Cheap Car Insurance in Wisconsin
Searching for Wisconsin automobile insurance? Sometimes searching for a provider can be tricky. But with AutoInsuranceEZ.com, it’s as basic as typing in your zip code. We can provide you with the top 10 insurance providers in your region, whether you live in a big city like Milwaukee, Madison, or Green Bay, or a lesser populated area such as Kenosha or Racine. Compare auto insurance quotes online!
Wisconsin Auto Insurance – Average Premiums
Did you know that state average insurance rates in Wisconsin are only around $67/mo? That’s pretty low, especially compared to some other states. But in cities like Madison, it can get even lower still – down to $54 each month. Likewise, it can climb significantly in areas with busier roadways, like Milwaukee, where averages are closer to $99 monthly.
Another factor that will affect the cost of your car insurance policy is how much you drive each year. If you have an extraordinarily long commute to work, for example, or you spend more time behind the wheel than the average driver, the higher your risk of getting into an accident.
Important Wisconsin Auto Insurance Laws and Requirements
Recent laws have lowered the previously high state minimums over the years, making it that much easier to get a better deal on insurance in Wisconsin. The Liability coverage requirements are now much closer to what you might find in other states. Additionally, both the legal mandate for UM/UIM and Medical Payments has been eliminated. Other mandatory limits are outlined below:
|Bodily Injury Liability||25,000/50,000||100,000/300,000|
|Property Damage Liability||10,000||100,000|
|Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury||Not required||100,000/300,000|
|Medical Payments||Not Required||5,000|
|Collision||Not required||500 deductible|
|Comprehensive||Not required||0 deductible|
Choosing the Right Amount of Wisconsin Car Insurance Coverage
Wisconsin includes Liability coverage in its state requirements, and not much else. One important form of coverage it does not include is Comprehensive which, although seemingly pricey, is the only type of coverage that protects against the most expensive claims, such as theft.
Wisconsin DUI Laws
Drivers convicted of their first DUI offense may face the following penalties: a fine ranging from $150-$300; your license may be suspended anywhere from 6 to 9 months; you may have a restricted license; required alcohol assessment; and you will be required to carry SR-22 insurance.
Not every driver is required to file an SR-22. These are for special cases when motorists are convicted of serious driving violations. These include causing an accident while driving without insurance, being convicted of a DUI, or operating a motor vehicle without proof of insurance. In Wisconsin, you will need to file an SR-22 in order to have your driver’s license reinstated.
Age Limit Laws
If you are a young driver in Wisconsin, pay close attention to the following Graduated Driver Laws for your state. First, you must be at least 15 years and 6 months of age to apply for a learner’s permit. After your first six months, in which you must accumulate 30 supervised daytime (and ten nighttime) driving hours, you can graduate up to an intermediate permit as early as 16 years of age. For 9 months thereafter, you must stay off the road between midnight and 5:00 AM, you can have no more than one other young passenger in the car with you at any time (family excluded), and you are eligible for a full license at 16 years and 9 months as long as you keep everything in good standing.
Credit Score Laws and Regulations
Driving around with a high credit score? Well, then you’re in luck. A high credit score is a fairly safe bet that you will pay your insurance bills on time, in full, and that you are less likely to file claims. And since this makes your insurance company lots of profits, they sometimes pay you back with a lower rate.
Insuring your Vehicle in Wisconsin
If someone gets into an accident while driving your vehicle, but it isn’t you, then whose insurance covers what costs? Well, if you let a friend or family member borrow your car or truck, then the answer is: yours, and whatever costs are deemed the fault (and therefore the responsibility) of the person who drove your car into that wreck.
Additional Wisconsin Auto Insurance Laws and Requirements
Thus far, we have talked about some pretty important factors when it comes to your automotive insurance costs. But there are some other things you should know if you want to stay safe on the road and keep your rates down:
Highway Safety Laws
No, there is no additional penalty for driving aggressively in the state of Wisconsin. This is true even if such dangerous and irresponsible actions (such as tailgating, excessive speeding, or failure to yield) contribute to causing a serious accident – which they often do.
|Aggressive Driving||No state law|
|Cell Phones and Texting Laws||Primary all-driver ban (texting)|
|Inc. Penalty for High BAC||BAC 0.17; 0.20; 0.25|
|Admin. License Susp. on 1st Offense||6 months|
Speed Limits and Cell Phone Use
Wisconsin has wisely decided to join many other states and pass a primary all-driver ban against texting on a cell phone while operating a motor vehicle. They have also decided, based on crash statistics, that it should be illegal for novice drivers (those with an intermediate or learner’s permit) to talk on a cell phone while driving – and this is also a primary level enforceable law.
|Rural Interstate||70 mph|
|Urban Interstate||70 mph|
|Other Limited-Access||70 mph|
Important Wisconsin Contacts
Wisconsin Department of Revenue – Motor Vehicle Division – click here for information on obtaining your driver’s license, requirements for ID cards, and vehicle registration.
How to contact directly:
125 South Webster St.
Madison, Wisconsin 53702
Compare Wisconsin Car Insurance Companies that Offer the Lowest Rates in Your Area