Cheap Car Insurance in Illinois
Looking for Illinois automobile insurance? Whether you live in Chicago, Aurora, Rockford, Joliet, or Naperville, you can obtain up to ten rate quotes from top providers in your area through AutoInsuranceEZ.com. Prices vary by company and you should compare rates thoroughly before you purchase a policy. We’ll help you find the coverage to meet your needs.
Illinois Auto Insurance – Average Premiums
As of right now, certain parts of the state are only paying around $65 monthly for your typical Illinois automotive insurance policy. However, these rates will fluctuate depending on which city you live in. Obviously, somewhere like Chicago is going to be more expensive (around $89/mo) while a smaller town like Aurora might only have an average monthly payment of $53 or less.
Another factor that will affect the cost of your car insurance policy is your credit score. Your credit history can be used to by a carrier to determine rates, and most Illinois drivers might be eligible to receive a rate decrease based on their credit score.
Important Illinois Auto Insurance Laws and Requirements
Illinois doesn’t have any no-fault laws on the books, so you will not be required to purchase no-fault insurance, making it that much easier to find cheap Illinois car insurance. You will, however, be required to purchase uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, known as UM/UIM. This will protect you from financial liability in the event that you are involved in an accident with another motorist who is either underinsured, or doesn’t have automobile insurance.
Like most states, Illinois requires liability coverage. The base requirements include bodily injury ad property damage liability. Specific amounts of required coverage are detailed below:
|Bodily Injury Liability||20,000/40,000||100,000/300,000|
|Property Damage Liability||15,000||100,000|
|Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury||Not required||20,000/40,000|
|Medical Payments||Not required||5,000|
|Collision||Not required||500 deductible|
|Comprehensive||Not required||250 deductible|
Choosing the Right Amount of Illinois Car Insurance Coverage
Your budget, as well as the vehicle you own, will have a profound influence on how much you end up paying for your monthly policy. If you have a nice car that you worry might be stolen, then it would be in your best interest to invest in some Comprehensive coverage, for example. But if you can’t afford the monthly payments on such a policy, then maybe you need to think about investing in a different vehicle which does not require so much coverage.
Illinois DUI Laws
Motorists convicted of a DUI in Illinois may face the following penalties upon their first offense: a year in prison (18 months if a child younger than sixteen is in the vehicle); a $2,500 fine, with an additional $500 for BALs above 0.16% and $1,000 if a child is present; a suspended driver’s license for at least 12 months; a possible mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device; suspension of vehicle registration; and various lengths of community service. If the driver’s BAL is above 0.16, they will serve at least 100 hours. If a child is present in the car, they will have to serve at least 25 days.
Not every driver is required to file an SR-22. These are for special cases when motorists are convicted of serious driving violations. These include causing an accident while driving without insurance, being convicted of a DUI, or operating a motor vehicle without proof of insurance. In the state of Illinois, filing an SR-22 is not required in order to have your license reinstated.
Age Limit Laws
A Learner Stage driver permit can be issued as early as 15 years of age for any qualifying teenage driver. But the driver must keep their permit in good standing for at least 9 months, collect 50 supervised driving hours (with 10 at night), and wait until their 16th birthday before they can apply for their Intermediate permit. Once this permit is obtained, They cannot drive alone between the hours of 10:00 PM – 6:00 AM (11 PM on Friday and Saturday nights) and cannot have any non-family passenger in the car with them who is under the age of 20. When the young driver turns 17, the passenger restriction will be lifted. Also, once the young driver turns 18, the nighttime restrictions will be lifted and they can apply for a full-privilege driver’s license.
Credit Score Laws and Regulations
In the state of Illinois, as with many other states, your insurance company can legally examine your credit information in order to decide how much to charge you each month. If you have a poor credit score, you could end up paying double or more that of someone with better credit.
Insuring your Vehicle in Illinois
Your insurance company asks a lot of questions about you, the driver, but also your vehicle (such as the make and model) before they give you a final quote. Why is this? Well, the old myth that insurance follows the driver is actually false. Your insurance policy actually follows the vehicle, even if someone borrows it with your permission and you are nowhere near it at the time of body damage or an accident happens.
Additional Illinois Auto Insurance Laws and Requirements
We’ve covered a lot of very important information so far on the factors which will greatly influence your monthly rates. The laws and regulations below can also alter your rates – if you are caught breaking these laws, that is:
Highway Safety Laws
If you are caught driving aggressively in Illinois (running red lights, tailgating, speeding excessively on city roads, etc.), you cannot be charged with an aggressive driving violation on top of breaking basic street laws. However, that does not mean that your dangerous driving habits won’t be taken into account if you cause an accident while committing them – either by a judge, or your insurance company.
|Aggressive Driving||No state law|
|Cell Phones and Texting Laws||Yes|
|Inc. Penalty for High BAC||BAC 0.16|
|Admin. License Susp. on 1st Offense||6 months|
Speed Limits and Cell Phone Use
There is an all-driver ban on all cell phone use in the state of Illinois, and it is a primary offense as well. This means a couple of things: for starters, the cops don’t need any other excuse to pull you over and ticket you other than seeing a cell phone in your hand while driving. Secondly, this means that both talking and texting on your phone while the vehicle is in motion are illegal, and can get you a ticket if you are caught.
|Rural Interstate||70 mph|
|Urban Interstate||55 mph|
|Other Limited-Access||60 mph|
Important Illinois Contacts
Illinois Department of Revenue – Motor Vehicle Division – click here for information on obtaining your driver’s license, requirements for ID cards, and vehicle registration.
Illinois Department of Insurance How to contact directly:
Illinois Div. of Insurance
320 West Washington Street
Springfield, IL 62767-0001
These Illinois Car Insurance Companies Offer The Lowest Rates In Your Area