The Ultimate North Dakota Car Insurance Guide (Costs + Coverage)
Free Auto Insurance Comparison
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
UPDATED: Jul 19, 2021
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.
Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We partner with top insurance providers. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.
|North Dakota Statistics Summary||Details|
|Road Miles 2015||Total in State: 87,128
Vehicle Miles Driven: 10,036 Million
|Vehicles 2015||Registered: 851,795
Total Stolen: 1,583
|Most Popular Vehicle||Ford F150|
|Percentage of Motorists Uninsured||6.80%
State Rank: 45th
|Driving Deaths||Speeding (2008-2017) Total: 419
Drunk Driving (2008-2017) Total: 547
|Average Premiums 2015 (Annual)||Liability: $298.18
Combined Premium: $773.30
|Cheapest Provider||USAA + GIC|
From the Red River Valley to the Badlands and the Missouri Plateau, North Dakota’s picturesque terrain is anything but ordinary. The Great Plains will take you up and down rolling hills, while North Dakota’s western border runs into the Rocky Mountains.
North Dakota is the second-least-populated state in the U.S. Its frigid temperatures and rugged terrain might account for the state’s low population of 760,077 people.
It is made up of just over 70,000 square miles with a population growth rate of 1.99 percent per year.
North Dakota also has more registered vehicles than actual people residing within its borders — there are more than 850,000 registered vehicles that drive on North Dakota back roads every day.
If you know anything about driving, you know that if you have a vehicle, you must also have car insurance. Finding a great car insurance policy that fits your budget and your lifestyle can be difficult, but it doesn’t have to be.
If you live in Fargo, Bismarck, Grand Forks, Minot, or West Fargo, you may get up to ten rate quotes from major insurers locally from AutoInsuranceEZ.com. Rates can vary by agency and you ought to compare rates thoroughly before you buy a policy. We’ll help you acquire the coverage to meet your needs.
Start comparing rates today with our FREE quote tool above.
North Dakota Car Insurance Coverage & Rates
We don’t want to keep you waiting, so let’s dig right into two of these very important car insurance factors: coverage and rate.
It’s North Dakota state law that every driver must have car insurance — but what type of car insurance is acceptable? How much car insurance do you need and what is it going to cost? Don’t worry — we’ll cover all this and more in the next few sections.
So you can better understand North Dakota’s car insurance laws, let’s touch on North Dakota’s car culture first.
North Dakota’s Car Culture
According to the Hartford, North Dakota drivers know it’s important to be prepared for anything from car trouble to a sudden storm, says Ron Holten, a state-licensed driver education instructor in North Dakota.
It’s common for drivers to carry survival kits and sleeping bags, which wasn’t the case when he lived in central Iowa, Holten says.
That’s partly because of the weather and partly because lower population density in many areas means you can drive a long way between towns. “Here you’ve got to be very cognizant of where you’re at and possible road conditions,” Holten says.
That might be one reason the best-selling car in North Dakota isn’t a car — it’s the big F-150.
“I see more all-wheel-drive pickups than anything,” Holten says. “If you go to the local grocery store or coffee hour, the men all drive pickups. That’s probably necessary for working on the farm anyway.”
If pickups aren’t your speed, you can enjoy North Dakota car culture in another way. In many cities in the state, in spring summer and fall, fans head to the track for auto racing to cheer on their favorite teams and drivers as they zip around the track.
North Dakota Minimum Coverage
Every state has a minimum car insurance coverage law. When you ask your car insurance company for a minimum liability insurance policy in North Dakota, they will give you the least amount of insurance that you are legally allowed to carry.
According to NOLO, North Dakota’s minimum liability insurance requirements are:
- Bodily injury liability: $25,000 per person (the maximum amount payable to one person)/$50,000 per accident (the maximum amount payable to all people injured) in an accident caused by you.
- Property damage liability: $25,000 per accident for vehicle damage and other property loss in an accident caused by you (does not cover damage to your vehicle).
- Uninsured motorist coverage: $25,000 per person/ $50,000 per accident. (Underinsured motorist coverage must be equal to the uninsured motorist coverage amount). Learn more about uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage.
- Basic no-fault/PIP: $30,000 per person.
Now that you know North Dakota insurance requirements, let’s discuss why having insurance is important.
North Dakota is one of a dozen or so states that have legislated some form of a “no-fault” car insurance system.
That means, after a car accident, your own basic no-fault (also called “personal injury protection” or “PIP”) coverage pays for your medical bills and certain other out-of-pocket losses, regardless of who caused the accident.
While North Dakota’s no-fault car insurance system applies to injuries caused by car accidents, it has no bearing on vehicle damage claims.
You can hold the at-fault driver liable for damage to (or total loss of) a vehicle after a car accident in North Dakota, with no limitations.
Because North Dakota is a no-fault state, it is important to carry more insurance than what is required by state law. Confused? We’ll cover all this and more in a few sections down the page.
