Cheap Car Insurance in Maryland
Shopping for Maryland automobile insurance? If you live in Baltimore, Rockville, Frederick, Gaithersburg, or Columbia, you may acquire up to five rate quotes from top companies in your state through AutoInsuranceEZ.com. Rates fluctuate by company and you ought to compare rates diligently before you purchase a policy. We’ll show you how to acquire the coverage to meet your needs.
Maryland Auto Insurance – Average Premiums
Average rates across Maryland are a little high – around $91 per month for each driver, to be exact. But it really all depends on what city you live in. Some places, like Frederick, have average rates as low as $67 per month, whereas more populated areas like Baltimore can cost $113 per month or more.
There are several factors that affect the price of Maryland vehicle insurance. Your age will likely affect how your automobile insurance is calculated, because older drivers with more experience behind the wheel are generally safer than younger drivers.
Important Maryland Auto Insurance Laws and Requirements
Maryland is not a no-fault state, which makes finding cheap Maryland car insurance that much easier because no-fault insurance is not required. However, Maryland does require its drivers to purchase UM/UIM coverage in order to protect against collisions with drivers who are either uninsured or underinsured. Maryland also requires liability insurance, with a minimum of $15,000 in property damage. Other requirements for Maryland insurance are outlined below:
|Bodily Injury Liability||30,000/60,000||100,000/300,000|
|Property Damage Liability||15,000||50,000|
|Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury||20,000/40,000||100,000/300,000|
|Medical Payments||Not required||5,000|
|Collision||Not required||250 deductible|
|Comprehensive||Not required||0 deductible|
Choosing the Right Amount of Maryland Car Insurance Coverage
There are many different types of coverage you can choose to purchase for your vehicle, in addition to the state mandated requirements. But even though these other coverages are optional, they can help protect against some pretty serious situations, like vehicle theft or a roadside breakdown. State minimum coverage won’t pay out claims for these situations.
Maryland DUI Laws
If you are convicted of your first DUI offense, you may face the following penalties: up to a full year in prison (two years if there is a minor in the vehicle); a fine of up to $1,000 ($2,000 if a minor is present in the vehicle); and your license will be suspended for at least 6 months. Not every driver is required to file an SR-22. These are for special cases when motorists are convicted of serious driving violations. These include causing an accident while driving without insurance, being convicted of a DUI, or operating a motor vehicle without proof of insurance. In Maryland, you will need to file an SR-22 in order to have your driver’s license reinstated.
Age Limit Laws
If you are at least 15 years and 9 months of age in Maryland, you can apply for a learner stage permit. During your first 9 months of driving, you must gather 60 hours of supervised driving (10 of them at night) before applying for your intermediate permit. Once you have an intermediate permit, you cannot drive between the hours of midnight and 5:00 AM, and you cannot ride with any non-family passengers who are under the age of 18 for your first five months of driving (but this is only a secondary level of enforcement. A month shy of your 17th birthday, you will have fill driver privileges during the day. At 18 years of age, you will gain full driving privileges at night also.
Credit Score Laws and Regulations
Many states across the country allow insurance companies to evaluate your credit history in order to determine your monthly rate. This can lead many providers to give discounts to drivers with good credit scores, while unfortunate drivers with poor credit scores may have to pay much higher rates.
Insuring your Vehicle in Maryland
Your insurance provider asks specific questions about your vehicle, such as your make and model, because the policy is effectively covering your vehicle more than it is covering you as a driver. This even extends to situations in which someone borrows your vehicle and gets into an accident. Even if you aren’t present, you and your insurance company will be dealing with the claims.
Additional Maryland Auto Insurance Laws and Requirements
So far, we’ve covered all the factors which can have a major impact on your monthly costs. But there are other laws which might also influence your rates:
Highway Safety Laws
There are aggressive driving laws within the state of Maryland. This means that in addition to ticketing you for committing dangerous driving violations, you can receive an additional charge of aggressive driving if you are caught doing at least three of the following: failure to obey traffic control device(s), overtaking and passing, driving on laned roadways, passing on the right, tailgating (following too closely), speeding, failure to yield.
|Cell Phones and Texting Laws||Primary Enforcement All-Driver Ban|
|Inc. Penalty for High BAC||BAC 0.15|
|Admin. License Susp. on 1st Offense||45 days|
Speed Limits and Cell Phone Use
In order to keep drivers safe on the road, Maryland now has a primary all-driver ban on all cell phone use for all drivers. School bus drivers are the exception; they are permitted to talk on the phone while driving. Everyone is banned from texting while driving. And these are all primary offenses, which means you can and will be ticketed immediately if you are caught violating the law.
|Rural Interstate||70 mph|
|Urban Interstate||70 mph|
|Other Limited-Access||70 mph|
Important Maryland Contacts
Maryland Department of Revenue – Motor Vehicle Division – click here for information on obtaining your driver’s license, requirements for ID cards, and vehicle registration.
How to contact directly:
Maryland Insurance Admin.
525 Saint Paul Place
Baltimore, MD 21202-2272
Toll Free: 1-800-492-6116
Compare Maryland Car Insurance Companies that Offer the Lowest Rates in Your Area