Cheap Car Insurance in Texas
Searching for Texas auto insurance quotes? Sometimes browsing for a provider can be difficult. But with AutoInsuranceEZ.com, it’s as straightforward as typing in your zip code. We can present you with the top nine insurance providers in your region, whether you live in a big city like Houston, San Antonio, or Dallas, or a lesser populated area such as Austin or Fort Worth.
Texas is one of the 15 most expensive states in the country, even if you live in a nice town like Corpus Christi, Arlington, or El Paso. That’s why it’s so important to shop around and make sure you’re getting the best deal.
Texas Auto Insurance – Average Premiums
Regrettably, Texas has a few of the greatest insurance costs of all the 50 states. For instance, the statewide average is $105 monthly. However, based on your particular city, you may be likely to pay less. In Austin, for instance, the monthly average is as little as $91. On the other hand, places like Dallas have average rates up to $118 or even more monthly.
Important Texas Auto Insurance Laws and Requirements
Despite higher than average rates, finding cheap Texas car insurance is a realistic possibility. For starters, motorists in Texas are not required to purchase no-fault coverage. Additionally, UM/UIM is also on the list of optional coverage policies which you don’t have to buy unless you want that piece of mind. Liability is of course a requirement, and the minimum requirements are outlined in the table below:
|Bodily Injury Liability||30,000/60,000||30,000/60,000|
|Property Damage Liability||25,000||25,000|
|Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury||Not required||25,000/50,000|
|Medical Payments||Not required||2,500|
|Collision||Not required||500 deductible|
|Comprehensive||Not required||500 deductible|
Choosing the Right Amount of Texas Car Insurance Coverage
Naturally, there are many different facets regarding your vehicle that will determine the policy you’ll need – and how much you will have to pay to buy that coverage. More youthful, more recent, or popular automobiles, for instance, will likely have to be protected against thievery and damage with Comprehensive coverage. But, as you can tell, that may obtain a little costly.
Texas DUI Laws
For your first DUI offense in the state of Texas, you could have to deal with the following penalties: anywhere from 72 hours to 180 days in prison (or up to 180 days to 2 years if a minor under the age of 15 is in the vehicle with you); your license could be suspended between 90 days to a full year; a possible $2,000 fine (or $10,000 if a minor under 15 is in the vehicle with you); an annual DUI surcharge for three years (this charge increases to $2,000 if your BAL is found to be 0.16 or above)
Not every driver is required to file an SR-22. These are for special cases when motorists have been convicted of serious driving violations. These include causing an accident or being caught driving without insurance. You may also need an SR-22 if you have been convicted of a DUI. Many of these convictions will result in a suspended license, and in many states, you will not be able to get your license back until you file an SR-22. The state of Texas, for example, is a state which requires an SR-22 to be filed before your license is reinstated.
Age Limit Laws
Texas motorists have to hang about until they’re a minimum of 16 years old before they are able to obtain a learner’s permit. Then, after 6 months and 60 hours (with 10 night hours) of supervised driving, they are able to graduate as much as medium difficulty permit. By having an intermediate permit, they can’t be on the highway between your hours of 12-6 AM, nor can there is a non-family passenger within the vehicle together who’s younger than 20 (unless of course instructed with a supervisor). By age 17, they are able to graduate up to and including full license.
Credit Score Laws and Regulations
How frequently would you consider your credit rating? Well, as you have seen with this chart, Texas insurance providers consider it a great deal. And merely a couple of points improvement in your credit rating often means the main difference from a reasonable rate, along with a very costly one.
Insuring your Vehicle in Texas
What is your opinion happens in case your vehicle is in an accident while another person is driving it? Well, it is dependent on lots of factors however, your insurance provider will probably be having to pay out some or all claims, based on who is to blame. Which is since your insurance plan follows your automobile wherever it is going – not always you, the motive force. And that’s why the brand name of the vehicle or truck are essential particulars to insurance providers.
Additional Texas Auto Insurance Laws and Requirements
Knowing all the rules and laws and regulations pointed out above can drastically change your rate per month. However, being aware of fundamental traffic laws and regulations – for example individuals mentioned below – is nearly as, otherwise essential to keeping the insurance costs lower:
Highway Safety Laws
Technically, there aren’t any aggressive driving laws and regulations around the books within the state of Texas. However that does not imply that inconsiderate, harmful, or aggressive functions driving are totally legal. All this means would be that the courts as well as your insurance provider can’t punish you or lift up your rates just as much for putting other motorists at risk.
|Aggressive Driving||No state law|
|Cell Phones and Texting Laws||School bus drivers w/passengers novice drivers|
|Inc. Penalty for High BAC||BAC 0.15|
|Admin. License Susp. on 1st Offense||90 days if BAL is 0.08 or greater; 180 days for refusal|
Speed Limits and Cell Phone Use
You will find primary enforcement bans on mobile phone used in the state of Texas. Which means that police force can pull you over and ticket you for texting while driving, speaking and/or speaking on the mobile phone while driving if you’re a novice driver or perhaps a chartered bus driver.
|Rural Interstate||75 mph; 80 or 85 on specified road segments|
|Urban Interstate||75 mph|
|Other Limited-Access||75 mph|
Important Texas Contacts
Texas Department of Revenue – Motor Vehicle Division – click here for information on obtaining your driver’s license, requirements for ID cards, and vehicle registration.
How to contact directly:
Texas Department of Insurance
Austin, TX 78701