The Ultimate Nevada Car Insurance Guide (Costs + Coverage)
Free Auto Insurance Comparison
Enter your ZIP code below to compare auto insurance rates.
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
Licensed Insurance Agent
Rachael Brennan has been working in the insurance industry since 2006 when she began working as a licensed insurance representative for 21st Century Insurance, during which time she earned her Property and Casualty license in all 50 states. After several years she expanded her insurance expertise, earning her license in Health and AD&D insurance as well. She has worked for small health in...
Licensed Insurance Agent
UPDATED: Apr 11, 2022
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.
Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We partner with top insurance providers. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.
|Nevada Statistics Summary||Stats|
|Miles of Roadway||Total in State: 43,900
Vehicle Miles Driven: 25,925 million
|Number of Vehicles||Registered: 2,241,530
|Most Popular Vehicle||RAV4|
|Total Driving Related Deaths||Speeding: 92
|Full Coverage Annual Premiums||Liability: $681.56
While the infamous Sin City definitely puts Nevada on the map, the state is known for way more than its gambling culture. In the mid-1800s, Nevada was a hub for mining, and some towns still have that frontier feel today. And in the early 20th century, its isolated and vast terrains were used for nuclear testing.
Las Vegas is the driving force in Nevada, attracting millions of tourists each year. People also come to check out the state’s unique rock formations.
Now let’s talk car insurance. Because let’s face it, we all need it.
But where does one even begin to look?
With a large number of insurers hoping for our business and hundreds of rates to sift through, it can be a bit overwhelming.
But imagine having a complete, comprehensive guide for all you need to know about rates and the best companies.
That’s where we come in.
We know it’s a daunting task — that’s why we’ve done the work for you.
We’ve compiled factors that affect your rates, the best (and cheapest) companies in the industry, state laws, rules of the road, and factors that contribute to fatalities, which is useful to know when driving in the state of Nevada.
Start comparing car insurance rates now by using our free tool above, or, if you’d rather learn more about Nevadan car insurance, keep reading!
Cheap Nevada Auto Insurance Rates
Have questions regarding finding the right insurance, the amount you’ll need, or even the most affordable provider?
We can help.
To start you off, we’ll talk about how much car insurance is needed in Nevada and the different types of insurance policies, both core and optional.
We’ll also show you how things like age, gender, marital status, and place of residence affect your rates.
Nevada State Minimum Coverage
|Bodily Injury Liability||$25,000 per person
$50,000 per accident
|Property Damage Liability||$20,000 per accident|
Before anyone can legally get on the road, they must meet the insurance requirements for the state they are driving in.
Let’s break down the specifics for Nevada.
In the event that someone gets into an accident, there is bodily injury liability, which pays for a person or persons’ harm after an accident. In the state of Nevada, bodily injury is $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.
The second form of liability insurance is property damage, which, in the event of an accident, would repair damaged structures or fixtures. In the state of Nevada, the minimum required insurance for property damage is $20,000 per accident.
These rates are fairly new, as insurance minimums for Nevada increased a little over a year ago.
As stated in the video, bundling up your insurance, shopping around, and inquiring about discounts could all help you save on rates — important information to know when considering who to do business with.
Average Male vs. Female Rates in NV
Rates can change depending on many factors, including gender, age, and marital status. Let’s take a look at the chart below for Nevada.
|Company||Single 17-Year-Old Female||Single 17-Year-Old Male||Single 25-Year-Old Female||Single 25-Year-Old Male||Married 35-Year-Old Female||Married 35-Year-Old Male||Married 60-Year-Old Female||Married 60-Year-Old Male|
While females pay less than males in most cases, younger drivers overall have extremely high rates.
These rates decrease dramatically when individuals turn 25, based on the theory that younger drivers are a liability, as they are less experienced on the road.
At the next tier, that is, married couples, we see a drop in rates, as well as when individuals turn 60 — based on the theory that older drivers have more experience. They also tend to drive less, making them less of a liability on the road.
Now let’s check out some ZIP codes.
Cheapest Rates by ZIP Code in NV
Where you live can also affect your insurance rates. Do you live in a rural setting or near a body of water, which could make the demand and value for that area spike? Let’s take a look.
Small towns reliant on agriculture and mining, rural areas, and historic cowboy sites are just a few that landed among the cheapest places to live in Nevada.
