CALL FOR QUOTES: 1-855-406-0240
Searching for cheap auto insurance in Idiana? Whether you reside in Indianapolis, Fort Wayne, Evansville, South Bend, or Gary, you can easily obtain up to ten rate quotes from leading companies near you with AutoInsuranceEZ.com. Price ranges may vary by company and you should compare rates diligently before you invest in a policy. We’ll help you choose the coverage to suit your needs.
To the surprise of many drivers, it really isn’t that expensive to drive around in Indiana with decent coverage. For starters, the state average is only around $38/mo. But cities like Fort Wayne enjoy an even cheaper average of $30 per month, typically. However, there are bigger cities – such as Gary or Indianapolis – where drivers might be paying up to $49 monthly or more for coverage.
Another factor that will affect the cost of your car insurance policy is your credit score. Drivers with good credit ratings are usually rewarded by getting a discount on their motor vehicle insurance or being charged a lower rate from the start.
Because Indiana is not a no-fault state, you will not be required to purchase no-fault insurance, thus making the search for cheap Indiana car insurance that much easier. Presently, however, the state of Indiana doesn’t require its motorists to purchase bodily injury UM/UIM coverage. The state of Indiana also requires liability insurance, with the minimum and maximum amounts of required coverage outlined below:
|Bodily Injury Liability||25,000/50,000||100,000/300,000|
|Property Damage Liability||10,000||100,000|
|Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury||Not required||100,000/300,000|
|Medical Payments||Not required||5,000|
|Collision||Not required||500 deductible|
|Comprehensive||Not required||0 deductible|
Different sorts of vehicles will require different types of coverage in order to protect you and your vehicle. For instance, roadside assistance is usually extra on most insurance policies, but isn’t it nice to know that if your vehicle breaks down, you won’t be stranded on the side of the road?
If you are convicted of your first DUI offense, you may face the following penalties: a 1-2 month prison sentence (which may be extended to a full 12 months with a BAL above 0.15); a fine of up to $500 (or a max of $5,000 with a BAL above 0.15); your license may be suspended for up to 2 years; you may have an ignition interlock device installed on your vehicle; community service; you may be required to attend a victim impact meeting; and also mandatory urine tests along with substance abuse education.
Not every driver is required to file an SR-22. These are for special cases when motorists are convicted of serious driving violations. These include causing an accident while driving without insurance, being convicted of a DUI, or operating a motor vehicle without proof of insurance. In Indiana, you will need to file an SR-22 in order to have your driver’s license reinstated.
Indiana has some complicated GDL laws, so pay close attention: young drivers can get their learner’s permit either at the age of 15 after taking driver’s education courses, or at the age of 16 without it. After 6 months and 50 supervised hours of driving (10 of which should be at night), drivers who are 16 years and 6 months of age who did take driver’s ed can apply for an intermediate permit (those who did not take it have to wait until 16 years and 9 months of age). For the first 180 days of your intermediate permit, you cannot be on the road between the hours of 10:00 PM and 5:00 AM, nor can you have any non-family passengers in the car with you. After that 180 day period, you will be able to drive more on weeknights and weekends. At 17 years of age, with driver’s ed, you can drive with passengers (17 years and 3 months without it). At the age of 18, all restrictions will be lifted and you can apply for a full driver’s license.
Having a good credit score in Indiana is just as important as it is in most other states. Without good credit, you will be charged significantly higher rates. However, if you keep a close eye on your credit and take steps to raise your score over time, you can start to earn some savings.
You may think you’re buying an automotive insurance policy for yourself; however, according to the law, you are actually purchasing a policy for your vehicle. For instance, if you borrow a friend’s car, and cause an accident, your insurance company will not get involved; it will be between your friend’s insurance provider, and whoever else was in the accident. For such reasons, you need to give your insurance company detailed information about your vehicle before you can get an accurate quote.
Everything discussed above are major, important factors which will determine for the most part how much you will pay monthly for auto insurance premiums. But if you violate any of the driving laws listed below, they could raise your rates as well:
There are aggressive driving laws on the books. If you are caught committing at least three of the dangerous driving habits which fall under the umbrella of aggressive driving (unsafe operation, following too closely, passing on the right off the roadway, unnecessary sounding of the horn, unsafe stopping or slowing, failure to yield, speeding, failure to obey traffic control devices, or repeatedly flashing headlights), you can also be charged with aggressive driving. And since people who commit such acts are usually unsafe drivers and are more likely to cause an accident, your insurance company may likely raise your rates.
|Cell Phones and Texting Laws||Novice Drivers (21 and younger), all-driver texting ban|
|Inc. Penalty for High BAC||BAC 0.15|
|Admin. License Susp. on 1st Offense||180 days|
As of July 2015, there was a primary ban on drivers under the age of 21 talking on a cell phone while driving. There is also a primary, all-driver ban on texting while driving. And primary enforcement means that a cop doesn’t need any other reason to pull you over and hand you a ticket, unlike with secondary enforcement laws.
|Rural Interstate||70 mph; trucks 65|
|Urban Interstate||55 mph|
|Other Limited-Access||60 mph|
Indiana Department of Revenue – Motor Vehicle Division – click here for information on obtaining your driver’s license, requirements for ID cards, and vehicle registration.
How to contact directly:
Indiana Dept. of car insurance Consumer Services
311 West Washington Street
Indianapolis, IN 46204-2787
Phone Toll Free: 1-800-622-4461
Compare Indiana Car Insurance Companies that Offer the Lowest Rates in Your Area