Cheap Car Insurance in Washington
Shopping for Washington automobile insurance? Sometimes looking for a provider can be tricky. But with AutoInsuranceEZ.com, it’s as uncomplicated as typing in your zip code. We can supply you with the top 5 insurance providers in your spot, whether you live in a big city like Seattle, Spokane, or Tacoma, or a lesser populated area such as Vancouver or Bellevue.
Washington Auto Insurance – Average Premiums
There are several factors that affect the price of Washington vehicle insurance. Your geographical area is important. People living in locations with minimal traffic (like Vancouver, which is around $50/month) will probably get a better price on insurance compared to those living in busy metropolitan areas (like Tacoma, with average costs of $81/mo) or suburbs because places with a heap of traffic often see more accidents. In general, the state average for automotive insurance in Washington is around $61 per month.
Important Washington Auto Insurance Laws and Requirements
Finding cheap Washington car insurance is a fairly simple process. There aren’t any requirements to purchase UM/UIM insurance, nor are there state requirements to buy no-fault insurance. Liability insurance is required by law, and if you fail to secure coverage, you may face a minimum fine of $450.
|Bodily Injury Liability||25,000/50,000||100,000/300,000|
|Property Damage Liability||10,000||50,000|
|Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury||Not required||100,000/300,000|
|Medical Payments||Not required||10,000|
|Collision||Not required||500 deductible|
|Comprehensive||Not required||100 deductible|
Choosing the Right Amount of Washington Car Insurance Coverage
Are you aware precisely what insurance covers? How about Comprehensive insurance? Or Collision? You need to know what kinds of coverage pays out which claims on specific situations, so you do not get caught lacking the necessary coverage to safeguard you financially.
Washington DUI Laws
Convicted of your first DUI offense? Find out what penalties you may face: either 15 days of electronic home monitoring or a prison sentence ranging from 1-365 days (30 days of electronic home monitoring or 2-365 days in prison for a BAL above 0.15); a fine of at least $865.50-$5,000 (fine increases from $865.50 to $1,120.50 for BALs above 0.15); your license may be suspended for 90 days (or a full year for a BAL above 0.15); an ignition interlock device may be installed on your vehicle, and the installation will continue for an addition al 60 days if a minor under the age of 16 is present in the vehicle with you; SR-22 insurance will be required; and you may need to participate in a substance abuse education program.
Not every driver is required to file an SR-22. These are for special cases when motorists are convicted of serious driving violations. These include causing an accident while driving without insurance, being convicted of a DUI, or operating a motor vehicle without proof of insurance. In Washington, you will need to file an SR-22 in order to have your driver’s license reinstated.
Age Limit Laws
Washington teenagers can get a learner’s permit at the age of 15 (or be forced to wait 6 additional months without driver’s ed). After a minimum of 6 months and 50 hours of supervised driving (10 which happen during the night), youthful motorists can be eligible for a medium difficulty permit after they achieve the age of 16. Throughout the intermediate stage, they can’t drive alone between evening hours of 1 AM and 5 AM, nor can they have a passenger under the age of 20 with them for 6 months (but that restriction is lifted to no more than 3 young passengers therafter). They’re qualified for any full license at 18 years old.
Credit Score Laws and Regulations
A variety of companies depend upon your credit rating to find out your insurance costs. Insurance companies are some of the most notorious for using this practice. For a bad credit score, your monthly premium could almost double for Washington drivers. And better credit scores will probably get lower rates.
Insuring your Vehicle in Washington
The concept that “insurance follows the driver” is really a myth. Above all else, the attention is on the automobile – and that’s why your insurance provider must know particulars much like your make and/or model to be able to craft a policy.
Additional Washington Auto Insurance Laws and Requirements
Everything we have pointed out to date – about credit, regarding your zipcode, and much more – could make pretty big alterations in your payment. What about the other laws and regulations that may not appear essential, but could really influence your rate? On them below.
Highway Safety Laws
There aren’t any aggressive driving laws and regulations within the state of Michigan (currently). However, that does not make aggressive driving less harmful, also it does not imply that causing any sort of accident by driving strongly will not leave you susceptible to additional legal trouble. You simply will not have further complications from a hostile driving charge.
|Aggressive Driving||No state law|
|Cell Phones and Texting Laws||Primary all-driver ban (texting)|
|Inc. Penalty for High BAC||BAC 0.15|
|Admin. License Susp. on 1st Offense||90 days|
Speed Limits and Cell Phone Use
There’s a primary level all driver ban on just about all types of mobile phone use within Washington state. The only real exception is for adult motorists who’re driving a school bus; they’re legally permitted to speak on the mobile phone while driving, though it increases their chance of any sort of accident. For everybody else – including teenage motorists, adult druvers, and anybody who attempts to text while driving – the ban is enforced.
|Rural Interstate||70 mph (60 mph trucks)|
|Urban Interstate||60 mph|
|Other Limited-Access||60 mph|
Important Washington Contacts
Washington Department of Revenue – Motor Vehicle Division – click here for information on obtaining your driver’s license, requirements for ID cards, and vehicle registration.
How to contact directly:
Washington Dept. of Insurance
Suite 650/MS: TB-03
810 3rd Avenue
Seattle, WA 98104
Compare Washington Car Insurance Companies that Offer the Lowest Rates in Your Area