Godfatherâs Pizza Auto Insurance: Rates & Requirements (2022)
Looking for Godfather's Pizza auto insurance? The company does not offer its pizza delivery drivers insurance, though it does expect its drivers to be covered in the event of an accident. You will need likely commercial auto insurance. We can help you decide between personal or commercial auto insurance and find the best auto insurance quotes for you.
Free Car Insurance Comparison
Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
UPDATED: Jun 27, 2022
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.
Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We partner with top insurance providers. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.
- Godfather’s Pizza does not offer auto insurance to its delivery drivers.
- Delivery drivers can purchase commercial auto insurance.
- Commercial auto insurance covers you when you use your vehicle for a fee.
In a dream world, auto insurance would always be provided to delivery drivers, but that’s not the case. If you’re applying for a delivery position with Godfather’s Pizza, auto insurance will not be included. If you want to drive delivery for Godfather’s Pizza, you want to make sure you have auto insurance.
Navigating new auto insurance policies can be confusing, but you have to adjust your policy or there will be serious issues. In some cases, your policy could be canceled. Avoid these issues by arming yourself right on the road.
Read this guide to learn more about what options you have as a driver at Godfather’s Pizza and auto insurance rates. We’ll also cover in what circumstances you need special car insurance to deliver food and the types of commercial auto insurance.
Ready to start comparing auto insurance companies in your area? Enter your ZIP code to get quotes and buy auto insurance for pizza delivery now.
What insurance do I need as a delivery driver for Godfather’s Pizza?
If you’re a delivery driver, first you will want to start with your state’s most basic auto laws. New Jersey auto insurance rules will vary from California’s or Illinois’s, so make sure that you are up-to-date with your state’s insurance requirements.
Penalties for not meeting the minimum auto insurance can be serious and could end up in you losing your license. If that happens, you cannot be a delivery driver for Godfather’s Pizza or anywhere else.
See what the penalties are in your state.
|States||Penalties for First Offense||Penalties for Second Offense|
|Alabama||Fine: Up to $500; registration suspension with $200 reinstatement fee||Fine: Up to $1,000 and/or six-month license suspension; $400 reinstatement fee with four-month registration suspension|
|Alaska||License suspension for 90 days||License suspension for one year|
|Arizona||Fine: $500 (or more); license/registration/license plate suspension for three months||Fine: $750 (or more within 36 months); license/registration/license plate suspension for six months|
|Arkansas||Fine: $50 to $250; suspended registration/no plates until proof of coverage plus $20 reinstatement fee; court may order impoundment||Fine: $250 to $500 fine — minimum fine mandatory; suspended registration/no plates until proof of coverage plus $20 reinstatement fee. Court may order impoundment|
|California||Fine: $100-$200 plus penalty assessments. Court may order impoundment||Fine: $200-$500 within three years plus penalty assessments. Court may order impoundment|
|Colorado||Fine: $500 minimum fine; 4 points against your license; license suspension until you can show proof to the DMV that you are insured. Courts may add up to 40 hours community service||$1,000 minimum fine and license suspension for 4 months; 4 points against your license. Courts may add up to 40 hours community service|
|Connecticut||Fine: $100-$1000; suspended registration/license for one month (show proof of insurance) with $175 reinstatement fee||Fine: $100-$1000; suspended registration/license for six months (show proof of insurance) with $175 reinstatement fee|
|Delaware||Fine: $1500 minimum fine; license/privilege suspension for six months||Fine: $3000 minimum fine within three years; license/privilege suspension for six months|
|Florida||Suspension of license and registration until reinstatement fee is paid and non-cancelable coverage is secured; $150 fee for first reinstatement||Suspension of license and registration until reinstatement fee is paid and non-cancelable coverage is secured; $250 fee for second reinstatement|
|Georgia||Suspended registration with $25 lapse fee and $60 reinstatement fee. Pay any other registration fees and vehicle ad valorem taxes due||Within five years: Suspended registration with $25 lapse fee and $60 reinstatement fee. Pay any other registration fees and vehicle ad valorem taxes due|
|Hawaii||Fine: $500 fine or community service granted by judge. Either license suspension for three months or a required nonrefundable insurance policy in force for six months||Fine: $1500 minimum fine within five years; either license suspension for one year or a required non-refundable insurance policy in force for six months|
|Idaho||Fine: $75; license suspension until financial proof. No reinstatement fee.||Fine: $1000 maximum fine within five years and/or no more than six months in jail; license suspension until financial proof. No reinstatement fee.|
