Cheap Car Insurance in Kansas
Scouring the web for Kansas automobile insurance? If you are living in Wichita, Overland Park, Kansas City, Topeka, or Olathe, you can acquire up to ten rate quotes from first rate insurers in the area via AutoInsuranceEZ.com. Rates differ by provider and you should compare rates thoroughly before you buy a policy. We’ll show you how to pick the coverage to meet your needs.
Kansas Auto Insurance – Average Premiums
Automotive insurance rates in Kansas are actually pretty affordable. On average, drivers should expect to pay around $63/mo for their policy. That doesn’t mean there aren’t more expensive cities, like Topeka, where average rates can spike up to $73 monthly. Yet there are also places like Olathe where rates can be as cheap as $56 monthly.
There are several factors that affect the price of Kansas vehicle insurance. If you live in an area with a high rate of automobile collisions, your insurance costs may be higher. For example, someone who lives in Topeka will undoubtedly pay more for their policy than a motorist living in Anderson. This is because rural drivers are less likely to get into an accident than city drivers.
Important Kansas Auto Insurance Laws and Requirements
When looking for cheap Kansas car insurance, it’s important to know what you are legally required to purchase. Because Kansas is a no-fault state, you will have to purchase no-fault insurance in the form of PIP coverage. Also, unlike most other states, Kansas drivers will be required to purchase Minimum liability and UM/UIM coverage in addition to no-fault insurance.
|Bodily Injury Liability||25,000/50,000||100,000/300,000|
|Property Damage Liability||10,000||50,000|
|Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury||25,000/50,000||100,000/300,000|
|Medical Payments||Not required||5,000|
|Collision||Not required||500 deductible|
|Comprehensive||Not required||250 deductible|
Choosing the Right Amount of Kansas Car Insurance Coverage
Even though Kansas has several requirements for drivers, insurance policies are still fairly cheap. But this could also be because not many drivers are opting to purchase optional coverage options such as Comprehensive or Collision coverage. But without these, you could be 100% financially responsible if you end up a victim of theft or severe weather.
Kansas DUI Laws
If you are convicted of your first DUI offense, you may face the following penalties: A minimum of two days in prison or 100 of community service hours; a fine between $500 and $1,000; your license may be suspended for 30 days with restrictions imposed upon it for 330 days; your vehicle may be impounded for up to one year; the court may order you to undergo treatment.
Not every driver is required to file an SR-22. These are for special cases when motorists are convicted of serious driving violations. These include causing an accident while driving without insurance, being convicted of a DUI, or operating a motor vehicle without proof of insurance. In Kansas, you will need to file an SR-22 in order to have your driver’s license reinstated.
Age Limit Laws
Children as young as 14 can apply for a learner permit in the state of Kansas. For their first year of driving, they must keep their permit in good standing, as well as accumulate 50 hours of supervised driving (ten hours at night) and at the age of 15, even though they are still considered to be in the learner’s stage, they can drive unsupervised between work, school, and home. At 16 years of age, they can get an intermediate stage permit which enables more unsupervised driving privileges. However, it also restricts them from being on the road between 9 PM and 5 AM, and it restricts the number of passengers down to no more than one non-sibling. At 16 years and 6 months of age, young drivers can apply for a full license.
Credit Score Laws and Regulations
Do you have a poor credit score? Well, unfortunately, that is going to make finding automobile insurance a little bit more difficult for you. Insurance companies can and enthusiastically do use your credit score to adjust your rate; the higher your score, the lower your monthly payment (and vice versa).
Insuring your Vehicle in Kansas
Have you ever heard the phrase “insurance follows the driver”? Well, in almost all cases, that statement is actually false. Your insurance policy applies first and foremost to your vehicle – even if you aren’t in it when it gets damaged. That’s why your insurance company wants to know details about it such as its make and model.
Additional Kansas Auto Insurance Laws and Requirements
So far, we’ve covered many of the most influential factors which will be responsible for making your insurance payments either economical, or a financial burden. But there are other laws that can raise your rates too – if you get caught breaking them, that is.
Highway Safety Laws
For better or worse, Kansas is one of many states which doesn’t have any aggressive driving laws. However, don’t make the mistake of assuming that dangerous behaviors, such as running stop signs and following other drivers too closely, won’t be charged against you when such irresponsible behavior eventually leads to an accident. It only means that you won’t have an extra charge on your record for driving irresponsibly.
|Aggressive Driving||No state law|
|Cell Phones and Texting Laws||Primary All-driver Ban (texting)|
|Inc. Penalty for High BAC||BAC 0.15|
|Admin. License Susp. on 1st Offense||30 days|
Speed Limits and Cell Phone Use
Thankfully, there is a primary level all-driver ban on texting while driving. There is also a primary level ban on novice drivers being allowed to talk on a cell phone while driving. But this is where safety measures against distracted driving end in Kansas. Even though it makes drivers 4x more likely to get into an accident, it is still legal for fully licensed adults and for school bus drivers to talk on a cell phone while driving.
|Rural Interstate||75 mph|
|Urban Interstate||70 mph|
|Other Limited-Access||70 mph|
Important Kansas Contacts
Kansas Department of Revenue – Motor Vehicle Division – click here for information on obtaining your driver’s license, requirements for ID cards, and vehicle registration.
How to contact directly:
Kansas Dept. of Insurance
420 SW 9th St.
Topeka, Kansas 66612-1678
Compare Kansas Car Insurance Companies that Offer the Lowest Rates in Your Area