UPDATED: Mar 13, 2020
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.
Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We partner with top insurance providers. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.
Looking for car insurance in Danbury, New Britain, Norwalk, Bridgeport, New Haven, Hartford, Stamford, or Waterbury areas? Shop online and let AutoInsuranceEZ.com be your guide in securing affordable Connecticut automobile insurance policy designed to meet your needs. Deal directly with top-rated companies – get free quotes in less than 5 minutes, compare rates, and apply online.
Connecticut Auto Insurance – Average Premiums
State average costs for automotive insurance in Connecticut are hovering around $120 at the moment. However, it really all depends on your zip code. Those who park their car at a home in Norwalk, for example, might only be paying around $111/mo for their insurance costs. But in a more expensive city, like Bridgeport, monthly costs could be as high as $130 or higher.
Ready to get a personalized Connecticut vehicle insurance quote? Simply enter your zip code into the search box above to compare insurance rates in your area. You can also compare the auto insurance quotes side-by-side to get a better understanding of your options. The following factors will affect your rates – your current credit score, your address, how many violations and accidents you’ve got, and your coverage limits.
Enter your zip code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
Important Connecticut Auto Insurance Laws and Requirements
Connecticut auto insurance regulations are more stringent than those in many other states. The state requires liability insurance, with minimum of $20,000 for injury liability, $40,000 for all injuries, and $10,000 in property damage. Connecticut is a tort state, and the driver who is at fault in the accident must pay the victims medical expenses. Find cheap Connecticut car insurance online.
The state currently requires Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury coverage. The minimum amount of UM/UIM coverage is $20,000 per person and the maximum is $40,000 per accident for any bodily injury caused by the uninsured or underinsured motorist.
|Bodily Injury Liability||20,000/40,000||100,000/300,000|
|Property Damage Liability||10,000||50,000|
|Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury||20,000/40,000||20,000/40,000|
|Medical Payments||Not required||5,000|
|Collision||Not required||500 deductible|
|Comprehensive||Not required||0 deductible|
Choosing the Right Amount of Connecticut Car Insurance Coverage
Choosing the right types of coverage, and also the right amounts of coverage, can be a complicated process. Your insurance agent can help you decide, but here are some quick pointers: for newer and more expensive vehicles, more coverage is always better. That way, if something happens to your vehicle, less of the financial responsibility for getting it fixed and getting back on the road falls on you.
Connecticut DUI Laws
Drivers will face the following penalties for the first DUI offense in the state: $1,100 fine, up to 180 days imprisonment, 12 month license suspension. Drivers are required to obtain an SR-22 certificate of insurance to reinstate their driving privileges after an offense, and the minimum filing periods are 3 years from the date of final conviction/crash involvement or administrative action requiring such proof. Also, you’re going to have to anticipate an increase in your insurance costs, since most carriers will raise rates for a DUI conviction.
Age Limit Laws
Connecticut teenagers must wait until they are at least 16 years of age before they apply for their first learner’s permit. For months after that (with driver’s ed training) or six months after (without driver’s ed), in addition to accumulating at least 40 hours of supervised driving, young drivers can apply for an intermediate stage permit. They will maintain this intermediate permit for at least one year, and are prohibited from driving alone between the hours of 11:00 PM and 5:00 AM. They are also prohibited from having any non-parental or non-instructor passengers for the first six months. During the last 6 months, that restriction expands to permit immediate family members. At 17 years and 4 months, young Connecticut drivers have full driving privileges during the day; at 18 years, their permit can become a full license.
Credit Score Laws and Regulations
Out of all 50 states, 47 of them permit their insurance agencies to alter prices for customers based on their credit score. And, yes, Connecticut is one of them. This means that drivers with a clear credit record will likely be rewarded with cheaper rates. Drivers with unfortunately low credit scores, on the other hand, will probably have to pay higher premiums each month.
Insuring your Vehicle in Connecticut
Have you ever wondered why it’s so important for your insurance company to know what the make and model of your vehicle is? Well, the real reason is because the insurance policy follows the vehicle more so than the driver. And yes, this means that if someone borrows your vehicle and causes an accident, you and your insurance company can be held responsible.
Additional Connecticut Auto Insurance Laws and Requirements
Everything we’ve discussed so far – your location, your driving history, and state minimum insurance laws, will have a significant impact on how much you will pay monthly. However, there are other laws and state stipulations that can influence your monthly rate:
Highway Safety Laws
Currently, there are no aggressive driving laws on the books within the state of Connecticut. But that doesn’t mean that aggressive driving behaviors (following other drivers too closely, failing to yield the right of way, or driving at breakneck speeds on city roads) aren’t dangerous. And the more often you engage in these behaviors, the more likely you will be to cause an accident and harm innocent people.
|Aggressive Driving||No state law|
|Cell Phones and Texting Laws||Yes|
|Inc. Penalty for High BAC||BAC 0.16|
|Admin. License Susp. on 1st Offense||90 days|
Speed Limits and Cell Phone Use
Within the state of Connecticut, there is an all-driver ban on all cell phone use while behind the wheel. And this is a primary offense, which means that seeing you on your cell phone is all that a law enforcement official needs in order to pull you over and give you a ticket. The problem can become even worse if, say, you are also speeding at the same time.
|Rural Interstate||65 mph|
|Urban Interstate||55 mph|
|Other Limited-Access||65 mph|
Important Connecticut Contacts
Connecticut Department of Revenue – Motor Vehicle Division – click here for information on obtaining your driver’s license, requirements for ID cards, and vehicle registration.
How to contact directly:
Connecticut Insurance Department
Physical Address: 153 Market Street Hartford, CT 06103
Mailing address: PO Box 816 Hartford CT 06142-0816
Toll Free: 1-800-203-3447 (In-State)
These Connecticut Car Insurance Companies Offer The Lowest Rates In Your Area