|Illinois||Fine: minimum of $500; License plate suspension until $100 reinstatement fee and insurance proof||Fine: minimum of $1,000; License plate suspension for four months; $100 reinstatement fee and insurance proof|
|Indiana||License/registration suspension for 90 days to one year||Within three years: license/registration suspension for one year|
|Iowa||Fine: $500 if in accident; Otherwise, fine: $250; community service in lieu of fine. Possible citation/warning if pulled over plus removal of plates and registration possible when pulled over without insurance and reissued upon payment of fine or completed community service, proof of insurance, and $15 fee; possible impoundment when pulled over||N/A|
|Kansas||Fine: $300 to $1000 and/or confinement in jail up to six months; license/registration suspension; reinstatement fee: $100||Fine: $800 to $2500 within three years; license/registration suspension; reinstatement fee: $300 if revoked within previous year, otherwise $100|
|Kentucky||Fine: $500 to $1000 fine and/or sentenced up to 90 days in jail; license plates and registration revoked for one year or until proof of insurance is shown||Within five years: 180 days in jail and/or $1000 to $2500; license plates and registration revoked for one year or until proof of insurance is shown|
|Louisiana||Fine: $500 to $1000; If in car accident, fine plus registration revoked and driving privileges suspended for 180 days||N/A|
|Maine||Fine: $100 to $500; suspension of license and registration until proof of insurance||N/A|
|Maryland||Lose license plates and vehicle registration privileges; pay uninsured motorist penalty fees for each lapse of insurance — $150 for the first 30 days, $7 for each day thereafter; Pay a restoration fee of up to $25 for a vehicle's registration||N/A|
|Massachusetts||Fine: $500 to $5000 fine and/or imprisonment for one year or less||Within six years: License/driving privileges suspended for one year|
|Michigan||Fine: $200 to $500 fine and/or imprisonment for one year or less; license suspension for 30 days or until proof of insurance; $25 service fee to Secretary of State||N/A|
|Minnesota||Fine: $200 to $1000 (or community service) and/or imprisonment for up to 90 days; License and registration revoked for no more than 12 months||N/A|
|Mississippi||Fine: $1000; driving privileges suspended for one year or until proof of insurance||N/A|
|Missouri||Four points against driving record; driver may be supervised; suspended until proof of insurance with $20 reinstatement fee||Four points against driving record; driver may be supervised; suspended for 90 days with $200 reinstatement fee|
|Montana||Fine: $250 to $500 fine and/or imprisonment for no more than 10 days||Fine: $350 and/or imprisonment for no more than 10 days — within 5 years; license and registration revoked until proof of insurance and payment of reinstatement fees within 90 days|
|Nebraska||License and registration suspension; reinstatement fee of $50 for each; proof of insurance to remain on file for three years|
|Nevada||Fine: $250 to $1,000 depending on length of lapse; registration suspension — until payment of reinstatement fee and, depending on circumstances, an SR-22 (proof of financial responsibility) if lapsed more than 90 days; reinstatement fee: $250||Fine: $500 to $1000 depending on length of lapse; registration suspension — until payment of reinstatement fee and, depending on circumstances, SR-22 (proof of financial responsibility) if lapsed more than 90 days; Reinstatement fee: $500|
|New Hampshire||Not a mandatory insurance state. Proof of insurance may be required as the result of a conviction, crash involvement, or administrative action. If you are required to file proof of insurance and vehicles are registered in your name, you will be required to file an Owner’s SR-22 Certificate of Insurance.||N/A|
|New Jersey||Fine: $300 to $1000; license suspension for one year; pay surcharges for three years in the amount of $250 per year||Fine: up to $5000; two-year license suspension; 14-day, mandatory jail term, and an additional mandatory 30 days of community service|
|New Mexico||Fine: up to $300 and/or imprisoned for 90 days; license suspension||N/A|
|New York||Fine: up to $1500 if involved in accident plus $750 civil penalty; license and registration suspension – revoked for one year; suspension of license if without|
|insurance for 90 days; suspension lasts as long as registration suspension; Suspension of registration: equal to time without insurance or pays $8/day up to thirty days for which financial security was not in effect, $10/day from the thirty-first to the sixtieth day $12/day from the sixtieth to the ninetieth day and proof of security is provided. Or for the same time as the vehicle was operated without insurance.||N/A|
|North Carolina||Fine: $50; registration suspension until proof of financial responsibility but 30-day suspension if in car accident or knowingly driving without insurance; $50 restoration fee plus license plate fee||Fine: $100 within three years; registration suspension until proof of financial responsibility but 30-day suspension if in car accident or knowingly driving without insurance; $50 restoration fee plus license plate fee|
|North Dakota||Fine: up to $1500 and/or 30 days in prison; 14 points against license plus suspension; Proof of insurance must be provided for one year; license with a|