Forms of Financial Responsibility
A form of financial responsibility is just a fancy term for proof of insurance. Proof of insurance shows the driver behind the wheel is agreeing to be held financially responsible if they are involved in or cause an accident.
When you buy an insurance policy, you are given an insurance card showing that you are an insured driver.
If a law enforcement officer pulls you over, you must be able to show your vehicle registration, license, and proof of insurance.
Acceptable forms of proof of insurance in the state of North Dakota are:
- Valid insurance cards showing liability coverage
- Copy of insurance policy
- Electronic proof on your smartphone or electronic device
If you fail to show proof of insurance when you are pulled over, you will be considered as an uninsured driver and will face penalties for driving without insurance.
Premiums as a Percentage of Income
In 2014, North Dakota’s average per capita income was $51,311. This is the average amount of money a North Dakota resident makes per year after taxes. From 2012 – 2014, North Dakota’s average per capita income increased by about $1,000.
Your insurance premium is the amount of money you pay for your insurance policy per year.
In 2014, North Dakota drivers paid an average of $768.09 for a full coverage insurance policy. From 2012 – 2014, the cost of car insurance increased by $54.
North Dakota drivers spend and average of 1.5 percent of their income on car insurance per year.
When we look at the same average from surrounding states during the same year, we find that South Dakota drivers paid an average of $744.28 for the same car insurance policy and they had an average per capita income of $41,825 — that’s almost $10,000 less than North Dakota residents make.
Countrywide, Americans pay an average of $981.77 per year for full coverage and make an average of $40,859 a year. This means that the average American spends 2.4 percent of their income on car insurance.
Use this calculator below to find out how much of your income is spent on car insurance.
The following data is pulled directly from the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC). North Dakota car insurance rates are lower than the national average rate in three out of the four following categories.
|COVERAGE TYPE||ANNUAL COSTS (2015)|
The rates listed in the table above are based on North Dakota’s state minimum liability insurance regulations.
Additional Liability Coverage in North Dakota
When you’re looking for a new car insurance provider to represent you, it might be a good idea to check out a few things before you hand over your money and sign the dotted line.
One of these things is loss ratio percentage, the amount of money a company has in premiums compared to the amount of money they spend on claims.
When you get into an accident, you must file a claim with your insurance company that indicates any damage done to your vehicle (or someone else’s) as well as any medical bills that you have which resulted from the accident.
For instance, if a company has a high yearly premium and low paid claim rate, the company might be scamming its clients. In other words, if the money from premiums isn’t being used to cover insurance claims, then where is it going?
Take a look at the table below. What do you notice?
|Medical Payments (MedPay)||70.40%||63.81%||65.87%|
|Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage||49.57%||50.58%||58.03%|
The table above shows us a loss ratio percentage for both MedPay and uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage.
If a loss ratio percentage is too high (over 100 percent) the company could be at risk of going bankrupt because they are paying too many claims — some of these claims could be fraudulent.
On the other hand, if a loss ratio percentage is too low (under 50 percent) the company is probably scamming its clients. Notice that uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage is particularly low.
This doesn’t mean that something fishy is absolutely going on behind the curtains, but it is something to be concerned about.
Did you know that 6.8 percent of North Dakota drivers are uninsured? This means that North Dakota is ranked 45th in the U.S. for uninsured drivers.
Are you looking for additional coverage? Since you know that 6.8 percent of all North Dakota drivers are completely (and illegally) uninsured, you should want to carry additional coverage.
If an uninsured motorist causes an accident with you, most likely you will never be reimbursed for repairs done to your vehicle or medical bills that you incurred from that accident.
The uninsured motorist will probably go bankrupt before being able to pay you back for all the bills you have incurred from the accident they caused.
MedPay and uninsured motorist coverage are not required by the state of North Dakota, but having more insurance is always better insurance.
Add-Ons, Endorsements, & Riders
If you’re looking for even more coverage, you’ve come to the right place. Though these add-ons below aren’t required by the state of North Dakota, it might be a good idea to carry them, anyway.
To learn more about the following types of coverage, click on the links below.
- Guaranteed Auto Protection (GAP)
- Personal Umbrella Policy (PUP)
- Rental Reimbursement
- Emergency Roadside Assistance
- Mechanical Breakdown Insurance
- Non-Owner Car Insurance
- Modified Car Insurance Coverage
- Classic Car Insurance
- Pay-As-You-Drive or Usage-Based Insurance
Add just one of the extra coverage options above, or add them all — the choice is completely up to you.
Male vs. Female Rates
Many different factors play a role when deciding what your car insurance rate will be.
Most people know that having a teen driver on their policy will likely raise their rate, but did you know that marital status and gender can also affect your insurance rate?
