Cheap Car Insurance in Montana
Scouring the web for Montana automobile insurance? If you live in Billings, Missoula, Great Falls, Bozeman, or Butte, you may get hold of up to ten rate quotes from top providers in your area via AutoInsuranceEZ.com. Price ranges fluctuate by agency and you should compare rates thoroughly before you obtain a policy. We’ll show you how to pick the coverage to meet your needs.
Montana Auto Insurance – Average Premiums
The state average for automotive insurance policies in Montana is hovering right around $71 currently. Naturally, your zipcode will be the biggest factor in determining how your charges fluctuate by location. In certain cities, for example Billings or Missoula, you could only have to pay out around $65/mo. In larger places, like Great Falls, your monthly payments might be somewhere around $88.
Another factor that will affect the cost of your car insurance policy is your location. Drivers who live in highly populated cities are more vulnerable to traffic collisions than those who live in rural areas.
Important Montana Auto Insurance Laws and Requirements
No-fault insurance is not required in Montana, which makes finding cheap Montana car insurance that much easier. Additionally, you will not be required to purchase uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage either. Liability insurance is required, of course, in the following specified amounts:
|Bodily Injury Liability||25,000/50,000||100,000/300,000|
|Property Damage Liability||10,000||50,000|
|Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury||Not required||25,000/50,000|
|Medical Payments||Not required||5,000|
|Collision||Not required||500 deductible|
|Comprehensive||Not required||250 deductible|
Choosing the Right Amount of Montana Car Insurance Coverage
Not all the vehicle insurance policies are the same. At the very least, you must get the mandated state bare minimum coverages as well as in their lowest required quantities. If your motor vehicle is modern, more expensive, or perhaps you are concerned about types of harm which Liability won’t protect (for example theft, or conditions injury), then you should purchase far more coverage – and then in greater proportions, as well.
Montana DUI Laws
If you are convicted of your first DUI offense, you may face the following penalties: anywhere from a day to a full 6 months in prison (these penalties are doubled if there is a minor younger than 16 is present in the car); a fine between $300 and $1,000 (doubled if there is a minor younger than 16 present in the vehicle); your license will be suspended for 6 months; you may be required to complete an educational course or get treatment for chemical dependency; you may have an ignition interlock device installed on your vehicle; and you may end up with a restricted license.
Not every driver is required to file an SR-22. These are for special cases when motorists are convicted of serious driving violations. These include causing an accident while driving without insurance, being convicted of a DUI, or operating a motor vehicle without proof of insurance. In Montana, you will need to file an SR-22 in order to have your driver’s license reinstated.
Age Limit Laws
Unlike some other states, young Montana drivers can apply for a learner’s permit at 14 years and 6 months of age. The learner stage lasts six months, in which the driver needs 50 hours (and 10 night hours) of supervised driving hours before moving on to the next stage. During the Intermediate stage, the restricted driving hours are between 11:00 PM and 5:00 AM. For the first 6 months of intermediate driving, no more than one under 18 non-family passenger can ride along with. That restriction raises to 3 passengers during the second six months. Finally, at 16 months of age, young drivers can apply for a full license.
Credit Score Laws and Regulations
For many states, it’s legal for insurance companies to change your premiums depending on how low or high your credit rating is. If your credit rating is actually high, then you are fortunate – automotive insurance firms frequently give lower rates to motorists who’re lucky enough to have maintained a higher credit rating.
Insuring your Vehicle in Montana
While you, as a person who wants to drive, are legally needing to hold insurance, your policy actually has more to do with your automobile. This is exactly why your insurance provider must be aware of the brand name of the vehicle to precisely quote a policy rate. Why so much interest? Well, for those who have a costly vehicle, and let a family member or friend borrow it, any insurance claims with an accident which ends from their driving your vehicle or truck is going to be charged to your insurance provider, if the borrowing driver is at fault.
Additional Montana Auto Insurance Laws and Requirements
All the laws and regulations pointed out above have a significant effect on just how much you might end up having to pay for the insurance plan. The laws and regulations below may not make much of a positive change, but knowing them (and most importantly, following them) may also help keep the rates low:
Highway Safety Laws
As far as Montana legislators are concerned, most don’t feel that aggressive driving laws need to be on the books in their state. Does that mean that running red lights or ignoring stop signs is somehow legal? Of course not. But you probably won’t find yourself with extra charges if you violate one (or many) such rules.
|Aggressive Driving||No state law|
|Cell Phones and Texting Laws||No state law|
|Inc. Penalty for High BAC||BAC 0.16|
|Admin. License Susp. on 1st Offense||6 months|
Speed Limits and Cell Phone Use
Montana has some of the most lax laws when it comes to cell phone use in the entire country. Basically, it is not illegal to use your cell phone while behind the wheel in Montana. As a matter of fact, even texting while driving is still technically legal within the state. So if you have to visit Montana any time soon, or if you already live there, be aware of this extra danger on the road.
|Rural Interstate||75 mph (65 for trucks)|
|Urban Interstate||65 mph|
|Other Limited-Access||Day: 70 mph; night: 65 mph|
Important Montana Contacts
Montana Department of Revenue – Motor Vehicle Division – click here for information on obtaining your driver’s license, requirements for ID cards, and vehicle registration.
Montana Department of Insurance How to contact directly:
Montana State Auditor’s Office
840 Helena Avenue
Helena, MT 59601
Compare Montana Car Insurance Companies that Offer the Lowest Rates in Your Area