the one driving it at the time an accident occurs. That’s why insurance companies need to know things like the make and model of your vehicle.
The state traffic laws we have already mentioned will likely have a significant impact on your monthly premiums for automobile insurance. However, there are additional traffic laws (outlined below) which are also important to know about. Should you break them, it could have a negative impact on your monthly rate as well.
As of 2016, there is no aggressive driving law within the state of Alaska. However, there is no guarantee that dangerous actions such as tailgating (following another vehicle too closely, especially at high speeds), unsafe lane change, or excessive speeding won’t become a ticketable offense in the future.
|Aggressive Driving||No state law|
|Cell Phones and Texting Laws||All-driver ban on texting (primary)|
|Inc. Penalty for High BAC||BAC 0.15|
|Admin. License Susp. on 1st Offense||90 days|
With regard to cell phones, there is no ban on hand-held cell phone use; this means that it is not illegal for you to talk on your cell phone while driving in Alaska. But there is an all-driver ban on texting while driving, and it is a primary level offense. This means that if a law enforcement official catches you texting and driving, they can pull you over and write you a ticket for it. And if the officer catches you committing another driving violation at the same time, such as speeding, it will compound the severity of your ticket.
|Rural Interstate||65 mph|
|Urban Interstate||55 mph|
|Other Limited-Access||65 mph|
Visit the Alaska Department of Administration – Division of Motor Vehicles for more information on getting your Alaska driver’s license and vehicle registration.
Alaska Department of Insurance DO NOT FORGET NO FOLLOW CODE
How to contact directly:
Alaska Division of Insurance
Robert B. Atwood Building
550 W. 7th Ave., Suite 1560
Anchorage, Alaska 99501-3567
Compare Alaska Car Insurance Companies that Offer the Lowest Rates in Your Area