Check out the table below.
|Company||Married 35-year old female||Married 35-year old male||Married 60-year old female||Married 60-year old male||Single 17-year old female||Single 17-year old male||Single 25-year old female||Single 25-year old male|
|American Family Mutual||$2,737.18||$2,737.18||$2,470.01||$2,470.01||$5,790.24||$8,352.79||$2,737.18||$3,204.61|
|Mid-Century Ins Co||$1,849.52||$1,817.12||$1,652.82||$1,719.45||$6,604.22||$6,774.20||$2,101.08||$2,221.48|
|SAFECO Ins Co of America||$7,111.32||$7,686.04||$5,710.32||$6,918.97||$28,261.47||$31,519.57||$7,447.31||$8,167.61|
|State Farm Mutual Auto||$1,653.32||$1,653.32||$1,456.43||$1,456.43||$4,560.32||$5,771.61||$1,846.44||$2,086.33|
Most of the time, women pay less for car insurance than men. This is because car insurance companies see women as the more responsible gender.
If you’re married, you’ll most likely pay less for your car insurance policy than someone who is single.
Worried about that teenage driving rate? Car insurance companies know that young drivers have less experience behind the wheel and are more likely to get into an accident, which is why they always pay more for car insurance.
Don’t be alarmed. If your teen keeps a clean record, this should decrease as they get older.
Please be aware that our data is based on actual purchased coverage by the state population and includes rates for high-risk drivers and those drivers who choose to purchase more than the state minimum as well as other types of coverage not required such as uninsured/underinsured motorist, PIP, and MedPay.
Cheapest Rates by City
Find your city in the table below.
|City||Average Grand Total|
|GRAND FORKS AFB||$3,723.40|
According to our data, car insurance is the most expensive in Fort Yates.
Enter your ZIP code below to compare auto insurance rates.
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
Best North Dakota Car Insurance Companies
With hundreds of car insurance companies out there, it can be difficult to choose just one to take care of you and your family.
While you may choose a car insurance company strictly based on rates, it could be smart to read about why a car insurance company has low rankings, or why they are ranked off the charts.
In this next section, we’ll show you statistics like company complaints, A.M. Best ratings, customer service satisfaction ratings, and more.
The Top 10 Largest Companies’ Financial Rating
Similar to loss ratio percentages, A.M. Best ratings show a company’s financial strength. If a company is not financially stable, you could have problems with them paying out for claims.
|RANK||COMPANY NAME||AM BEST RATING||DIRECT PREMIUMS WRITTEN||LOSS RATIO||MARKET SHARE|
|1||State Farm Group||A||$620,489||59.83%||21.28%|
|3||Farmers Insurance Group||A||$275,252||54.10%||9.44%|
|4||Liberty Mutual Group||A||$261,291||67.77%||8.96%|
|6||Allstate Insurance Group||A+||$237,418||54.12%||8.14%|
|8||Country Insurance & Financial Service Group||C||$104,849||58.75%||3.60%|
|9||American Family Insurance Group||A||$91,870||66.64%||3.15%|
|10||Nationwide Corp Group||A+||$68,651||71.56%||2.35%|
We took the top 10 largest insurance companies in North Dakota and find that nine rated A or higher.
Companies with Best Ratings
We know that customer satisfaction is important in all service industries, but it is especially important in the car insurance world.
J.D. Power conducts a study every year that ranks car insurance companies based on customer satisfaction skills.
The 2019 U.S. Auto Insurance Study, now in its 20th year, examines customer satisfaction in five factors (in order of importance): interaction; policy offerings; price; billing process and policy information; and claims.
The study is based on responses from 42,759 auto insurance customers and was fielded from February – April 2019.
Except for USAA, (a company that only services military members and their families) Shelter was ranked as the number one insurance company in the central region of the U.S.
This region includes Arkansas, Iowa, Kansas, Minnesota, Nebraska, North Dakota, Oklahoma, and South Dakota.
Companies with Most Complaints in North Dakota
It also might be a good idea to check a company’s complaint history. Don’t be alarmed if you see open complaints — the best companies out there have complaints filed against them.
|COMPANY NAME||National Median|
|State Farm Group||1||0.44||1482|
|Farmers Insurance Group||1||0||0|
|Liberty Mutual Group||1||5.95||222|
|Allstate Insurance Group||1||0.5||163|
|Country Insurance & Financial Service Group||1||0.44||15|
|American Family Insurance Group||1||0.79||73|
|Nationwide Corp Group||1||0.28||25|
Cheapest Companies in North Dakota
If you’re looking for the company with the cheapest rate in North Dakota, see the table below. We compared North Dakota’s average rates with rates from the largest companies in North Dakota.
|Company||Average||Compared to State Average||Percentage Compared to State Average|
|American Family Mutual||$3,812.40||-$392.71||-10.30%|
|Mid-Century Ins Co||$3,092.49||-$1,112.63||-35.98%|
|SAFECO Ins Co of America||$12,852.83||$8,647.71||67.28%|
|State Farm Mutual Auto||$2,560.53||-$1,644.59||-64.23%|
According to our data, USAA GIC, State Farm Mutual Auto, and Allied P&C have the cheapest rates in the North Dakota area.
