Cheap Car Insurance in Nebraska
Looking for Nebraska automobile insurance? If you live in Omaha, Lincoln, Bellevue, Grand Island, or Kearney, you can receive up to ten rate quotes from major providers in your community with AutoInsuranceEZ.com. Rates fluctuate by insurer and you should compare rates carefully before you purchase a policy. We’ll help you buy the coverage to meet your needs.
Nebraska Auto Insurance – Average Premiums
State average costs in Nebraska can differ, but having said that most motorists are most likely having to pay around $65/mo for his or her coverage. Certain areas, like Lincoln, tend to be more costly (around $79 every month) but other areas, like Grand Island, tend to be cheaper (less than $55/month).
There are several factors that affect the price of Nebraska vehicle insurance. For instance, your credit history can be examined to determine vehicle insurance rates. Most Nebraska drivers will receive a rate reduction if they have a good credit score. Another factor that will affect the cost of your car insurance policy is your age. Younger drivers, with their limited experience behind the wheel, are more likely to get into an accident than an older motorist who has been driving for years.
Important Nebraska Auto Insurance Laws and Requirements
It is easier to find cheap Nebraska car insurance because, unlike other states, there are no requirements to purchase no-fault insurance. Neither does Nebraska require motorists to purchase UM/UIM coverage (this type of coverage protects you from collisions with uninsured or underinsured drivers). Liability is required by law, and the specific amounts can be found in the table below:
|Bodily Injury Liability||25,000/50,000||100,000/300,000|
|Property Damage Liability||25,000||100,000|
|Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury||Not required||100,000/300,000|
|Medical Payments||Not required||5,000|
|Collision||Not required||500 deductible|
|Comprehensive||Not required||250 deductible|
Choosing the Right Amount of Nebraska Car Insurance Coverage
One of the reasons Nebraska automotive insurance charges are extremely low is due to how few requirements are forced on motorists. For instance, they do not require any personal injuries protection, comprehensive coverage, or even uninsured motorist coverage. But many of these might be important, or perhaps essential, for several motorists who want more financial protection for their vehicle.
Nebraska DUI Laws
If you are convicted of your first DUI offense, you may face the following penalties: a minimum of 7 to 60 days in prison; a fine of up to $500; your license may be suspended for up to 6 months (or up to a year if your BAL is higher than 0.15); and you may be required to undergo an alcohol treatment/assessment program.
Not every driver is required to file an SR-22. These are for special cases when motorists are convicted of serious driving violations. These include causing an accident while driving without insurance, being convicted of a DUI, or operating a motor vehicle without proof of insurance. In Nebraska, you will need to file an SR-22 in order to have your driver’s license reinstated.
Age Limit Laws
You may be as youthful as 15 but still obtain a learner’s permit in Nebraska. But you need to maintain good standing not less than 6 months. Like most other states, the young driver must obtain 50 supervised driving hours (10 of them at night). Unlike some other areas, however, Driver’s Ed is also a legal requirement.
The intermediate permit (available on their 16th birthday) puts night time driving limitations on youthful motorists between the hours of 12 AM – 6 AM, and can only carry one passenger under 19 years of age in their vehicle for the first 6 months. Both of these regulations are secondary level enforcement.
At 16 years and 6 months, they are able to obtain a full license for daytime driving. A full license for 24-hour driving is available at the earliest when the driver turns 17 years of age.
Credit Score Laws and Regulations
In Nebraska, as with a number of other states, there aren’t any laws and regulations stopping your car insurance provider from factoring in your credit rating before providing you with an interest rate quote. They exercise this practice because they think that your credit rating is definitely an accurate reflection of how likely you’re to pay for your bill promptly each month, no matter whatever financial struggles you might have experienced in the past.
Insuring your Vehicle in Nebraska
Quick question: does your insurance plan follow you, the vehicle owner, or perhaps your vehicle? The reply is: the automobile. Therefore, this is the reason your insurer really wants to know a lot of particulars concerning the vehicle you drive. Even when you are not driving your vehicle or truck, both you and your insurance provider continue to be financially accountable for that vehicle.
Additional Nebraska Auto Insurance Laws and Requirements
The standards talked about above possess some serious influence with regards to figuring out one last insurance quote. But breaking the traffic and safety laws and regulations below could change your rates too:
Highway Safety Laws
Regrettably, there aren’t any aggressive driving laws and regulations within the state of Nebraska. However that does not imply that causing any sort of accident by failing to yield the right of way or ignoring traffic control devices is less illegal. You still face legal and financial penalties for causing any sort of accident because of aggressive behavior driving.
|Aggressive Driving||No state law|
|Cell Phones and Texting Laws||All driver ban (secondary)|
|Inc. Penalty for High BAC||BAC 0.15|
|Admin. License Susp. on 1st Offense||90 days|
Speed Limits and Cell Phone Use
Much like many states, there’s an all-driver ban on texting while driving in Nebraska because of the danger of accidents. There’s also a secondary level ban on novice drivers (under 18) speaking on the mobile phone while driving. It’s not yet illegal for normal motorists or school bus drivers to speak on the mobile phone while driving, however. But such laws and regulations change frequently, so make sure to keep yourself updated.
|Rural Interstate||75 mph|
|Urban Interstate||65 mph|
|Other Limited-Access||65 mph|
Important Nebraska Contacts
Nebraska Department of Revenue – Motor Vehicle Division – click here for information on obtaining your driver’s license, requirements for ID cards, and vehicle registration.
Nebraska Department of Insurance How to contact directly:
Nebraska Dept. of Automobile Insurance
941 “O” Street, Suite 400
Lincoln, NE 68508-3639
Toll Free: 1-877-564-7323 (Consumer Information)
Compare Nebraska Car Insurance Companies that Offer the Lowest Rates in Your Area