Cheap Car Insurance in Wyoming
Searching for Wyoming automobile insurance? Sometimes searching for a provider can be challenging. But with AutoInsuranceEZ.com, it’s as basic as keying in your zip code. We can provide you with the top 10 insurance providers in your area, whether you live in a big city like Cheyenne, Casper, or Laramie, or a lesser populated area such as Gillette or Rock Springs.
Wyoming Auto Insurance – Average Premiums
State average rates for vehicle insurance in Wyoming fall around $78 monthly for many motorists. Fortunately, there are several cheaper areas, for example Casper, where monthly bills can dip lower to $61 or lower every month. However, there’s also places like Rock Springs in which the average rates can climb up to $84/month.
Another factor that will affect the cost of your car insurance policy is your age. Older motorists, especially those between the ages of 50-65 have the statistically safest driving records of any age driver.
Important Wyoming Auto Insurance Laws and Requirements
Getting cheap Wyoming car insurance isn’t too difficult. There are very few required coverage purchases. Liability is required, of course, with 25/50/20 minimum limits. There aren’t any UM/UIM requirements, and because Wyoming doesn’t have any no-fault laws, you won’t be required to buy no-fault insurance either.
|Bodily Injury Liability||25,000/50,000||100,000/300,000|
|Property Damage Liability||20,000||100,000|
|Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury||Not required||25,000/50,000|
|Medical Payments||Not required||5,000|
|Collision||Not required||500 deductible|
|Comprehensive||Not required||100 deductible|
Choosing the Right Amount of Wyoming Car Insurance Coverage
Wyoming only requires the basic forms of coverage when it comes to Liability insurance for any motorist who wishes to drive legally. But will that help you out if, say, you break down on the side of the road? Only if you have optional coverage, such as Roadside Assistance, on your policy.
Wyoming DUI Laws
Convicted of your first DUI offense? Find out what penalties you may face: a maximum of six months in prison; a fine of up to $750; your license may be suspended for 90 days; if your BAL us above 0.15, you will have an ignition interlock device installed on your vehicle for 6 months; and you may be required to undergo a substance abuse assessment.
Not every driver is required to file an SR-22. These are for special cases when motorists have been convicted of serious driving violations. These include causing an accident or being caught driving without insurance. You may also need an SR-22 if you have been convicted of a DUI. Many of these convictions will result in a suspended license, and in many states, you will not be able to get your license back until you file an SR-22. The state of Wyoming, for example, is a state which requires an SR-22 to be filed before your license is reinstated.
Age Limit Laws
GDL laws are different in every state, but the rules in Wyoming are actually quite simple. The Learner’s stage permit can be as short as 10 days, but graduating to an intermediate license requires that you be at least 16 years of age (teenagers can qualify for a learner’s permit at 15 years) and that you have 50 hours of supervised driving (10 of them at night) before getting the official intermediate permit. During the first 6 months of the intermediate stage, young drivers cannot be on the road between 11:00 PM and 5:00 AM, and cannot have more than one passenger under 18 who is not related to them riding along in the vehicle. At 16 years and 6 months, they may qualify for a full license.
Credit Score Laws and Regulations
For those who have an undesirable credit rating in Wyoming, you can end up having to pay nearly double the rate of a person with a decent or excellent credit rating. Even though that appears like a high number, that’s really great news. In many states, that discrepancy is generally much greater.
Insuring your Vehicle in Wyoming
Ever hear the myth “insurance follows the driver”? Well, it actually follows your vehicle first and foremost. That’s why you’ll get questions about your vehicle in addition to questions about you, such as make, model, mileage, and more.
Additional Wyoming Auto Insurance Laws and Requirements
Everything we have talked about to date may appear like enough detailed information online. But even beyond such things as where you reside, or what vehicle you drive, you can find more traffic laws and regulations which could come with an effect on your rates:
Highway Safety Laws
Whether good or bad, the state of Wyoming does not have laws and regulations at this time that charge motorists with aggressive driving when they are actually caught driving unsafely. Clearly, such things as running red lights or stop signs continue to be not legal, but carrying out such harmful actions while driving won’t lead to an additional penalty of aggressive driving.
|Aggressive Driving||No state law|
|Cell Phones and Texting Laws||Primary all-driver ban (texting)|
|Inc. Penalty for High BAC||BAC 0.15|
|Admin. License Susp. on 1st Offense||90 days|
Speed Limits and Cell Phone Use
So far in Wyoming, there is only a ban on texting (and not all cell phone use) This is an all-driver ban, and it comes with a primary level of enforcement. This means that you can be pulled over immediately and ticketed if law enforcement catches you texting while driving.
|Rural Interstate||75 mph|
|Urban Interstate||75 mph|
|Other Limited-Access||65 mph|
Important Wyoming Contacts
Wyoming Department of Revenue – Motor Vehicle Division – click here for information on obtaining your driver’s license, requirements for ID cards, and vehicle registration.
Wyoming Department of Insurance How to contact directly:
Wyoming Dept. of Insurance Herschler Bldg.
3rd Floor, East 122 West 25th St.
Cheyenne, WY 82002
Compare Wyoming Car Insurance Companies that Offer the Lowest Rates in Your Area