Cheap Car Insurance in Kentucky
Scouring the web for cheap car insurance in Kentucky? If you live in Louisville, Lexington, Owensboro, Bowling Green, or Covington, you can receive up to ten rate quotes from top insurers near you by using AutoInsuranceEZ.com. Costs may vary by insurer and you should compare rates thoroughly before you invest in a policy. We’ll show you how to pick the coverage to suit your needs.
Kentucky Auto Insurance – Average Premiums
Unfortunately, Kentucky has some of the highest insurance rates out of all the 50 states. For example, the statewide average is $90 monthly. However, depending on your specific city, you might be expected to pay less. In Owensboro, for example, the monthly average is as low as $75. Conversely, places like Louisville have average rates as high as $128 or more monthly.
There are several factors that affect the price of Kentucky car insurance. Your age will likely affect how your automobile insurance is calculated, because older drivers with more experience behind the wheel are generally safer than younger drivers.
Important Kentucky Auto Insurance Laws and Requirements
Knowing which types of coverage are legally required is important when searching for cheap car insurance in Kentucky. Because Kentucky is a no-fault state, you will be required to purchase PIP coverage unless you wish to opt out. In that case, you must file a special form with the Kentucky Office of Insurance. Presently, UM/UIM insurance is not required, but Liability coverage is. The minimums and suggested amounts of coverage can be found below:
|Bodily Injury Liability||25,000/50,000||100,000/300,000|
|Property Damage Liability||10,000||50,000|
|Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury||Not required||100,000/300,000|
|Medical Payments||Not required||100,000|
|Collision||Not required||500 deductible|
|Comprehensive||Not required||500 deductible|
Choosing the Right Amount of Kentucky Car Insurance Coverage
Naturally, there are several different factors about your vehicle which will determine the coverage you need – and also how much you will need to pay to purchase that coverage. Younger, newer, or popular vehicles, for example, will most likely need to be protected from theft and damage with Comprehensive coverage. But, as you can see, that can get a little expensive.
Kentucky DUI Laws
If you are convicted of your first DUI offense, you may face up to six months in prison with a fine between $500 and $1,500. Additionally, depending on your BAL, you may face additional penalties, such as: an additional 2-30 days in prison (with a mandatory 4 day prison sentence for an aggravated DUI); another $200-$500 fine; your license will be suspended anywhere from 30-120 days; you will spend 90 days in an alcohol treatment program; and you may have to perform anywhere from 48 hours to 30 days of community service. Not every driver is required to file an SR-22. These are for special cases when motorists are convicted of serious driving violations. These include causing an accident while driving without insurance, being convicted of a DUI, or operating a motor vehicle without proof of insurance. In Kentucky, you will not be required to file an SR-22 in order to have your driver’s license reinstated.
Age Limit Laws
Kentucky drivers have to wait until they are at least 16 years of age before they can apply for a learner’s permit. Then, after 6 months and 60 hours (with 10 night hours) of supervised driving, they can graduate up to an intermediate permit. With an intermediate permit, they cannot be on the road between the hours of 12-6 AM, nor can they have a non-family passenger in the car with them who is under the age of 20 (unless instructed by a supervisor). By the age of 17, they can graduate up to a full license.
Credit Score Laws and Regulations
How often do you think about your credit score? Well, as you can tell by this chart, Kentucky insurance companies think about it a lot. And just a few points difference in your credit score can mean the difference between a reasonable rate, and a very expensive one.
Insuring your Vehicle in Kentucky
What do you think happens if your vehicle is involved in an accident while someone else is driving it? Well, it depends on a lot of factors; however, your insurance company will likely be paying out some or all claims, depending on who is at fault. And this is because your insurance policy follows your vehicle wherever it goes – not necessarily you, the driver. Which is why the make and model of your car or truck are important details to insurance companies.
Additional Kentucky Auto Insurance Laws and Requirements
Knowing all of the regulations and laws mentioned above can drastically alter your monthly rate. However, knowing about basic traffic laws – such as those stated below – is almost as, if not equally important to keeping your insurance rates down:
Highway Safety Laws
Technically, there are no aggressive driving laws on the books in the state of Kentucky. But that doesn’t mean that inconsiderate, dangerous, or aggressive acts behind the wheel are completely legal. All it means is that the courts and your insurance company can’t punish you or raise your rates as much for putting other motorists in danger.
|Aggressive Driving||No state law|
|Cell Phones and Texting Laws||Cell Phone Ban: School Bus Drivers; novice drivers < 18. Text Messaging Ban: All driver ban|
|Inc. Penalty for High BAC||BAC 0.18|
|Admin. License Susp. on 1st Offense||30 – 120 days|
Speed Limits and Cell Phone Use
There are primary enforcement bans on cell phone use within the state of Kentucky. This means that law enforcement can pull you over and ticket you for texting while driving, talking and/or talking on a cell phone while driving if you are a novice driver or a school bus driver.
|Rural Interstate||65 mph|
|Urban Interstate||65 mph|
|Other Limited-Access||65 mph|
Important Kentucky Contacts
Kentucky Department of Revenue – Motor Vehicle Division – click here for information on obtaining your driver’s license, requirements for ID cards, and vehicle registration.
How to contact directly:
Kentucky Office of Insurance
215 West Main Street
Frankfort, KY 40601
Phone Toll Free: 1-800-595-6053
Compare Kentucky Car Insurance Companies that Offer the Lowest Rates in Your Area