|notation requiring that person keep proof of liability insurance on file with the department. The fee for this license is $50, and the fee to remove|
|this notation is $50.||Fine: up to $1500 and/or 30 days in prison; 14 points against license plus suspension; license plates impounded until proof of insurance (provided for one year) plus $20 reinstatement fee; license with a notation requiring that person keep proof of liability insurance on file with the department. The fee for this license is $50 and the fee to remove this notation is $50.|
|Ohio||License/plates/registration suspension until requirements are met and $100 reinstatement fee is paid; maintain special high-risk coverage on file with the BMV for three to five years; If involved in accident without insurance: all above penalties and a security suspension for two plus years and an indefinite judgment suspension (until all damages are satisfied)||License/plates/registration suspension for one year; $300 reinstatement fee; maintain special high-risk coverage on file with the BMV for three or five years; if involved in accident without insurance: all above penalties and a security suspension for two plus years and an indefinite judgment suspension (until all damages are satisfied)|
|Oklahoma||Fine: $250; jail time up to 30 days; license suspension with $275 reinstatement fee. Police can seize license plates and assign temporary plates and liability insurance — in effect for 10 days and can also impound the vehicle. The cost of the temporary coverage is added to the administrative fee and any fines paid for plates to be returned. If car impounded, owner must also pay towing and storage fees.||N/A|
|Oregon||Fine: $130-$1000 ($260 is the presumptive fine); If involved in accident — at least a one year license suspension; proof of financial responsibility required for three years||N/A|
|Pennsylvania||Registration suspended for three months (unless lapse was for less than 31 days and vehicle not operated during that time); $88 restoration fee plus proof of insurance required to get it back; $500 civil penalty fee is optional in lieu of registration suspension plus $88 restoration fee — can only use this option once within a 12-month period||N/A|
|Rhode Island||Fine: $100 to $500; license and registration suspension up to three months; reinstatement fee: $30 to $50||Fine: $500; license and registration suspension up to six months; reinstatement fee: $30 to $50|
|South Carolina||Fine: $100-$200 or 30-day imprisonment; failure to surrender registration and plates when insurance lapses; license/registration suspended until proof of insurance plus $200 reinstatement fee||Fine: $200 and/or 30-day imprisonment — within 10 years; license/registration suspended until proof of insurance plus $200 reinstatement fee|
|South Dakota||Fine: $100 and/or 30 days imprisonment; license suspension for 30 days to one year; filing proof of insurance (SR-22) with the state for three years from date of conviction. Failure to file proof will result in suspension of vehicle registration, license plates, and driver license.||N/A|
|Tennessee||Pay $25 coverage failure fee within 30 days of notice; if not paid, then an additional $100 coverage failure fee with suspension or revocation of registration plus reinstatement fee of no more than $25||N/A|
|Texas||Fine: $175 to $350 fine; plus, pay up to a $250 surcharge every year for three years (may be reduced with certain requirements)||Fine: $350 to $1000; pay up to a $250 surcharge every year for three years (may be reduced with certain requirements); suspend the driver's license and vehicle registrations of the person unless the person files and maintains evidence of financial responsibility with the department until the second anniversary of the date of the subsequent conviction; Impoundment: for 180 days and|
|cannot apply for release of car without evidence of financial responsibility and impoundment fee of $15/day.|
|Utah||Fine: $400; license suspension until proof of insurance (maintained for three years) and $100 reinstatement fee||Fine: $1000 — with three years; license suspension until proof of insurance (maintained for three years) and $100 reinstatement fee|
|Vermont||Fine: up to $500; license suspended until proof of insurance||N/A|
|Virginia||Fine: may pay $500 Uninsured Motorists Vehicle fee to drive without insurance at your own risk. If this fee is not paid in lieu of insurance, all driving and vehicle registration privileges will be suspended until a $500 statutory fee is paid, proof of insurance is filed for three years, and a reinstatement fee (if applicable) is paid||N/A|
|Washington||Fine: Up to $250 or more||N/A|
|West Virginia||Fine: $200 to $5000; license suspended for 30 days with reinstatement fees, unless there's proof of insurance and $200 penalty fee||Fine: $200-$5000 fine and/or 15 days to one year in jail — within five years; license suspended for 90 days and registration revoked until proof of insurance|
|Wisconsin||Fine: up to $500||N/A|
|Wyoming||Fine: up to $750 fine and up to six months in jail||N/A|
Get Your Rates Quote Now
In order to avoid this mess, make sure you have adequate insurance that is up to date. But, what insurance do you need for delivery driving?