It makes sense that Las Vegas and North Las Vegas dominate the top 25 most expensive ZIP codes, given the high demand in the most popular city in Nevada.
Cheapest Rates by City in NV
Rates can also vary by city. We’ve listed the top 25 cheapest and most expensive.
Let’s start with the cheapest. Can you find your city in the table below?
|City||Average Grand Total|
Do you live in a city with some of the most expensive rates in Nevada? Let’s take a look.
|City||Average Grand Total|
|CAL NEV ARI||$4,495.80|
|NORTH LAS VEGAS||$6,310.63|
But now that we’ve defined the required state minimum for auto insurance and average rates by other factors, we’ll talk about what proof is required — usually called forms of financial responsibility — whenever you are out on the road.
Forms of Financial Responsibility
Every state has forms of financial responsibility, which act as proof that one meets the minimum insurance requirements for that state.
Nevada accepts both printed insurance cards and electronic proof as forms of financial responsibility. https://dmvnv.com/fleet.htm is also accepted for individuals or businesses that have a fleet of more than 10 vehicles.
Furthermore, in the event that one needs to reinstate their insurance, they may file an SR-22 with their insurance company for a lapse of insurance coverage. The SR-22 lasts a total of three years.
Nevada LIVE is a program that acts as a type of verification process for your liability requirements, as reported by the insurance company. It verifies your insurance eligibility instantly (though some new policy members may not appear right away) and is used to keep uninsured motorists off the road.
So be sure to carry proof of your insurance whenever you travel.
Premiums as a Percentage of Income in NV
|Year||Average Disposable Income||Average Full Coverage||Percent of Disposable Income|
An individual’s income per capita is the amount of money an individual has left over to save or spend after taxes. In Nevada, an average individual’s income per capita was $36,477 in 2014.
So with that disposable income, how much was used to pay for car insurance premiums?
Let’s take a look.
In 2014, Nevadans paid an average of $1,083.42 for a full comprehensive coverage auto insurance policy.
That means Nevadans spent 2.97 percent of their annual income on car insurance.
Talk about pricey. And while there was a drop in that percentage in 2014, Nevadans still paid higher than the national average for all three years.
So how does Nevada rank compared to the rest of the U.S.? Nevada is in the top 10 most expensive states when measuring the percentages of income residents paid.
Car insurance is much more expensive here than in the surrounding states, including Arizona, Utah, Oregon, California, and Idaho.
Insurance premiums have probably increased since 2014, so this is something to keep in mind if you live in, or plan to relocate to, Nevada.
Core Coverage in NV (Comprehensive, Collision, Liability)
The data from the table below is pulled directly from the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC).
|Coverage Type||Average Rate in Nevada (2015)||Average Cost Nationwide (2015)|
Interestingly enough, Nevada paid higher than the national average cost for liability insurance; however, it paid less in both collision and comprehensive coverage, beating out the nation’s average for total liability by nearly $100.
Keep in mind, this data is from 2015, and insurance rates have probably increased slightly since then.
It’s also worth noting that core coverage is extremely important, but accidents do happen, so settling for the minimum amount of coverage isn’t always the wisest idea.
Now let’s talk additional liability.
|Medical Payments (MedPay)||79.00%||78.32%||81.58%|
|Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage (UUM)||98.40%||107.13%||101.86%|
Medpay and UUM are additional types of liability insurance individuals typically use to bulk up their for additional coverage.
MedPay negates the driver at fault. This type of coverage pays for medical expenses for you or persons injured during a traffic incident. UUM insurance pays for the victim’s injuries caused by the opposing party if they are either uninsured or underinsured.
Now that we’ve got those terms out of the way, let’s discuss loss ratios. A loss ratio represents a company’s losses to premiums earned and can display a company’s financial strength, or lack thereof.
When a company has a high loss ratio, like 90-100, for example, it could indicate the company is in distress or losing money because they are paying out more claims than they’re taking in.
An acute loss ratio, on the other hand, below 50, for example, indicates that a company is making money but not paying out their claims as often.
A loss ratio of 60-70 is considered a “safe zone” of sorts.
Nevada’s loss ratios for MedPay, though slightly on the rise, still show that the companies in the state are managing the money coming in and paying out their claims.
Buying additional liability, in this case, may be worth it. And though there was a dip in 2014 for loss ratios for UUM liability, the state is actually losing money paying out more in claims.
