CALL FOR QUOTES: 1-855-812-8395
Shopping for Minnesota automobile insurance? If you reside in Minneapolis, Saint Paul, Rochester, Duluth, or Bloomington, you can easily find up to six rate quotes from top companies near you via AutoInsuranceEZ.com. Costs may vary by insurer and you ought to compare rates thoroughly before you acquire a policy. We’ll enable you to obtain the coverage to meet your needs.
The state average rate for Minnesota is somewhere around $89 each month, which isn’t too high when compared with the rest of the country. Some places, like Duluth or Bloomington, are even cheaper – average prices there are around $71/mo. But then again, there are more expensive cities like St. Paul, where the average monthly rate starts at around $103.
There are several factors that affect the price of Minnesota vehicle insurance. If you live in an area with a high rate of automobile collisions, your insurance costs may be higher. For example, someone who lives in Minneapolis will undoubtedly pay more for their policy than a motorist living in Columbia Heights. This is because rural drivers are less likely to get into an accident than city drivers.
Although Minnesota is a no-fault state and therefore requires the purchase of PIP coverage, don’t let that discourage you from trying to find cheap Minnesota car insurance. In addition to PIP, Minnesota also requires the purchase of UM/UIM coverage, as well as liability. These minimum requirements are outlined below:
|Bodily Injury Liability||30,000/60,000||100,000/300,000|
|Property Damage Liability||10,000||100,000|
|Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury||25,000/50,000||100,000/300,000|
|Personal Injury Protection||40,000||40,000|
|Collision||Not required||500 deductible|
|Comprehensive||Not required||0 deductible|
Minnesota has more robust insurance requirements, like PIP and uninsured motorist coverage, compared to other states. However, Comprehensive coverage and things like collision or roadside assistance are still optional – but could be worth the money in the long run.
If you are convicted of your first DUI offense, you may face the following penalties: up to 90 days in jail; a fine of $1,000 (along with a $250 license reinstatement fee, a $430 license reinstatement surcharge, and a $24 driver license application fee); your license may be suspended for 90 days (180 days with a BAL above 0.20 or if someone under the age of 16 is in the car with you); your license may be suspended for a year if you refuse to take a DWI test; a possible restricted license after 15 days for a non-aggravating DWI ; and a possible ignition lock.
Not every driver is required to file an SR-22. These are for special cases when motorists are convicted of serious driving violations. These include causing an accident while driving without insurance, being convicted of a DUI, or operating a motor vehicle without proof of insurance. In Minnesota, filing an SR-22 is not required in order to have your license reinstated.
New laws state that drivers as young as 15 can apply for a learner stage permit in the state of Minnesota. After at least six months and 50 hours of supervised driving, 15 of them at night (or possibly fewer hours if their parent takes a special course), they can apply for an intermediate permit at the age of 16. They may not drive between midnight and 5 AM, and have no more than 1 non-family passenger in the car who is under the age of 20 (that expands to 3 passengers after six months). The nighttime driving restriction is lifted at the age of 16 years and 6 months, and they can apply for a full license at the age of 17.
Suffering any sort of financial hardship can have lasting effects when it comes to your credit score. In Minnesota, it is legal for your insurer to alter your rates based on credit score changes, which is why it is important to pay your bill on time every month.
Here’s a question: what happens if a friend or family member borrows your car, and gets into an accident? Well, if the at-fault driver was driving your vehicle, it would actually be you and your insurance company. That’s why your insurer needs to know just as much information about your vehicle as they do you, so that they can still protect themselves and your vehicle in odd situations like the one mentioned above.
So far, we’ve talked about some of the biggest rate-altering factors – like credit, and your location – but there are other laws you need to obey to keep your rates low:
As of now, there are no aggressive driving laws on the book in Minnesota. But that should not diminish how dangerous aggressive driving is, how much aggressive driving will increase your likelihood of an accident, or the additional legal and financial consequences you will face when aggressive driving habits cause an accident.
|Aggressive Driving||No state law|
|Cell Phones and Texting Laws||Primary All-Driver Ban for: Bus Drivers, Novice Drivers, and Texting|
|Inc. Penalty for High BAC||BAC 0.16|
|Admin. License Susp. on 1st Offense||90 days|
Like most states, Minnesota has passed a primary level all-driver ban on texting while driving, due to the massive rates of accidents that it causes. There are also bans on talking on a cell phone while driving for school bus drivers and drivers under the age of 18. And this ban is also a primary level of enforcement.
|Rural Interstate||70 mph|
|Urban Interstate||55-65 mph|
|Other Limited-Access||65 mph|
Minnesota Department of Public Safety – Motor Vehicle Division – click here for information on obtaining your driver’s license, requirements for ID cards, and vehicle registration.
How to contact directly:
Minnesota Dept. of Commerce
85 – 7th Place East, Suite 500
St. Paul, MN 55101
For Consumer Information:
Toll free: 800-657-3602
Compare Minnesota Car Insurance Companies that Offer the Lowest Rates in Your Area