Do you need special car insurance to deliver pizza?
When picking up driving for Godfather’s Pizza, auto insurance doesn’t need to be an excessive expense.
Affordable auto insurance for delivery drivers can be easily acquired. In some cases, it’s just a few clicks online to add to your policy.
If you drive part-time delivery, you may want to consider extending your coverage to include coverage for transport services.
Some companies offer aimed policies geared toward the delivery driver. These are generally very specific add-ons that are bundled in your personal auto policies. Progressive, for example, offers pizza delivery auto insurance designed to protect you and your vehicle while you’re on the job.
Many auto insurance companies will allow you to add on coverage for pizza delivery and other types of services in which drivers use their own vehicle for a fee.
Is there cheap commercial auto insurance for delivery drivers?
Delivery drivers can also look into commercial auto insurance to protect themselves. If you drive on the weekends and are only punching in a few hours to collect some extra cash as a pizza delivery driver, you may not need to get additional coverage (always check with your insurance provider).
Career delivery drivers may want to consider affordable commercial auto insurance to cover themselves.
Check out the table below comparing personal and commercial (sometimes called business) auto insurance.
|Personal Auto Insurance||Business Auto Insurance|
|Driving to pick up lunch for you and your co-workers||Driving to deliver food to paying customers|
|Driving to your job site||Hauling tools and equipment to your job site|
|Going on weekend road trips||Meeting work clients and visiting job sites|
|Driving friends to the airport||Driving paying customers to the airport|
|Using your car for business less than 3 times per month||Using your car for business 500 miles a week or more|
Use the table to help you decide what sort of auto insurance rates for delivery car that you should be considering.
Pizza delivery falls into the first category of those who may need this type of insurance. But what is it?
Enter your ZIP code below to compare auto insurance rates.
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
What is the difference between personal vs. commercial auto insurance policies?
The difference between personal and commercial auto insurance is the use of the policy. If you are a business, or your business owns your vehicle, any vehicles used for work must be covered by commercial auto insurance.
Personal auto insurance is for your daily driver; it’s what you think of when you think of auto insurance. These policies will not cover any incident that happens when you are not using your vehicle for personal use. Personal auto insurance policies are cheaper than commercial auto insurance.
Commercial auto insurance sounds like it should include a fleet of trucks and drivers, but that’s not the case. Commercial auto insurance covers activities in your car done on business.
Delivery drivers and those who offer transportation services in their own vehicles may want to consider commercial auto insurance. (As should those who drive long distances for work or use a vehicle to transport heavy equipment or tools, as these are work-related risks).
Remember you’re putting yourself at greater risk to incur damages. Some of the damages commercial auto insurance will help alleviate are:
- Collision coverage: This is for losses that result from the crash.
- Comprehensive coverage: This is the broadest form of auto insurance coverage. It provides for losses from any cause except collision and overturn (insured under collision coverage) and a few policy exclusions, such as wear and tear, mechanical breakdown, and acts of war. Among the causes of loss covered under comprehensive are flood, fire, theft, glass breakage, falling objects, explosion, earthquake, etc.
If you find yourself in a situation where you can’t drive your car, you’ll want to be able to get back behind the wheel as soon as possible. This is particularly true when you’re car is your livelihood.
It’s important to be covered on the road, and it doesn’t need to break the bank.
Does being a delivery driver increase insurance?
Companies may see your driving delivery as an increased risk, above your personal use — and delivery drivers are more likely to get into an accident and file an insurance claim.
Commercial auto insurance policies are good for Godfather’s Pizza delivery drivers as they keep rates low compared to if an accident were to occur on the job with lesser or no insurance.
Check out this table that lays out the basic averages for commercial auto insurance.
|Vehicle||Minimum Annual Cost||Maximum Annual Cost|
Think you’re ready to purchase a policy? Make sure you check with your current provider first to see if there are affordable auto insurance options already available to you.
If you don’t think you need commercial auto insurance to drive pizza delivery at Godfather’s Pizza, your auto insurance company may already have an add on or extension you can add to your current policy. To drive pizza delivery for Godfather’s Pizza, auto insurance is required.
Delivery drivers have a responsibility to themselves and others on the road to keep safe. Don’t get caught up paying for the dangers of your job and make sure you’re covered with adequate auto insurance.
Ready to start comparing auto insurance for Godfather’s Pizza delivery? Enter your ZIP code now to find affordable auto insurance rates.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.