Cheap Car Insurance in South Carolina
Browsing for South Carolina automobile insurance? Sometimes looking for a provider can be difficult. But with AutoInsuranceEZ.com, it’s as uncomplicated as typing in your zip code. We can supply you with the top 10 insurance providers in your location, whether you live in a big city like Columbia, Charleston, or North Charleston, or a lesser populated area such as Rock Hill or Mount Pleasant.
South Carolina Auto Insurance – Average Premiums
Currently, drivers from South Carolina are just having to pay around $68 monthly for the typical South Carolina automotive insurance plan. However, these rates will fluctuate based on which city you reside in. Clearly, somewhere like North Charleston will probably be more costly (around $87/mo) while a smaller sized town like Rock Hill might have only a typical payment per month of $59 or fewer.
There are several factors that affect the price of South Carolina vehicle insurance. Your claims history will be examined when calculating your insurance premiums. If you have a history of filing several claims with previous insurers, this could lead to higher premiums with a new provider.
Important South Carolina Auto Insurance Laws and Requirements
South Carolina doesn’t require its motorists to purchase no-fault coverage, making the search for cheap South Carolina car insurance that much easier. Uninsured Motorist coverage is a requirement, and its limits must match that of the minimum state liability coverage as outlined below:
|Bodily Injury Liability||25,000/50,000||100,000/300,000|
|Property Damage Liability||25,000||50,000|
|Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury||25,000/50,000||25,000/50,000|
|Medical Payments||Not required||2,000|
|Collision||Not required||250 deductible|
|Comprehensive||Not required||250 deductible|
Choosing the Right Amount of South Carolina Car Insurance Coverage
Your financial allowance, along with the vehicle you have, have a profound affect on just how much you finish up having to pay for the monthly policy. For those who have a pleasant vehicle that you simply worry may be stolen, then it might be to your advantage to purchase some Comprehensive coverage, for instance. However if you simply can not afford the monthly repayments on this type of policy, maybe you have to consider trading inside a different vehicle which doesn’t need a lot coverage.
South Carolina DUI Laws
South Carolina has a graduated system of penalties in place for first-time DUI offenders. Fur DUIs with a BAL under 0.10, you may face 2-30 days in prison or 48 hours of community service. You will also have to pay a $400 fine and have to face a 6 month license suspension.
If your BAL is between 0.10 and 016, you may face between 3-30 days in prison or 72 hours of public service. There is also a $500 fine and a 6 month license suspension.
If your BAL is above 0.16, you may have a prison sentence lasting between 30-90 days or 30 days of required public service. There will also be a $1,000 fine and a 6 month license suspension.
Many of these convictions will result in a suspended license, and in many states, you will not be able to get your license back until you file an SR-22. The state of South Carolina, for example, is a state which requires an SR-22 to be filed before your license is reinstated.
Age Limit Laws
A Student Stage driver permit could be released as soon as fifteen years old for just about any qualifying teenage driver. However the driver must maintain their permit up to date not less than 9 months, collect 50 supervised driving hours (with 10 during the night), and hold back until their 16th birthday before they are able to make an application for their Intermediate permit. If this permit is acquired, They can’t drive alone between your hours of 10:00 PM – 6:00 AM (11 PM on Friday and Saturday nights) and can’t have non-family passenger within the vehicle together who’s younger than 20. Once the youthful driver turns 17, the passenger restriction is going to be lifted. Also, when the youthful driver turns 18, the night time limitations is going to be lifted plus they can obtain a full-privilege license.
Credit Score Laws and Regulations
Within the state of South Carolina, just like a number of other states, your insurance provider can legally examine your credit information to be able to choose how much to ask you for every month. For those who have an undesirable credit rating, you can finish up having to pay double or even more those of someone with better credit.
Insuring your Vehicle in South Carolina
Your insurance provider asks lots of questions regarding you, the motive force, but additionally your automobile (like the brand name) before they provide you with your final quote. How can this be? Well, that old myth that insurance follows the motive force is really false. Your insurance plan really follows the automobile, even when someone borrows it together with your permission and you’re nowhere near it during the time of body damage or perhaps an accident happens.
Additional South Carolina Auto Insurance Laws and Requirements
We have covered lots of essential information to date around the factors that will greatly influence your monthly rates. The laws and regulations and rules below may also change your rates – if you’re caught breaking these laws and regulations, that’s:
Highway Safety Laws
If you’re caught driving strongly in South Carolina (running red lights, tailgating, speeding excessively on city streets, etc.), you can’t be billed by having an aggressive driving breach on the top of breaking fundamental street laws and regulations. However, that doesn’t imply that your harmful driving habits will not be taken into consideration should you cause any sort of accident while carrying out them – either with a judge, or perhaps your insurance provider.
|Aggressive Driving||No state law|
|Cell Phones and Texting Laws||No state law|
|Inc. Penalty for High BAC||BAC 0.15|
|Admin. License Susp. on 1st Offense||1 month (if BAL greater than or equal to 0.15)|
Speed Limits and Cell Phone Use
There’s an all-driver ban on all mobile phone use within the state of South Carolina, which is a principal offense too. What this means is a few things: to begin with, the cops have no need for every other excuse to drag you over and ticket you apart from visiting a mobile phone inside your hands while driving. Next, which means that both speaking and texting in your phone as the vehicle is within motion are illegal, and you can get a ticket if you’re caught.
|Rural Interstate||70 mph|
|Urban Interstate||70 mph|
|Other Limited-Access||60 mph|
Important South Carolina Contacts
South Carolina Department of Revenue – Motor Vehicle Division – click here for information on obtaining your driver’s license, requirements for ID cards, and vehicle registration.
How to contact directly:
South Carolina Department of car insurance
300 Arbor Lake Dr.
Columbia, SC 29223
Compare South Carolina Car Insurance Companies that Offer the Lowest Rates in Your Area