While these numbers may not be as fascinating, they indicate that it’s a good idea to bulk up your insurance policy, as 10.6 percent of drivers in the state lack coverage, making Nevada 29th in the nation for uninsured drivers.
While 29th is a little over the halfway mark for the rest of the nation, again, anything can happen, so being covered is extremely important.
In the next section, we’ve highlighted a few policies that many are not familiar with to provide you and your family with the most strategic approach when it comes to coverage.
Let’s take a look.
Add-Ons, Endorsements, & Riders in NV
Feel free to click and explore these add-ons to see if any may be appealing to you.
- Guaranteed Auto Protection (GAP)
- Personal Umbrella Policy (PUP)
- Rental Reimbursement
- Emergency Roadside Assistance
- Mechanical Breakdown Insurance
- Non-Owner Car Insurance
- Modified Car Insurance Coverage
- Classic Car Insurance
- Pay-As-You-Drive or Usage-Based Insurance
Enter your ZIP code below to compare auto insurance rates.
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
Best Nevada Car Insurance Companies
There are hundreds of car insurance companies, and while having a variety may seem great, it often causes a headache when it’s time to choose one.
That’s why we’ve included this section. You don’t need to sift through a lot of information to discover the best companies.
We’ve got you covered.
From credit powerhouses like A.M. Best and J.D. Power, we’ve compiled the best companies according to customer satisfaction, complaints, and more.
We even note which companies give you a break for your commute time or reward you for a clean driving record.
Let’s take a look.
The Largest Companies’ Financial Ratings in NV
|Company||AM Best Rating|
A.M. Best rates companies by various metrics to display their strength or lack thereof.
Good news! Most companies in Nevada received excellent and above excellent ratings by the prestigious inspectors.
Good to know when choosing your insurer, as you’d want them to be reliable and wouldn’t want them to be in any financial or foundational trouble when putting your business in their hands.
Companies with the Best Ratings in NV
J.D. Power’s annual customer satisfaction survey is another way to measure a company’s value. Let’s take a look at the chart below.
|CSAA Insurance Group||818||3-About average|
|Liberty Mutual||813||3-About average|
|Southwest Average||823||3-About average|
|State Farm||831||5-Among the best|
|The Hartford||832||5-Among the best|
According to this study, with the exception of USAA (a company that only services military members and their families), The Hartford ranked as the number one car insurance company for customer service in the Southwest region of the U.S.
State Farm, which also scored “among the best,” came in one point behind.
Companies with the Most Complaints in NV
Where we measure satisfaction, we must also measure dissatisfaction. It’s equally important, as it provides another lens from which to view companies so you can make the best choice for you and your family.
Let’s take a look.
|Company Complaint Ratio 2017||Total Complaints 2017|
The data from the table below is pulled from the NAIC.
And remember, complaints simply offer one rubric for evaluating a company’s performance.
Cheapest Companies in NV
State Average ($)
State Average (%)
If you’re looking for a good deal and you or someone in your family is in the military, check out USAA. Otherwise, Depositors and Geico are great options, as well.
Commute Rates by Companies in NV
Is your commute short? Or does it take quite a bit of time to get to work? In some cases, companies will base your insurance rate on the duration of your commute.
Let’s dive in a bit deeper and see if this is true for any companies in Nevada.
6,000 Annual Mileage
12,000 Annual Mileage
Most companies give their customers a break based on commute times; however, State Farm, American, and Geico tend to raise rates a bit.
Coverage Level Rates by Companies in NV
Everyone begins with the basic amount of coverage. But what if you want to boost your coverage? Your rates will likely increase.
Let’s check it out.
|Company||Low Coverage||Medium Coverage||High Coverage|
American and Nationwide seem to give their customers the lowest impact on coverage change.
Credit History Rates by Companies in NV
In some states, it is illegal to base a person’s insurance rates off their credit history, but Nevada is not one of those states.
Let’s take a look at the chart.
|Company||Good Credit||Fair Credit||Poor Credit|
Travelers and Progressive offer the lowest changes in rates when someone’s credit history goes from good to poor.
On the other hand, USAA, Liberty Mutual, and State Farm are less forgiving, with their rates exceeding the hundredth percentile — State Farm has the highest rate change at 298.7 percent.
Driving Record Rates by Companies in NV
Keeping a clean driving record pays off for some. Others, however, are less fortunate. Let’s take a look at how a person’s driving record could impact their rates.
|Company||Clean Record||With 1 Speeding|
|With 1 Accident||With 1 DUI|
State Farm seems most forgiving in the event of a DUI.
