CALL FOR QUOTES: 1-855-812-8395
Looking for Missouri automobile insurance? If you live in Kansas City, Saint Louis, Springfield, Independence, or Columbia, you can acquire up to ten rate quotes from major providers near you with AutoInsuranceEZ.com. Rates vary by insurer and you should compare rates carefully before you buy a policy. We’ll enable you to get the coverage to meet your needs.
State average rates for vehicle insurance in Missouri fall right around $84 monthly for most drivers. Fortunately, there are some cheaper areas, such as Columbia, where averages can dip down to $65 or lower each month. However, there are also places like St. Louis where the average rates can climb as high as $98/month.
There aren’t any requirements to purchase no-fault insurance, which makes it easier to find cheap Missouri car insurance. They do, however, require UM/UIM coverage to protect against accidents with uninsured or underinsured motorists. Liability is of course required, and the specific amounts can be found in the table below:
|Bodily Injury Liability||25,000/50,000||100,000/300,000|
|Property Damage Liability||10,000||50,000|
|Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury||25,000/50,000||25,000/50,000|
|Medical Payments||Not required||5,000|
|Collision||Not required||500 deductible|
|Comprehensive||Not required||250 deductible|
Unlike some other states, Missouri requires Uninsured Motorist coverage which protects drivers from underinsured motorists, motorists with no insurance at all, or from hit-and-run accidents. But there are also optional types of coverage, such as Comprehensive, which can protect you from theft or vandalism.
If you are convicted of your first DUI offense, you may face the following penalties: a 6 month prison sentence; a fine of up to $500; your license may be fully suspended for 30 days and undergo a restricted suspension for an additional 60 days; you will have to pay a $45 license reinstatement fee; you will be required to purchase SR-22 insurance; and you might have to install an ignition interlock device on your automobile.
Not every driver is required to file an SR-22. These are for special cases when motorists are convicted of serious driving violations. These include causing an accident while driving without insurance, being convicted of a DUI, or operating a motor vehicle without proof of insurance. In Missouri, you will need to file an SR-22 in order to have your driver’s license reinstated.
You only have to be 15 years old in order to apply for a learner stage permit in the state of Missouri. You must maintain that permit in good standing for at least six months, gain 40 hours of supervised driving, and 10 hours of supervised night driving before moving to the next level. At the age of 16, you can then apply for an intermediate permit, which restricts novice drivers from being on the road between 1 and 5 AM. For the first 6 months of your intermediate permit, you cannot drive with more than 1 non-family passenger under the age of 19; after that, the passenger restriction raises to 3. At the age of 18, Missouri teens can apply for a full driver license.
If you have a poor credit score in Missouri, you could end up paying an 87% higher rate than what a driver with a good or excellent credit score would pay. And while that seems like a very high number, that’s actually good news. In most states, that discrepancy is usually much higher.
This might sound unusual, but your insurance policy actually covers your vehicle more so than it covers you, the driver. That’s why your insurance company asks questions like the make/model of your vehicle during the policy underwriting process.
Everything we’ve discussed so far may seem like a lot of information. But even beyond things like where you live, or what vehicle you drive, there are additional traffic laws which can have an influence on your rates if you aren’t careful:
For better or for worse, the state of Missouri doesn’t have any laws right now that charge motorists with aggressive driving if they happen to be caught driving aggressively. Obviously, things like running red lights or stop signs are still not legal, but committing such dangerous acts while driving will not result in an extra charge of aggressive driving.
|Aggressive Driving||No state law|
|Cell Phones and Texting Laws||Primary Texting Ban (Novice Drivers <21|
|Inc. Penalty for High BAC||BAC 0.15|
|Admin. License Susp. on 1st Offense||90 days|
It is a proven fact that talking on a cell phone while driving can increase your likelihood of getting into an accident by four-fold. And there is even further documentation to prove that texting while driving makes a deadly accident even more likely than that. However, despite these facts, the only law in Missouri with regard to cell phone use prohibits texting while driving for novice drivers under the age of 21. Fortunately, though, this is a primary level offense.
|Rural Interstate||70 mph|
|Urban Interstate||60 mph|
|Other Limited-Access||65 mph|
Missouri Department of Revenue – Motor Vehicle Division – click here for information on obtaining your driver’s license, requirements for ID cards, and vehicle registration.
How to contact directly:
Missouri Dept. of Insurance
P.O. Box 690
Jefferson City, MO 65102
Compare Missouri Car Insurance Companies that Offer the Lowest Rates in Your Area