CALL FOR QUOTES: 1-855-406-0240
Need an insurance policy in Arizona? Whether you live in Phoenix, Tucson, Mesa, Glendale, or Chandler, with so many companies offering Arizona automobile insurance, how do you know what auto insurance is right for you? You’re one click away from affordable insurance options available in your area.
Arizona drivers are fortunate in that their average monthly rates are right around $67/month. Naturally, some areas will be more expensive, such as the $73 per month rates in Chandler. Likewise, certain places will be cheaper, like Scottsdale averages that cost $62 or less monthly. It all depends on the zip code associated with where you park your car at night.
AutoInsuranceEZ.com provides approximate measures of the relative cost of Arizona vehicle insurance to consumers in each state. In terms of expenditures for automobile insurance Arizona ranks 14 out of all 50 states. These are the averages, to get your personalized auto insurance quote and compare rates in your area, please enter your zip code into the search box. Do you live in Tempe, Gilbert, or Scottsdale, AZ? See how much you can save, shop around!
Arizona requires liability insurance, with minimum of $15,000 for injury liability, $30,000 for all injuries, and $10,000 in property damage. Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage and no-fault insurance are not required in this state. Find cheap Arizona car insurance coverage online.
|Bodily Injury Liability||15,000/30,000||100,000/300,000|
|Property Damage Liability||10,000||25,000|
|Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury||Not required||15,000/30,000|
|Medical Payments||Not required||5,000|
|Collision||Not required||500 deductible|
|Comprehensive||Not required||0 deductible|
The majority of US states only require Liability insurance coverage before their citizens can legally get behind the wheel and drive. However, many drivers don’t understand exactly what Liability actually covers. If you are found at fault in an accident – or “liable” – then your Liability coverage will pay whatever expenses up to the amounts of coverage you purchase. If the financial costs exceed those limits, if the accident is not your fault, or if something such as theft or vandalism happens to your vehicle, you might end up dipping into your own wallet to pay the costs.
For the first DUI offense, you will receive up to a $1,450 fine, face a 90-360 days license suspension, and up to 10 days of imprisonment. Drivers are required to file an SR-22 to reinstate a suspended driver license after a DUI, uninsured auto accident, or driving without insurance. And even after you make good on your legal and financial obligations for a DUI conviction, your monthly rates will consequently go up, too.
At 15 years and 6 months of age, young Arizona drivers can apply for a Learner Stage driving permit. After 6 months, 30 hours of supervised driving, and an additional 10 hours of supervised night driving, they can apply for an Intermediate Stage driving permit. For the next six months, they cannot be on the road between the hours of midnight and 5:00 AM, or drive with more than one passenger under the age of 18 in the car with them (family excluded). However, the restricted driving hours and passenger limits are only a secondary level offense, meaning that law enforcement cannot pull them over and ticket them unless they are first committing a primary offense (such as speeding). At 16 years and 6 months of age, they can apply for a full privilege driver’s license.
There are 47 states in the US where automotive insurance companies can legally charge you a higher monthly rate depending on how poor your credit is. Drivers who are lucky enough to have good or excellent credit will have much lower monthly premiums; those with poor credit, however, will end up getting charged more.
Here’s a question: what happens if a friend or family member borrows your vehicle, and gets into an accident? If they are found to be at fault, then it is your insurance company that will be dealing with any claims filed as a result of the accident. This is because insurance follows the vehicle, not the driver. That’s why the make/model of your car or truck is important for your insurance company to know.
The state laws we have already covered will have a much more dramatic influence on your monthly bill than most of the laws below. However, it is good to be aware of them – and to obey them as best you can – to prevent them from blemishing your driving record and having an adverse influence on your insurance costs.
If you are caught speeding while also committing at least two of the following violations: disobeying traffic control devices, passing on the right, changing lanes unsafely, following another driver too closely, not yielding the right of way, or otherwise being an immediate hazard to pedestrians or other drivers, you can receive an aggressive driving citation.
|Cell Phones and Texting Laws||All cell phone ban (primary); all texting ban (primary)|
|Inc. Penalty for High BAC||BAC 0.15|
|Admin. License Susp. on 1st Offense||90 days|
Arizona is quite progressive in regard to their cell phone laws. There is an all-driver ban on both texting, and also talking on your cell phone while driving. And these are primary level offenses, meaning that law enforcement needs no other reason to pull you over and ticket you other than observing you breaking the cell phone law.
|Rural Interstate||75 mph|
|Urban Interstate||65 mph|
|Other Limited-Access||65 mph|
Visit the Arizona Department of Revenue – Motor Vehicle Division for information on obtaining your driver’s license, requirements for ID Cards, and vehicle registration.
Additional Information on Arizona Insurance
Arizona Department of Insurance
How To Contact Directly:
Arizona Department of Insurance
2910 North 44th Street
Phoenix, AZ 85018-7269
Compare Arizona Car Insurance Companies that Offer the Lowest Rates in Your Area