Geico, Travelers, and USAA not so much, with change rates of 95.28 percent, 89.8 percent, and 85.63 percent, respectively.
Largest Car Insurance Companies in NV
A company’s market share represents the percentage of that industry that is owned by that company over a period of time.
Let’s take a look at the chart to see the largest companies in the state of Nevada.
|Company||Direct Premiums Written||Market Share|
State Farm is the largest insurer in the state of Nevada with a market share of 19.06 percent, followed by Geico with 14.09 percent.
Number of Insurers in NV
How many insurers are in the state of Nevada?
|Domestic||Foregin||Total Number of Licensed Insurers|
First, let’s define domestic and foreign.
Domestic insurance laws are formed under the laws of the state of Nevada, while foreign insurance laws are formed under the laws of the U.S.
In total, there are 882 insurers in Nevada — a lot of options to choose from.
Explore your options and start saving on auto insurance now. Simply enter your ZIP code in the box below.
Free Auto Insurance Comparison
Enter your ZIP code below to compare auto insurance rates.
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
Every state has its own distinct set of laws.
Whether you are taking a trip for the first time or just driving to and from work, being informed about state laws is pretty important.
But who has time to sift through laws and how does one know which are most significant?
Again, that’s why we’re here. No need to spend countless hours searching through a web of unlimited resources on state laws and rules of the road. We’ve done that for you.
We’ll also provide laws specific to teens, as well as information for new Nevadans and those who’ve been in the state for a while.
First, we’ll take a look at car insurance laws.
Car Insurance Laws in NV
Car insurance laws are different in each state. Let’s take a closer look at Nevada’s.
How Nevada Laws for Insurance are Determined
Nevada is currently under the prior approval law for car insurance. This simply means that car insurance companies must submit their rates to a state authority before implementing them.
Interesting, isn’t it?
Next, we’ll talk about laws regarding windshield coverage.
Windshield Coverage in NV
Imagine having a crack in your windshield while out observing the beautiful Nevadan rock mounds.
There are no specific car insurance laws regarding windshields in Nevada.
So, good news and bad news: while an insurer may not require you to patronize a specific repair shop — potentially allowing you to choose the most inexpensive option — you may have to pay the difference in the quote.
Next, we’ll talk high-risk insurance.
You don’t want to miss this.
High-Risk Insurance in NV
Some drivers are deemed higher risk, especially if they have a bad driving record and don’t qualify for coverage from traditional insurance carriers.
Fortunately, Nevada has the Nevada Automobile Insurance Plan (NVAIP). This plan looks out for high-risk drivers who seek coverage and cannot find insurance on their own.
NVAIP offers individuals the basic liability coverage for the state.
NVAIP is part of a larger initiative, the Western Association of Automobile Insurance plans (WAAIP). WAAIP puts individuals who have trouble finding insurance in contact with companies that will serve them.
To contact the Nevada Auto Insurance Plan, click here.
Low-Cost Insurance in NV
When it comes to low-cost insurance, Nevada doesn’t have a distinct plan as they do for high-risk applicants.
Currently, only California, New Jersey, and Hawaii have government-funded programs to help low-income individuals pay for their car insurance.
Automobile Insurance Fraud in NV
Insurance fraud is a serious crime.
It can be committed by the customer, for example, in exaggerating claims or staging accidents (also known as “hard crime”), or it could be committed by the insurer submitting falsified information on legal documents (also known as “soft crime”).
Either way, in Nevada, insurance fraud is illegal.
The Nevada fraud bureau is located in the state Attorney General’s office.
Depending on where you live, if you suspect any kind of insurance fraud, you can call one of the local offices or fill out one of the following:
- A general complaint form
- An insurance company complaint
Avoiding trouble with the law is always best.
Statute of Limitations in NV
A statute of limitations is the period of time one has to bring a legal matter to court. In the state of Nevada, for bodily injury in the event of a collision, the statute of limitations is two years.
Regarding property damage in the event of a collision, the maximum time allotted is three years.
Several years may seem like a lot of time; however, given certain processing procedures and the fact that there may be long periods of turn around time from the state servicing thousands of individuals, if you have a collision, you’ll want to get things squared away as soon as possible so your insurer can take care of you.
State-Specific Laws in NV
We all know about the mandatory seat belt laws and move over laws (which we’ll be getting to in a second).
