Cheap Car Insurance in Massachusetts
Cheap Car Insurance in MassachusettsSearching for Massachusetts automobile insurance? If you are living in Boston, Worcester, Springfield, Lowell, or Cambridge, you can acquire up to seven rate quotes from top providers in the area by using AutoInsuranceEZ.com. Price ranges differ by provider and you should compare rates thoroughly before you buy a policy. We’ll make it easier to pick the coverage to suit your needs.
Massachusetts Auto Insurance – Average Premiums
The state average for Massachusetts is higher than most; your typical driver could end up paying around $127 per month for their coverage. But there are some areas which vary; Cambridge, for example, has average rates as low as $99 per month. But other areas, such as Springfield, could be as high as $180 each month for some drivers.
Important Massachusetts Auto Insurance Laws and Requirements
Finding cheap Massachusetts car insurance is now much easier since the in-statement of “managed competition” amongst Massachusetts insurance providers in 2008. Additionally, UM/UIM coverage is required for Massachusetts motorists, as well as no-fault insurance (which is covered by the PIP element of your automobile insurance policy). Minimums for liability insurance, which is also required by Massachusetts state law, are outline below:
|Bodily Injury Liability||25,000/50,000||100,000/300,000|
|Property Damage Liability||10,000||50,000|
|Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury||Not required||100,000/300,000|
|Medical Payments||Not required||100,000|
|Collision||Not required||500 deductible|
|Comprehensive||Not required||500 deductible|
Choosing the Right Amount of Massachusetts Car Insurance Coverage
You can try and save money by only purchasing the state minimum coverage, but you have to understand what you are sacrificing in order to save a little money each month. For instance, if your car is vandalized, stolen, or breaks down on the highway, state minimum insurance won’t protect you financially.
Massachusetts DUI Laws
If you are convicted of your first DUI offense, you may face the following penalties: up to 30 months in prison; a fine between $500 and $5,000 (with a $250 assessment fine and a $50 fine which goes to the DUI Victim Trust Fund); your license may be suspended for a year; and you may be assigned a treatment program by the court. Not every driver is required to file an SR-22. These are for special cases when motorists are convicted of serious driving violations. These include causing an accident while driving without insurance, being convicted of a DUI, or operating a motor vehicle without proof of insurance. In Massachusetts, you will need to file an SR-22 in order to have your driver’s license reinstated.
Age Limit Laws
16 years of age is the earliest that a young driver can apply for a learner’s permit in the state of Massachusetts. During those first 6 months of driving, must accumulate 40 hours of supervised driving (or only 30 hours with advanced driver training) before receiving an intermediate permit. After that, the young driver cannot be on the road between 12:30 AM and 5:00 AM, and they cannot have any non-family passengers in the vehicle under the age of 18 for the first 6 months of their intermediate permit. At 17 years of age, they have full driving privileges during the day; when they turn 18, they will receive full driving privileges at night also.
Credit Score Laws and Regulations
In most states, automotive insurance companies are allowed to take a look at your credit information, and use your score to alter your rate. Massachusetts, however, is one of three states where your insurance provider cannot legally alter rates based on credit scores. While this will give discounts to drivers with poorer credit, companies will likely raise rates for everyone to offset their lost profits.
Insuring your Vehicle in Massachusetts
The specifics of insurance can get complicated sometimes. For example, if you let a friend borrow your car, and they get into an accident, whose insurance company pays the bill? It largely depends on who was at fault. And it also depends on the vehicle – which is why your insurance company needs to know the make and model of your vehicle before they issue you a policy.
Additional Massachusetts Auto Insurance Laws and Requirements
All of the factors discussed thus far will have a pretty significant impact on your insurance rates. But there are some laws that, if broken, could alter your rates even further:
Highway Safety Laws
There are no aggressive driving laws in Massachusetts. But that doesn’t mean that aggressive actions performed while driving, such as running a stop sign, are legal; all it means is that you cannot receive any further charges past the original broken law.
|Aggressive Driving||No state law|
|Cell Phones and Texting Laws||Primary all-driver ban for school bus drivers, novice drivers, and texting|
|Inc. Penalty for High BAC||BAC 0.20|
|Admin. License Susp. on 1st Offense||90 days|
Speed Limits and Cell Phone Use
For cell phone use behind the wheel, there is a primary all driver ban on texting, and talking on a cell phone for school bus drivers and drivers under the age of 18. Adult drivers can talk on a cell phone while driving, although this doesn’t change the fact that increases your likelihood of an accident.
|Rural Interstate||65 mph|
|Urban Interstate||65 mph|
|Other Limited-Access||65 mph|
Important Massachusetts Contacts
Massachusetts Department of Revenue – Motor Vehicle Division – click here for information on obtaining your driver’s license, requirements for ID cards, and vehicle registration.
How to contact directly:
Massachusetts Div. of Insurance
One South Station, 5th Floor
Boston, MA 02110-2208
Compare Massachusetts Car Insurance Companies that Offer the Lowest Rates in Your Area