Commute Rates by Companies in North Dakota
Did you know your rate can increase if you drive more than the average North Dakota driver? See below.
|Group||10 miles commute, 6000 annual mileage||25 miles commute, 12000 annual mileage|
Some companies in the table above will leave your rate alone even if you drive more miles per year. Others may increase your rate by $50 – $100 a year.
Coverage Level Rates by Companies in North Dakota
By now you should know that every driver in North Dakota is required to carry at least a minimum liability insurance policy. However, sometimes a car insurance company will give you a break if you carry more insurance than what is required by the state.
See what we’re referring to in the table below.
|Group||Low Coverage||Medium Coverage||High Coverage|
High coverage only costs a couple of hundred dollars more per year — this means you might only pay $20 or less for your car insurance policy a month.
Having better coverage will help soften the blow when you get into a car accident down the road and can’t afford to pay those extra medical bills or vehicle repairs.
Credit History Rates by Companies in North Dakota
Credit history doesn’t just affect your interest rates — it also can affect your car insurance rate.
|Group||Poor Credit History||Fair Credit History||Good Credit History|
If you have a poor credit history, your rate could go up by thousands of dollars a year. On the other hand, good credit history can save you thousands of dollars on your insurance policy a year.
Car insurance companies believe people who have great credit are usually more responsible, and in turn, will be more responsible drivers. According to Experian, North Dakota has one of the highest average credit scores in the country: 697.
The average American has a credit score of 675 and has an average of 3.1 credit cards.
If you have poor credit, Geico might be the best car insurance company to choose based on credit rates.
Driving Record Rates by Companies in North Dakota
The most significant factor to affect your car insurance rate is likely to be your driving record. If you’ve proved yourself to be a great driver, your rates should be on the cheaper side.
If you’ve gotten two DUIs, been in an accident, and gotten four speeding tickets, you’re probably going to be paying thousands of dollars more for car insurance than your neighbor with a clean record.
|Group||Clean Record||With 1 speeding violation||With 1 accident||With 1 DUI|
If you’ve had a rough few years with your driving record and you’re looking to save some money on your insurance policy, try State Farm.
Number of Insurers in North Dakota
There are 12 domestic insurers in North Dakota and 786 foreign insurers. What is the difference between foreign and domestic insurers?
Domestic insurance laws are formed under the laws of the state of North Dakota, while foreign laws are formed under the laws of the U.S.
Every state has different laws. Domestic laws only apply to the state they are created in, but every driver must abide by foreign laws.
North Dakota State Laws
Do you know every state law in North Dakota?
While we don’t expect you to know every North Dakota law, you should be aware of North Dakota’s driving laws. Knowing these can help you avoid accidents, avoid speeding tickets, and even save your life.
In this next section, we will cover car insurance laws, windshield coverage, high-risk insurance, insurance discounts, insurance fraud, and state-specific laws.
Buckle up as we work our way through North Dakota state laws.
First of all, let’s take a look at how car insurance laws are created.
How State Laws for Insurance are Determined
According to the NAIC, state laws have considerable influence on auto insurance.
Each state determines the type of tort law and threshold (if any) that applies in the state, the type and amount of liability insurance required, and the system used for approval of insurer rates and forms.
In addition, the states have enacted varying auto seat belt requirements, drunk driving laws, and maximum speed limits.
On the NAIC website you can find the following regulation of North Dakota:
Regarding rate filing, a rate/rule filing of less than 5 percent for personal auto policy may be use-and-file once per calendar year per company. Otherwise, the filing must meet the prior approval standard.
Unfortunately for North Dakota drivers, there aren’t any laws about insurance companies paying to replace a broken windshield without a deductible.
However, here are some laws that are applicable in the state of North Dakota concerning broken windshields.
- Insurers may choose aftermarket parts if comparable to OEM
- Individual insurance companies may offer to replace a windshield with no deductible with comprehensive coverage.
High-risk insurance (or SR-22 insurance) is needed when a driver gets into a car accident and/or is charged with a DUI or breaks a driving law once or multiple times.
You also might need high-risk insurance if the following applies:
- Driving while uninsured
- A traffic violation that results in a fatality or serious injury
- A high number of points on your driving record
- A high-risk car (sports cars, etc.)
- You are over 70 years old
Similar to a proof of insurance form, SR-22 insurance is a form stating you agree to be financially responsible if and when an accident occurs.
If you are having a hard time finding insurance, the North Dakota Automobile Insurance Plan might be the next place to look for coverage.
Although this plan is higher than premiums in the normal market, it is available to drivers with a less-than-perfect record needing insurance.
