Cheap Car Insurance in Louisiana
In the market for cheap Louisiana car insurance? If you are living in New Orleans, Baton Rouge, Shreveport, Lafayette, or Lake Charles, you can acquire up to eight rate quotes from first rate insurers in the area through AutoInsuranceEZ.com. Price ranges fluctuate by provider and you should compare rates carefully before you purchase a policy. We’ll enable you to acquire the coverage to suit your needs.
Louisiana Auto Insurance – Average Premiums
Louisiana, unfortunately, are paying some pretty high average rates for automobile insurance right now. Currently, the state average is around $138 per month. Other cities, such as Shreveport are seeing some relief to the tune of $107 per month; other cities, such as New Orleans with a monthly average of $221, however, aren’t so lucky.
Important Louisiana Auto Insurance Laws and Requirements
Looking for cheap car insurance in Louisiana? It may be difficult to come by, but don’t let that discourage your search. The good news is that there aren’t any requirements to buy no-fault insurance, so that should help you find lower premiums. Additionally, there aren’t any requirements for purchasing UM/UIM coverage either. Liability is of course required, and in the following amounts:
|Bodily Injury Liability||15,000/30,000||15,000/30,000|
|Property Damage Liability||25,000||25,000|
|Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury||Not required||10,000/20,000|
|Medical Payments||Not required||5,000|
|Collision||Not required||500 deductible|
|Comprehensive||Not required||50 deductible|
Choosing the Right Amount of Louisiana Car Insurance Coverage
Driving a newer car? What about a popular one? Well, then you’re probably going to need more than just the state minimum coverage. Liability only protects you financially if you cause an accident. In every other occasion, such as a hit-and-run, your insurance will not pay out any claims.
Louisiana DUI Laws
If you are convicted of your first DUI offense, you may face the following penalties: a 6 month prison sentence; a fine of up to $1,000; your license may be suspended for 90 days, or up to 6 months if you are under 21. Not every driver is required to file an SR-22. These are for special cases when motorists are convicted of serious driving violations. These include causing an accident while driving without insurance, being convicted of a DUI, or operating a motor vehicle without proof of insurance. In Louisiana, you will need to file an SR-22 in order to have your driver’s license reinstated.
Age Limit Laws
You have to be at least 15 years of age to qualify for a learner’s permit in Louisiana. From there it will take an additional 6 months, 50 hours of supervised driving (as well as 15 night hours supervised), and you will have to be at least 16 years of age before you qualify for an intermediate permit. This permit restricts your driving between the hours of 11:00 PM and 5:00 AM, and prevents you from having more than one under 21 passenger in the car with you between 6:00 PM and 5:00 AM. At 17 years of age, you may qualify for full driving privelages.
Credit Score Laws and Regulations
Credit is a difficult issue for some people. And it only complicates things when your insurance company uses your credit score as an excuse to charge you higher rates. If your insurance rates are too high because of poor credit, consider signing up for a free website which helps you monitor your credit, and can offer suggestions for improving your score.
Insuring your Vehicle in Louisiana
The truth is that your insurance company needs to know as many details about your vehicle – including the make and model – as they need to know about you to come up with an accurate quote. This is because the policy is actually for your vehicle, no so much you as the driver.
Additional Louisiana Auto Insurance Laws and Requirements
In addition to what has already been discussed, here are some more laws and regulations that could influence your monthly payment:
Highway Safety Laws
There is no state law against aggressive driving in Louisiana. However, that does not mean that certain actions – like cutting off someone in traffic or speeding excessively – are legal. It just means that they cannot add aggressive driving charges to your traffic ticket, like they can in some other states.
|Aggressive Driving||No state law|
|Cell Phones and Texting Laws||Cell Phone: Learner or intermediate license; school bus drivers; novice drivers with licenses younger than 1 year (primary enforcement)|
|Inc. Penalty for High BAC||BAC 0.15 and 0.20|
|Admin. License Susp. on 1st Offense||No state law|
Speed Limits and Cell Phone Use
To keep things simple, Louisiana has passed an all driver ban for texting while driving, and made it a primary offense (which is more severe than a secondary one). Likewise, talking on a cell phone while driving is also a primary offense for school bus drivers, drivers with a learner’s or intermediate permit, or fully licensed drivers who are under the age of 18. All other adults can legally talk on their cell phone while driving – until the laws change, that is.
|Rural Interstate||75 mph|
|Urban Interstate||70 mph|
|Other Limited-Access||70 mph|
Important Louisiana Contacts
Louisiana Department of Revenue – Motor Vehicle Division – click here for information on obtaining your driver’s license, requirements for ID cards, and vehicle registration.
Louisiana Department of Insurance How to contact directly:
700 West State St.
Louisiana Department of Insurance
The Poydras Building
1702 North 3rd St.
Baton Rouge, LA
These Louisiana Car Insurance Companies Offer The Lowest Rates In Your Area