Cheap Car Insurance in Iowa
Scouring the web for Iowa automobile insurance? If you are living in Des Moines , Cedar Rapids, Davenport, Sioux City, or Iowa City, you can find up to ten rate quotes from first rate insurers near you via AutoInsuranceEZ.com. Prices fluctuate by provider and you ought to compare rates thoroughly before you obtain a policy. We’ll enable you to pick the coverage that best suits your needs.
Iowa Auto Insurance – Average Premiums
Iowa drivers right now might be paying around $64 each month for their automotive policy. But if this number doesn’t reflect your current situation, understand that it is just an average of drivers across the entire state. In Davenport, for example, prices can be as low as $59/mo, or they can be as high as $68/mo in a place like Iowa City.
Another factor that will affect the cost of your car insurance policy is your age. Because younger drivers have less experience and tend to take more risks behind the wheel than older motorists, they are often charged higher insurance premiums.
Important Iowa Auto Insurance Laws and Requirements
Purchasing cheap Iowa car insurance is easier than you might think. Iowa doesn’t require the purchase of no-fault insurance because they don’t have any no-fault laws on their books. If you get into an accident which results in more than $1,000 of property damages or injuries, you have 72 hours to file a report with the Office of Driver services. Your obligation is waived, however, if an officer at the scene files a report first.
Although Iowa doesn’t require any UM/UIM coverage, liability insurance is mandatory by law. The minimum amounts of coverage are detailed below:
|Bodily Injury Liability||20,000/40,000||100,000/300,000|
|Property Damage Liability||Not required||100,000/300,000|
|Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury||Not required||100,000/300,000|
|Medical Payments||Not required||5,000|
|Collision||Not required||500 deductible|
|Comprehensive||Not required||250 deductible|
Choosing the Right Amount of Iowa Car Insurance Coverage
Are you driving an older car, and desperate for a new one? Not so fast, if you want to keep your insurance costs low. Driving an old clunker might not look that impressive on the outside, but the fact that you don’t have to carry as much insurance coverage on it will help you save in the long run.
Iowa DUI Laws
If you are convicted of your first DUI offense, you may face the following penalties: a minimum of two days to a full year in prison; a fine between $625 and $1,250; your license may be suspended for 6 months (definite suspension of BAL is above 0.15), or merely restricted if your BAL is below 0.10; an ignition interlock device will be required if your BAL is above 0.10; you may also be evaluated for alcoholism and be required to seek treatment; attendance in a substance abuse reality program; drinking drivers course attendance; and community service.
Not every driver is required to file an SR-22. These are for special cases when motorists are convicted of serious driving violations. These include causing an accident while driving without insurance, being convicted of a DUI, or operating a motor vehicle without proof of insurance. Presently, you will be required to file an SR-22 to get your license reinstated in Iowa.
Age Limit Laws
Eager teenagers in Iowa can get their Learner Stage permit as early as 14 years of age. However, they must maintain it for at least 12 months, and earn 20 hours of supervised driving (with at least 2 hours at night) before applying for an Intermediate Stage permit. After they receive their intermediate permit, They are not permitted to drive between the hours of 12:30-5:00 AM, nor can they have more than one underage non-family passenger for the first six months (after which their parents or guardians may waive the restriction). After three years of driving practice and keeping their permits in good standing, young drivers can receive a full license at the age of 17. Hopefully, all that extra experience will help lower their insurance costs.
Credit Score Laws and Regulations
In Iowa, and in almost every other state in the US, your insurance company can demand that you provide your credit score or other information before they give you an official policy quote. This is because credit scores will have a drastic effect on your monthly payment. For example, those lucky drivers with excellent credit will usually pay half as much as someone with a low credit score.
Insuring your Vehicle in Iowa
Have you ever wondered why your insurance company asks so many questions about your vehicle when crafting your policy? Well, legally speaking, the policy is for your car – not necessarily you as a driver. This means that if any accident happens with your vehicle – whether you are currently driving it at the time or not – will involve claims passing through your insurance company’s office.
Additional Iowa Auto Insurance Laws and Requirements
Of course, it isn’t just about knowing which laws influence you and your vehicle directly. Obeying common traffic laws is essential not just for keeping everyone on the road safe, but for keeping your insurance costs down:
Highway Safety Laws
There aren’t any aggressive driving laws in the state of Iowa at the moment. But don’t make the mistake of thinking that such actions, such as excessive speeding or following another driver too closely, are legal. All it means is that you don’t receive extra legal penalties and/or fines when your aggressive driving ends up causing an accident.
|Aggressive Driving||No state law|
|Cell Phones and Texting Laws||Novice drivers with a restricted or intermediate license|
|Inc. Penalty for High BAC||BAC 0.15|
|Admin. License Susp. on 1st Offense||180 days|
Speed Limits and Cell Phone Use
There is an all-driver ban on texting while driving. Unfortunately, however, it is only a secondary level offense, which means that you also have to be breaking at least one other traffic law before law enforcement can pull you over and ticket you. As far as talking on a cell phone goes, there is only a ban for drivers with a restricted for intermediate license. And this is a primary level offense, so law enforcement can and will pull you over for breaking it.
|Rural Interstate||70 mph|
|Urban Interstate||55 mph|
|Other Limited-Access||70 mph|
Important Iowa Contacts
Iowa Department of Revenue – Motor Vehicle Division – click here for information on obtaining your driver’s license, requirements for ID cards, and vehicle registration.
How to contact directly:
Iowa auto insurance Div.
330 Maple St.
Des Moines, IA 50319-0065
Toll Free: 1-877-955-1212
Compare Iowa Car Insurance Companies that Offer the Lowest Rates in Your Area