At this time, North Dakota does not offer any type of government aid for car insurance to families with low income; however, there are many more ways you can save money on your insurance policy.
California, Hawaii, and New Jersey are the only states in the U.S. that provide car insurance government aid to families with low income.
Ask your insurance provider if you qualify for any of the following discounts:
- Homeowners discount
- Multi-car discount
- Good driver discount
- Student discount
- Military discount
Ready to start saving money on North Dakota auto insurance right now? Use our free tool by entering your zip code in the box below.
Free Auto Insurance Comparison
Enter your ZIP code below to compare auto insurance rates.
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
Automobile Insurance Fraud in North Dakota
According to the Insurance Information Institute, insurance fraud can be “hard” or “soft.” Hard fraud occurs when someone deliberately fabricates claims or fakes an accident.
The III also says that the Insurance Research Council reported that “Auto insurance fraud and claim buildup added between $4.9 billion and $6.8 billion to closed auto injury claim payments in 2007.”
Soft insurance fraud, also known as opportunistic fraud, occurs when people pad legitimate claims, or, in the case of business owners, list fewer employees or misrepresent the work they do to pay lower premiums for worker’s compensation.
Auto insurance fraud is illegal in the state of North Dakota and should be reported to the North Dakota Insurance Department. You can visit the NDID in person at this address:
600 E Boulevard Ave.
Bismarck, ND 58505-0320
If you’d like to speak with someone about a false claim over the phone, simply call their office at (800) 247-0560. Send them an email at [email protected]
Statute of Limitations
The statute of limitations law in North Dakota is set in place to protect both a driver and an insurance company.
This law gives a driver ample time to file a claim with their insurance company. The law protects the insurance company from drivers who want to file claims many years after an accident happened.
North Dakota drivers have six years to file a personal injury claim and six years to file a property damage claim. Keep in mind that six years begins the day that your accident occurs.
Remember how we talked about domestic insurance laws? Sometimes states have some weird domestic driving laws, and we found one in North Dakota worth talking about.
In North Dakota, it is against the law to put a penny in an automatic parking ticket machine. You’ll have to pay for parking with other currency, like a normal person.
Vehicle Licensing Laws
It’s time to move onto vehicle licensing laws. Have you ever heard of a REAL ID?
By October 2020, every driver who wants to go through airport security, board a domestic flight, or enter a federal building must have a REAL ID.
You will not need a REAL ID to drive a car or vote.
Penalties for Driving Without Insurance
It is illegal to drive without insurance in the state of North Dakota. But happens if you are caught and charged with driving without insurance?
|FIRST OFFENSE||SECOND OFFENSE|
|Fine: up to $1500 and/or 30 days in prison; 14 points against license plus suspension; Proof of insurance must be provided for one year; license with a|
notation requiring that person keep proof of liability insurance on file with the department. The fee for this license is $50, and the fee to remove this notation is $50.
|Fine: up to $1500 and/or 30 days in prison; 14 points against license plus suspension; license plates impounded until proof of insurance (provided for one year) plus $20 reinstatement fee; license with a notation requiring that person keep proof of liability insurance on file with the department. The fee for this license is $50 and the fee to remove this notation is $50.|
If you are caught driving without insurance just one time, you could be facing some serious jail time, fines, and license suspension.
To help you avoid some pretty serious penalties, we’ve listed acceptable forms of proof of insurance below:
- Valid liability insurance ID cards
- Copy of your current car’s insurance policy
- Valid insurance binder (a temporary form of car insurance)
- Picture of proof of insurance on your smartphone
Any time you are pulled over by the police, you must provide proof of registration, insurance, and a driver’s license.
Teen Driver Laws
According to the IIHS, teens can get their driving permit at age 14 in the state of North Dakota. Check out the table below about teen driver laws.
|REQUIREMENTS BEFORE GETTING A LICENSE OR RESTRICTED LICENSE||TIME LIMITS|
|Mandatory holding period||-at least 16 years old: 12 months
-16 years old and older: 6 months or until age 18, whichever comes first
|Minimum supervised driving time||-16 and younger: 50 hrs
-16 and older: none
|Minimum age||16; 15 for a parent requested restricted license|
When you’re a new teen driver, you must follow these restrictions in the table below.
|RESTRICTED LICENSE DRIVING REQUIREMENTS||DETAILS||MINIMUM TIME RESTRICTIONS MAY BE LIFTED|
|Nighttime Restrictions||The holder of a restricted license may only drive a car belonging to a parent or guardian and may not drive between the later of sunset or 9 p.m. and 5 a.m.||until age 16 (min. age: 16)|
|Passenger Restrictions (excepting family members)||none||none|
Driver License Renewal Procedures
If you are under the age of 78 years old, you must renew your North Dakota driver license every six years. If you are 78 years old and older, you must renew your license every four years.
Proof of adequate vision is required at every renewal for drivers of all ages.
