CALL FOR QUOTES: 1-855-406-0240
Whether you live in Honolulu, Hilo, Kailua, Kaneohe, or Kapolei, with so many providers selling Hawaii auto insurance policies, how do you know what coverage is right for you? All drivers in this state must be covered under liability car insurance. You should always carry the proof of car within the vehicle at any moment. Hawaii car insurance regulations are stricter than those in many other states. If a driver doesn’t have insurance coverage, they must surrender the license plates to their county director of finance.
The automotive insurance market isn’t as big or as varied as it is in other states. The general consensus is that the state average hovers somewhere around $108 monthly. However, some places might cost as much as $114 each month, while other places could be as low as $106.
These are the averages, to get your personalized Hawaii vehicle insurance quote and compare rates in your area, please enter your zip code into the search box here on this page.
Looking for cheap Hawaii car insurance? Hawaii requires liability insurance, with minimum of $20,000 for injury liability, $40,000 for all injuries, and $10,000 in property damage. Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage and no-fault insurance are not required in this state. Additionally, Hawaii car insurance regulations are stricter than those in many other states. If a driver doesn’t have insurance coverage, they must surrender the license plates to their county director of finance.
|Bodily Injury Liability||20,000/40,000||100,000/300,000|
|Property Damage Liability||10,000||50,000|
|Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury||Not required||20,000/40,000|
|Medical Payments||Not required||2,000|
|Collision||Not required||250 deductible|
|Comprehensive||Not required||1,000 deductible|
Your insurance agent’s job is to sit down with you, analyze your specific needs, and help you decide based on those and based on your budget what type of insurance coverage is right for you. Obviously, every vehicle will need at least the state minimums. More expensive vehicles might need Comprehensive coverage, Collision, Uninsured Motorist coverage, and more.
For the first DUI offense, drivers can receive up to a $1,000 fine, face a 6 months license suspension, and up to 6 months of imprisonment. Drivers are required to file an SR-22 to reinstate a suspended driver license after a DUI, uninsured auto accident, or driving without insurance. Additionally, Hawaii is one of the more expensive states when it comes to rate hikes from DUI convictions, as you can see in the chart below.
Teenage drivers tend to have higher rates because of their lack of driving experience. And in recent years, graduated driver laws have been passed in order to introduce teenagers to the road more slowly and with proper supervision. In Hawaii, young drivers can apply for their learner’s permit at 15 years and 6 months of age. During this stage, they must get a total of 50 supervised driving hours (10 at night) and wait until their 16th birthday before they are eligible for an intermediate permit. During the intermediate stage, they are not allowed to be on the road between 11:00 PM – 5:00 AM unsupervised, and they are not allowed any passengers under the age of 18 who are not family members. At the age of 17, the young driver is eligible for full driver privileges.
There are only three states in the US with consumer protection laws in place which make it illegal for your automotive insurance provider to raise your rates for having a poor credit score. Hawaii is one of them. This has good and bad sides to it. Those who haven’t been lucky enough to earn a high credit score won’t be busting their budget paying inflated prices for their insurance coverage. However, insurance companies will charge everyone slightly higher prices to make up for these perceived lost profits.
Lots of people believe that the insurance they purchase is for them as a driver. But what usually happens when you cause an accident in someone else’s vehicle? Or if someone borrows your truck and gets into an accident? The truth is that the financial responsibility falls on the company insuring the vehicle, no matter who is driving. This is a big reason your provider will ask detailed questions about your vehicle before issuing a policy.
All of the factors above, when added together, will make a big difference over what you pay vs. what your next-door neighbor might be paying. The next set of factors we are going to discuss might not make as much of a difference, but they are good to know just in case.
Currently, there are no state laws which specifically punish driving actions which are considered aggressive in most states, such as tailgating or driving at excessive speeds. In most areas, however, having fewer aggressive driving laws on the books encourages dangerous and risky behavior behind the wheel, which can raise the likelihood of accidents.
|Cell Phones and Texting Laws||Yes|
|Inc. Penalty for High BAC||BAC 0.15|
|Admin. License Susp. on 1st Offense||3 months|
Hawaii does have concern for the safety of its motorists when it comes to cell phone use, however. There is a primary all-driver ban on both texting behind the wheel, and also for talking on a cell phone while driving. And the primary level of enforcement means that catching careless drivers using a cell phone behind the wheel is all the reason they need to pull over a driver and ticket you.
|Rural Interstate||60 mph|
|Urban Interstate||60 mph|
|Other Limited-Access||55 mph|
Hawaii Department of Revenue – Motor Vehicle Division – click here for information on obtaining your driver’s license, requirements for ID cards, and vehicle registration.
How to contact directly:
Hawaii Insurance Div.
King Kalakaua Building
335 Merchant Street, Rm. 213
Honolulu, Hawaii 96813
These Hawaii Car Insurance Companies Offer The Lowest Rates In Your Area