But what about laws pertaining specifically to Nevadans?
While there are some silly laws, like restrictions on riding a camel on the highway due to a nuisance issue of loose camels roaming in the 1860s, there are many more practical ones.
For instance, Nevada has a fairly new left lane law, which prohibits an individual from driving too slow in the far left lane. Of course, there are exceptions, like a driver preparing to turn left, or situations where Nevada’s unpredictable weather impacts one’s ability to adhere to the speed limit.
Vehicle Licensing Laws in NV
This next section will be dedicated to vehicle licensing laws.
We’ll go over penalties for driving without insurance, teen driving laws, license renewal procedures, and more.
REAL ID in NV
We’re sure you’ve heard the phrase “REAL ID” buzzing around lately.
Check out this video from the Nevada DMV, which outlines the process of getting a REAL ID in this particular state.
For more information about the REAL ID, click here.
Penalties for Driving Without Insurance in NV
Again, driving without proper insurance coverage is illegal.
Here are the consequences if you are found to be uninsured in the State of Nevada for the first offense.
- Fine: $250 to $1,000, depending on length of lapse
- Registration suspension: until payment of reinstatement fee, and, depending on circumstances, an SR-22 (proof of financial responsibility) if lapsed more than 90 days
- Reinstatement fee: $250
And for the second offense:
- Fine: $500 to $1000 depending on length of lapse
- Registration suspension: until payment of reinstatement fee, and, depending on circumstances, SR-22 (proof of financial responsibility) if lapsed more than 90 days
- Reinstatement fee: $500
So be sure you always carry proof of insurance.
Teen Driver Laws in NV
According to IIHS, teens can begin their driving training at 15 and a half years old.
Take a look at the stages below to view more laws about teen driving and restricted license laws.
- Mandatory holding period: 6 months
- Minimum amount of supervised driving: 50 hours, 10 of which must be at night (none with defensive driving course)
- Minimum age: 16
Intermediate Stage: Restrictions on Driving While Unsupervised
- Unsupervised driving prohibited: 10 p.m.-5 a.m. (secondary enforcement)
- Restriction on passengers (family members excepted unless otherwise noted): no passengers younger than 18 (secondary enforcement)
- Nighttime restrictions: In place until age 18
Unrestricted Stage: When Restrictions May Be Lifted
- Passenger restrictions: After 6 months or at age 18, whichever occurs first (minimum age: 16 and a half.)
Older Driver License Renewal Procedures in NV
Nevadans 65 years and older are required to renew their licenses every four years. Proof of an adequate vision screening must be provided for those 71 years old and older at every renewal.
The renewal can be done either by mail or online (every other renewal) for people 65 years and older.
Some driving restrictions may apply, like limited night and freeway driving, for instance.
New Residents in NV
If you’re a new Nevadan or plan to be in the near future, congratulations!
According to the DMV new residents have 30 days to file for a new license or they are susceptible to a $1,000 fee — and we don’t want that.
Once you provide proof of residency, you can begin the transfer process. Details are outlined here. Find your nearest DMV to make an appointment.
License Renewal Procedures in NV
Now, let’s get to the general population.
Drivers without age restrictions renew every four years for those with odd-numbered birth years and every eight years for those with even-numbered birth years.
For all licenses starting in 2018, drivers renew every eight years.
We hope that wasn’t too confusing.
Proof of an adequate vision test is still required when applying in person. Mail or online renewal is permitted every other renewal — this is only available for holders of a four-year license.
Now that we all have our licenses, let’s talk about a more sobering matter.
Negligent Operator Treatment System (NOTS) in NV
To deter drivers from being reckless on the road and to protect everyone’s safety, Nevada operates on a demerit point system.
Let’s say you engage in reckless behavior on the road. The conviction is entered into your record after the court notification, and you receive demerit points.
When you receive 12 or more points in any 12-month period, your driver’s license is automatically suspended for six months.
You may be sentenced to traffic school, which, in some cases, may give you a reduction of several points on your record.
For a list of offenses and point values, visit the state’s Demerit Point System page.
Rules of the Road in NV
Nobody likes a ticket or a violation on their record.
In this section, we’ll go over the seat belt and car seat laws, speed limits, and other regulations, like move over laws, to keep you well-informed on whatever journey you happen to make through Nevada.