Mail and online renewal are permitted for drivers under the age of 65, but drivers may only renew their license through the mail or online every other time.
According to ND.gov, Any person other than a nonresident student, a tourist, or a nonresident member of the Armed Forces who has lived in this state 90 consecutive days shall be deemed a resident of North Dakota for driver licensing.
You may use your commercial license from another state for 30 days after you become a resident of North Dakota.
Proof of identification and North Dakota residency will be required when applying for a North Dakota license.
Negligent Operator Treatment System (NOTS)
North Dakota defines “reckless driving” or “negligent driving as:
- Driving with “reckless disregard for the rights or safety of others,” or
- “without due caution and circumspection and at a speed or in a manner so as to endanger or be likely to endanger any person or the property of another.”
The consequences of a reckless driving violation depend on the circumstances. But generally, the possible penalties are:
- Standard reckless driving: Most reckless driving violations are class B misdemeanors. Convicted motorists face up to 30 days in jail and/or a maximum of $1,500 in fines.
- Aggravated reckless driving: A reckless driving offender who causes injury to another person can be convicted of aggravated reckless driving. A conviction is a class A misdemeanor and carries up to a year in jail and/or a maximum of $3,000 in fines.
A reckless driving conviction will add eight demerit points to a motorist’s driving record. And an aggravated reckless driving violation is 12 points. Accumulating too many points can lead to license suspension.
Rules of the Road
If you don’t know the rules of the road, you could be at risk of being in an accident or getting a speeding ticket.
In this next section, we will go over the seat belt and car seat laws, speed limit laws, ridesharing insurance laws and more.
Keep reading to learn more about the North Dakota rules of the road.
Fault vs. No-Fault
According to NOLO, North Dakota is one of a dozen or so states that have legislated some form of a “no-fault” car insurance system.
That means, after a car accident, your own basic no-fault (also called “personal injury protection” or “PIP”) coverage pays for your medical bills and certain other out-of-pocket losses, regardless of who caused the accident.
Seat Belt & Car Seat Laws
North Dakota wants drivers to be safe while on the road. Take a look at these seat belt laws listed below.
The following data is brought to you from the IIHS.
|SEAT BELT LAW IN North Dakota||DETAILS|
|Age/Seats Applicable||18+ years old in front seat|
|1st Offense Max Fine||$20|
North Dakota also has car seat laws. Make sure your child is safe by following these car sear laws listed below.
|CAR SEAT LAWS||DETAILS|
|Must be in|
child safety seat
|7 years and younger and less than 57 inches|
|Adult belt permissible||8 through 17 years; 7 years and younger and at least 57 inches|
|Maximum base fine 1st offense||$25 (points on your license may also be applied)|
|law states no preference for rear seat|
Currently, there are no laws regarding passengers in the cargo area of trucks.
Keep Right & Move Over Laws
North Dakota law says to keep right if you are driving slower than the average speed of traffic around you.
Passing on the right is allowed in certain conditions.
According to AAA, state law also requires drivers approaching a stationary emergency vehicle displaying flashing lights, including wreckers and highway maintenance vehicles, traveling in the same direction, to vacate the lane closest if safe and possible to do so, or slow to a safe speed.
Speed Limit Laws
All drivers should always pay attention to speed limits. Check out the table below for maximum allowed speeds in North Dakota.
|TYPE OF ROADWAY||SPEED LIMIT|
|Rural Interstates||75 mph|
|Urban Interstates||75 mph|
|Other Limited Access Roads||70 mph|
|Other Roads||65 mph|
Remember that speed limits can always change, especially in construction zones.
If you are a driver for Uber or Lyft, you’re going to need ridesharing insurance. Insurance companies know that the more you drive, the more likely you are to get into an accident.
You can get ridesharing insurance from any of the following companies:
- American Family Insurance
- State Farm
Automation on the Road
What is vehicle automation?
The IIHS states that automation involves using radar, camera, and other sensors to perform parts or all of the driving task on a sustained basis, instead of the driver.
One example is adaptive cruise control, which continually adjusts the vehicle’s speed to maintain a set minimum following distance.
Features such as automatic braking, which acts as a backup if the human driver fails to brake, or blindspot detection, which provides additional information to the driver, aren’t considered automation under this definition.
Driving automation is not limited to vehicles that drive themselves without human interaction but includes technologies that vary in technical capability.
While automated vehicles are deployed in North Dakota, the state does not require a licensed operator for an “autonomous vehicle” when “the automated driving system is completing the entire dynamic driving task” if the vehicle can achieve “a minimal risk condition” in the event of a failure.
In this next small section, we will cover distracted driving laws and penalties for driving under the influence. It is extremely dangerous to drive while under the influence, and that is exactly why North Dakota has put strict laws in place to prevent it.
From 2008 – 2017, there 419 alcohol-related driving deaths. See the table below for North Dakota DUI laws.
|BAC LIMIT||HIGH BAC LIMIT||CRIMINAL STATUS BY OFFENSE||FORMAL NAME FOR OFFENSE||LOOK BACK PERIOD/WASHOUT PERIOD|
|0.08||0.18||1st and 2nd offense within 7 years are class B misdemeanors. 3rd offense within 7 years is a Class A misdemeanor. 4th and subsequent offenses within 15 years are Class C felonies.||Driving Under the Influence (DUI)||7 years|
If you break one of these laws or drive after drinking one too many margaritas, you’ll be facing some serious penalties.
|NUMBER OF OFFENSE||LICENSE REVOCATION||JAIL TIME||FINE|
|1st||91 days minimum||no minimum||$500 minimum|
|2nd||1 year minimum||10 days minimum||$600 minimum|
|3rd||2 years minimum||120 days minimum||$2,000 minimum|
Get a DUI just one time and you could lose your license for up to 91 days and have to pay a minimum fine of $500.
When you choose to drink and drive, not only are you risking your own life but someone else’s, as well. Get an Uber next time — these serious DUI penalties listed above are not worth getting behind the wheel after you’ve been behind the bar.
Marijuana-Impaired Driving Laws
According to Responsibility.org, in the state of North Dakota, there aren’t any specific laws about marijuana.
However, this doesn’t mean a law enforcement officer cannot pull you over for driving under the influence, or “driving impaired.”
While there isn’t a handheld cell phone ban in the state of North Dakota, this doesn’t mean you can use your cell phone while driving whenever you want.
|HAND-HELD BAN||YOUNG DRIVER CELL PHONE BAN||TEXTING BAN||ENFORCEMENT|
|no||drivers younger than 18||all drivers||primary|
According to AAA, texting while driving is prohibited. All wireless device use is prohibited for drivers under age 18.
Driving in North Dakota
We’ve touched on car insurance laws, types of coverage, costs of coverage, rules of the road and distracted driving laws, but now it’s time to talk about the risks of driving on North Dakota roads.
It’s always good to be aware of your surroundings when you’re driving, but if you don’t know the risks of the road, you could be the perfect candidate for vehicle theft or a deadly crash.
Vehicle Theft in North Dakota
Here’s a list of the top 10 vehicles that are the most stolen in North Dakota.
|Rank||Make/Model||Year of Vehicle||Year||Thefts|
|1||Chevrolet Pickup (Full Size)||2002||2002||127|
|2||Ford Pickup (Full Size)||1997||1997||101|
|3||Dodge Pickup (Full Size)||1998||1998||49|
|4||GMC Pickup (Full Size)||2006||2006||37|
|7||Jeep Cherokee/Grand Cherokee||1999||1999||21|
|8||Chevrolet Pickup (Small Size)||1999||1999||18|
|9||Pontiac Grand Am||2000||2000||17|
The year of the vehicle listed is the most popular model stolen in the year 2016.
The following list is brought to you by the FBI. It shows vehicle theft by city in North Dakota.
Some of these cities have zero vehicle theft for the year 2017.
Road Fatalities in North Dakota
Road fatalities can happen for all kinds of reasons. The following data from the NHTSA Crash Report by State can help us determine exactly what caused these fatalities so that we can hopefully avoid them in the future.
Let’s take a look at when fatalities happen the most, how they happen, what causes them, and who is most likely to cause them.
But first, what is the most dangerous road in North Dakota?
Most Fatal Highway in North Dakota
US-2 in North Dakota passes the geographical center of the USA. According to Geotab.com, the highway has seen 86 fatal crashes in the last 10 years and is the most dangerous highway in North Dakota.
To determine the most dangerous highway in each U.S. state, Geotab calculated a Fatal Crash Rate that is based on the annual number of road fatalities and fatal crashes according to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, adjusted for the average daily traffic counts provided by the Federal Highway Administration.
The fatal crash rate in North Dakota is 0.7.
Fatal Crashes by Weather Condition & Light Condition
Does the weather condition or light condition play a role in fatal crashes in North Dakota?
|WEATHER CONDITION||DAYLIGHT||DARK, BUT LIGHTED||DARK||DAWN OR DUSK||OTHER / UNKNOWN||TOTAL|
Surprisingly, most accidents occur in normal, daylight hours.
Fatalities (All Crashes) by County
Here is a list of fatal crashes by county from 2013 – 2017. Find your county in the table below.
|Golden Valley County||1||0||0||2||0||54.79||0||0||107.47||0|
|Grand Forks County||5||3||6||1||7||7.24||4.3||8.53||1.42||9.89|
Traffic Fatalities: Rural vs. Urban
Most fatal crashes happen in rural environments because it usually takes longer for an EMS response team to reach a crash site in a rural area.
In fact, fatal crashes happen at least 10 more times in rural areas than they do in urban areas in North Dakota.