Fault vs. No-Fault in NV
Nevada is a “fault” state. This simply means that the driver determined at fault is responsible for damages or injuries.
This differs from a “no-fault” state, wherein drivers do not have to prove who is responsible for a collision and insurance coverage does not depend on fault.
Next, we’ll cover seat belt and car seat laws.
Stay with me.
Seat Belt & Car Seat Laws in NV
Seat belt laws were enacted in Nevada in 1987. They are extremely important, as seat belts often act as the first line of defense when it comes to preventing injuries in a collision.
In the state of Nevada, regarding seat belts, all individuals six years and older must be secured in all seats. A maximum base fine of $25 applies when you are caught without your seat belt.
And we don’t want that.
But what about when it comes to child seat belt regulations?
Child Seat Belt Law
- Must be in child safety seat: five years and younger and 60 pounds or less
- Adult belt permissible: not permissible
- Maximum base fine 1st offense, additional fees may apply: $500
- Preference for rear-seat: preference for rear seat
Interestingly enough, rideshare services like Uber and Lyft are held to taxi-cab regulations in the state of Nevada and are not subject to the same laws regarding car seats, which recently sparked a debate in the state.
Again, seat belts and car seats are the most significant defense mechanisms against injuries in a collision, so be sure to keep the little one buckled up, under all circumstances.
According to IIHS, Nevada also has limits for riding in cargo areas.
Now let’s discuss keep right and move over laws.
Keep Right & Move Over Laws in NV
In Nevada, the law says you must keep right if you’re driving slower than the average speed of traffic around you. Remember, it is now against the law in Nevada to drive slow in the left lane.
Here is a video explaining Nevada’s move over law:
As stated in the video, you may receive a citation if you don’t move over. This law also covers moving over when approaching a vehicle in distress, which is meant to reduce the risk of fatalities.
Let’s follow this simple law to save lives and prevent citations.
Speed Limits in NV
For the state of Nevada, the following speed limits are enforced:
- Rural interstates: 80 mph
- Urban interstates: 65 mph
- Other limited-access roads: 70 mph
- Other roads: 70 mph
Ridesharing in NV
Ridesharing refers to Transportation Network Companies (TNCs) like Uber and Lyft.
If you are an employee of a TNC, you’ll need ridesharing insurance, which should meet the state’s minimum coverage requirements, as outlined earlier.
If you need ridesharing insurance, try calling these providers:
- State Farm
Automation on the Road in NV
Automation refers to any service in a vehicle that was once done by hand but is now performed by a computer. Nevada, in fact, was first on the scene when it came to autonomous vehicles and still leads the way today.
Check out the video:
In Nevada, a company or person seeking to test an automated vehicle must have $5,000,000 of liability insurance; an “autonomous vehicle network company” must have $1,500,000.
While we may be able to escape the rigors of driving a car by hand, there’s no escaping liability insurance.
Great strides nonetheless, Nevada.
Safety Laws in NV
We’ve discussed some standard laws of the past, as well as some that are just now emerging with ridesharing and automation.
Still, there are thousands of individuals every year who get penalized for laws that affect public safety: DUI laws, marijuana-impaired driving laws, and distracted driving laws, for example.
DUI Laws in NV
Here is a quick overview of DUI laws in the state of Nevada.
|DUI Law in Nevada||Details|
|Name of Offense||Driving Under the Influence (DUI)|
|High BAC Limit||0.18|
|Criminal Status by Offense||1st-2nd misdemeanors, 3rd+ in 7 years category B felonies|
|Look Back Period||7 years|
In Nevada, it is illegal to drive if your blood alcohol concentration (or BAC) is .08 percent or more. But what if those terms are violated? What are the consequences?
Take a look at the chart below.
|Offense Number||ALS or Revocation||Imprisonment||Fine||Other|
|1st||90 days; elegible for restricted license after half of revocation period||2 days - 6 months OR 96 hours community service||$400-$1000||SR-22 for three years; pay $150 for DUI school; may be ordered to attend treatment program|
|2nd||1 year, not elegible for restricted license||10 days to 6 months of jail or residential confinement||$750-$1000||possible vehicle registration suspension, may be ordered to attend treatment program or be placed under clincial supervision of treatment facility for up to one year|
|3rd||3rd in 7 years: 3 years, restricted license may be issued||3rd in 7 years: 1-6 years||3rd in 7 years: $2000-$5000||possible vehicle registration suspension; may be ordered to attend a program of treatment for 3 year min|
|4th||if 4th in 7 years, same as 3rd|
Knowing these limitations and consequences should be enough to keep you on the straight and narrow (literally) when driving on the road. Especially given the fact that there were 10,874 alcohol-impaired driving fatalities in 2017 in the US alone.