Fatalities by Person Type
Does person type or vehicle type impact the fatal crash rate in North Dakota?
|Light Truck - Pickup||43||33||45||25||33|
|Light Truck - Utility||26||27||18||13||18|
|Light Truck - Van||5||6||1||3||5|
|Bicyclist and Other Cyclist||1||3||1||3||2|
Fatalities by Crash Type
Did the crash type have anything to do with the fatal crash rate in North Dakota? See the table below.
|Involving a Large Truck||63||49||47||13||26|
|Involving a Rollover||67||56||68||57||57|
|Involving a Roadway Departure||107||76||86||66||59|
|Involving an Intersection (or Intersection Related)||30||37||25||22||24|
|Total Fatalities (All Crashes)*||148||135||131||113||115|
According to the NHTSA, single-vehicle crashes and crashes involving a roadway departure were the most likely to end in a fatality.
Five-Year Trend For the Top 10 Counties in North Dakota
Here’s a list of the five-year fatality trend for the top 10 largest counties in North Dakota.
|RANK||NORTH DAKOTA COUNTY||2013||2014||2015||2016||2017|
|5||Grand Forks County||5||3||6||1||7|
|Sub Total 1.*||Top Ten Counties||102||85||91||62||68|
|Sub Total 2.**||All Other Counties||46||50||40||51||47|
Fatalities Involving Speeding by County
Speeding is another major culprit for traffic fatalities in North Dakota.
|Golden Valley County||1||0||0||1||0||54.79||0||0||53.73||0|
|Grand Forks County||3||2||0||1||1||4.34||2.86||0||1.42||1.41|
Fatalities in Crashes Involving an Alcohol-Impaired Driver (BAC = .08+) by County
Driving drunk is extremely dangerous. In 2017, 46 people lost their lives because of alcohol-impaired driving.
|Golden Valley County||0||0||0||1||0||0||0||0||53.73||0|
|Grand Forks County||2||0||2||0||2||2.9||0||2.84||0||2.83|
Every time you participate in drunk driving, you risk your life as well as other people’s lives on the road.
Teen Drinking & Driving
The North Dakota underage drinking law found on the state website:
It is illegal to manufacture, purchase, consume or possess alcoholic beverages. Drinking underage can result in up to 30 days in jail and a $500 fine. Driving under the influence (.02 for minors) is punishable by up to five years in prison and a $10,000 fine.
Teenage driving is especially scary because young drivers don’t have a lot of experience behind the wheel.
|DUI Arrest (Under 18 years old)||DUI Arrests (Under 18 years old) Total Per Million People||Rank|
North Dakota is the 1oth-most-dangerous state in the U.S. for teenage drinking and driving.
According to Responsibility.org, in 26 states and D.C., under-21 alcohol-impaired driving fatalities per 100,000 population were at or below the national average of 1.2 deaths per 100,000 population.
North Dakota has twice this many deaths — 2.4 per 100,000 population.
EMS Response Time
After you’ve just been in an accident, it always feels like it takes forever for an emergency response team to get to you.
Arriving seconds earlier than expected can mean the difference between life and death. Check out the EMS response times listed below.
|LOCATION OF INCIDENT||TIME OF CRASH TO EMS NOTIFICATION||EMS NOTIFICATION TO EMS ARRIVAL||EMS ARRIVAL AT SCENE TO HOSPITAL ARRIVAL||TIME OF CRASH TO HOSPITAL ARRIVAL||TOTAL FATALITIES IN CRASHES|
|Rural||7.33 min||14.49 min||41.05 min||59.76 min||95|
|Urban||13.50 min||5.14 min||25.43 min||28.33||7|
Usually, it takes an ambulance a longer amount of time to get to a crash site in a rural area than it does in an urban area.
As we’ve previously discussed, car insurance companies base a rate on a variety of things. But did you know commute time, transportation choice, and car ownership can affect your rate?
How many cars does the average household own in North Dakota?
The following chart displays the households in North Dakota distributed between a series of car ownership compared to the national average. The largest share of households in North Dakota has two cars, followed by three cars.
The orange bars represent North Dakota’s average, while the gray bars show the national average.
Using averages, employees in North Dakota have a shorter commute time (15.8 minutes) than the normal US worker (25.5 minutes). Additionally, 1.49 percent of the workforce in North Dakota have “super commutes” in excess of 90 minutes.
In 2017, the most common method of travel for workers in North Dakota was Drove Alone (81.6 percent), followed by those who Carpooled (8.18 percent) and those who Worked At Home (4.63 percent).
Traffic Congestion in North Dakota
Good news for North Dakota drivers! According to Inrix, North Dakota doesn’t have any cities on the most traffic-congested cities in America list.
Well, that’s all she wrote, folks!
Hopefully, you’ve learned all you need to know about North Dakota auto insurance. To begin saving money on your new insurance policy, enter your zip code in the box below to get started.