Marijuana-Impaired Driving Laws in NV
Marijuana is another substance that could impact your driving abilities.
While marijuana is legal in the state of Nevada, being impaired while on the road is not.
Two nanograms of THC per se is allowed, however, according to responsibility.org.
Distracted Driving Laws in NV
Distracted driving can be defined as anything prohibiting or interrupting your focus when driving. Some examples of distracted driving are eating while in the car or doing one’s makeup.
The most notorious form of distracted driving is texting and driving, which takes many lives each year.
In fact, in the state of Nevada, there is an all handheld device ban for all drivers. And while there isn’t a law instituted specifically for young drivers just yet, there is a texting ban for all drivers in the state of Nevada.
Currently, lawmakers are even discussing how to access one’s smartphone data post-collision to crack down on offenders. Take a look.
Stay focused. It could save your life, and someone else’s as well.
Driving Safely in Nevada
Now that we’ve covered a good portion of Nevada’s laws, it’s time to see how we can drive safely through the Silver State.
Having access to practical data could be life-saving. For instance, which roads are the most dangerous? Which counties have the most crashes? What kinds of accidents are most common?
But often that data is hard to come by.
Look no further.
We’ll be answering these questions and more with help from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, Responsibility.org, Data USA, the FBI, and Inrix.
We’ll also bring you statistics and information on transportation and congestion.
Keep reading to see how this practical data could impact your everyday driving life.
Vehicle Theft in NV
Did you know there is data about the vehicles most commonly stolen in each state?
Let’s see what those are for Nevada.
|Dodge Pickup (Full Size)||2005||148|
|Chevrolet Pickup (Full Size)||2006||377|
|Ford Pickup (Full Size)||2006||279|
The Honda Civic and Honda Accord were the most stolen vehicles in Nevada in 2016, with 1,048 and 1,011 thefts respectively.
The FBI also has a list of total vehicle thefts in 2017 by city.
|City||Motor Vehicle Thefts (2017)|
|Las Vegas Metropolitan Police Department||8,186|
|North Las Vegas||1,321|
According to the data, the Last Vegas area had the most thefts, which isn’t surprising, seeing as it’s a popular and highly-populated city. The second-highest number of car thefts occurred in Reno, also a popular and populated locale.
Road Fatalities in NV
Unfortunately, fatal accidents happen every day.
We’ve compiled some data that might prove useful, in hopes of educating you and possibly preventing road fatalities. Understanding what factors cause fatal accidents and where these accidents occur is super important, especially if you’re driving through Nevada on a daily basis.
Most Fatal Highway in NV
What’s the most fatal highway in the state?
According to geotab.com, it’s the I-80. It has 15 fatal accidents a year.
Fatal Crashes by Weather Condition & Light Condition in NV
In some states, weather conditions play a big part in collisions on the road.
|Weather Condition||Daylight||Dark, but Lighted||Dark||Dawn or Dusk||Other / Unknown||Total|
Interestingly enough, most accidents in Nevada occur in broad daylight.
Fatalities (All Crashes) by County in NV
The table below shows fatal crashes by county in Nevada.
|2015||2016||2017||2018||Fatalities Per 100,000 Populations|
|White Pine County||0||4||7||2||1||0||40.58||72.01||20.84||10.55|
Clark County, home of Las Vegas, led the pack by far each year. And although it saw a dip in the number of fatal crashes in 2017, the number increased in 2018.
So if you’re living in this county, it would be best to stay extra aware while driving.
Traffic Fatalities in NV
Usually, more fatal crashes occur in rural environments, as EMS services are limited in these areas.
That happens to be the case for Nevada. And although fatalities in its urban areas took a dip in 2017, they’ve been on a steady rise and increased in 2018.
Fatalities by Person Type in NV
There is also data available on which types of transport are more likely to cause a fatal collision.
|Bicyclist and Other Cyclist||8||10||6||9||8|
|Light Truck - Other||1||3||1||0||0|
|Light Truck - Pickup||20||28||22||22||23|
|Light Truck - Utility||32||41||36||31||40|
|Light Truck - Van||4||9||7||8||8|
In the case of the Silver State, passenger cars were the cause of most fatalities, followed by pedestrians and light utility trucks respectively.
Fatalities by Crash Type in NV
What about the causes of different types of crashes in Nevada?
|(1) Single Vehicle||172||193||190||174||182|
|(2) Involving a Large Truck||17||27||29||37||24|
|(3) Involving Speeding||100||112||126||95||92|
|(4) Involving a Rollover||86||92||85||71||74|
|(5) Involving a Roadway Departure||121||152||123||107||114|
|(6) Involving an Intersection (or Intersection Related)||88||89||108||105||105|
|Total Fatalities (All Crashes)*||291||326||329||311||330|
Most are caused by a single passenger vehicle, followed by crashes involving a roadway departure.
Good to know when you are driving through Nevada daily.
Five-Year Trend For the Top 10 Counties in NV
Below we have the five-year fatality trends for the largest counties in the state of Nevada.
Let’s take a look.
By far, Esmeralda County saw the most fatal crashes. And although its fatality numbers took a dramatic dip in 2016, they’ve been on a steady rise ever since.
Fatalities Involving Speeding by County in NV
Speeding is also a major cause of fatalities on the road.
|2015||2016||2017||2018||Fatalities Per 100,000 Population|
|White Pine County||0||0||0||1||1||0||0||0||10.42||10.55|
Clark County, home to Las Vegas, leads the list with the highest number of speeding fatalities.
Pershing County has had zero speeding fatalities every year since 2014.
Fatalities in Crashes Involving an Alcohol-Impaired Driver by County in NV
Alcohol-impaired driving causes numerous fatalities as well, unfortunately.
|2015||2016||2017||2018||Fatalities Per 100,000 Populations|
|White Pine County||0||0||2||0||1||0||0||20.57||0||10.55|
Eureka County had fewer alcohol-impaired fatalities than any other county in the state.
Teen Drinking & Driving in NV
Teen drinking and driving continues to be a crisis in the U.S.
|Teen Drinking and Driving||Nevada||National|
|DUI Arrest (Under 18 years old)||58||102.82|
|DUI Arrests (Under 18 years old) Total Per Million People||85.62||94.84|
|Under 21 DUI fatalities for 100,000 population||1.2||1.2|
Nevada ranked 25th in the U.S. for under-18 DUI arrests. And according to responsibility.org, Nevada had 1.2 deaths per 100,000 people due to alcohol-impaired driving, which matches the national average.
EMS Response Time in NV
The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (or NHTSA) outlines the process of EMS response from the moment they receive a call to the moment they arrive at the hospital.
|EMS Response Time||Time of Crash to|
|EMS Notification to |
|EMS Arrival at Scene|
to Hospital Arrival
|Time of Crash to
The timespan from EMS call to hospital arrival for rural areas was dramatically longer than that of urban areas, although the time it took to get individuals from the crash scene to the hospital was pretty close for these two settings.
Transportation in NV
Lastly, how many cars do Nevadans own? And how long do they spend commuting?
We’ll answer these questions next.
Car Ownership in NV
According to DataUSA, if you live in Nevada, chances are you own two vehicles, with one vehicle being the next most likely response.
Commute Time in NV
Regarding commute times, the average Nevadan spent 23.2 minutes driving to work in 2017, a shorter commute than the U.S. average, which was 25.5 minutes.
Commuter Transportation in NV
And how did Nevadans get to work?
The most common method of travel was driving alone (78.5 percent), followed by those who carpooled and those who worked from home, at 9.8 percent and 4.3 percent, respectively.
Traffic Congestion in NV
|City||World Rank||Hours Lost in Congestion||Cost of Congestion Per Driver||Inner City Travel Time (Minutes)||Inner City Last Mile Speed (mph)|
Both Las Vegas and Reno ended up on the U.S. ranking chart of most congested cities in the world, coming in at 160 and 202, respectively.
Keep in mind, this is a ranking of the entire world, so two Nevadan cities appearing on the list means the state has some pretty heavy traffic.
Often called “car-nados” in Nevada, heavy traffic situations are closely monitored by the state and regulated by law officials in order to keep things flowing smoothly on the road.
And there you have it.
Our complete comprehensive car insurance guide for the state of Nevada.
Did we miss anything?
We hope that you found this guide extremely useful.
Now that you’re an expert, it’s time to start comparing car insurance rates! Use our free tool below!