CALL FOR QUOTES: 1-855-812-8395
Looking for cheap car insurance in New Jersey? If you are living in Newark, Jersey City, Paterson, Elizabeth, or Edison, you can find up to nine rate quotes from first rate insurers in your area through AutoInsuranceEZ.com. Did you know that premiums can vary by insurer? Always compare rates thoroughly before you buy a policy. We’ll enable you to choose the coverage to meet your needs.
New Jersey motorists are unfortunate for the reason that their average monthly rates are around $154/month. Naturally, some areas could be more costly, like the $220 monthly rates in Newark. Likewise, certain places are going to be cheaper, like Edison insurance policies that cost $106 or fewer monthly. Everything is dependent around the zipcode connected to where you park your vehicle during the night.
Although the state may have insurance requirements that other states don’t, it is still possible to find cheap car insurance in New Jersey. Liability, UM/UIM, and no-fault coverage (otherwise known as PIP) are all required within the state of New Jersey. For their respective minimums, refer to the table below:
|Bodily Injury Liability||15,000/30,000||100,000/300,000|
|Property Damage Liability||5,000||50,000|
|Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury||15,000/30,000||15,000/30,000|
|Medical Payments||Not required||5,000|
|Collision||Not required||500 deductible|
|Comprehensive||Not required||250 deductible|
Many of states need Insurance coverage before their people can legally get driving. However, many motorists do not understand precisely what Liability really covers. If you’re at fault within an accident – or “liable” – your Liability pays whatever expenses to the levels of coverage you buy. When the financial costs exceed individuals limits, when the accident isn’t your fault, or maybe similar to thievery or vandalism transpires with your automobile, you might have to turn to your own wallet to pay for the expense.
Drivers convicted of a DUI offense, may face the following penalties: up to 30 days in prison; a fine between $250-$400 ($300-$500 if BAL is 0.10 or higher); your license may be suspended for 3 months (7-12 months for BAL 0.10 or higher); an ignition interlock device may be installed on your vehicle; you may have to pay a minimum $525 DWI fee; you will have an additional automobile insurance surcharge of $1,000 for three years; and you must spend 12 hours at an intoxicated driver resource center.
Not every driver is required to file an SR-22. These are for special cases when motorists are convicted of serious driving violations. These include causing an accident while driving without insurance, being convicted of a DUI, or operating a motor vehicle without proof of insurance. In New Jersey, you will need to file an SR-22 in order to have your driver’s license reinstated.
At 16 years old, youthful New Jersey motorists can obtain a Learner Stage driving permit. Oddly, there are no required hours of supervised driving before graduating up. You must maintain your permit in good standing for 6 months at least, but cannot apply for the next stage until you turn 17.
For the following year, young drivers can’t be on the highway between 11:00 PM and 5:00 AM, or drive with more than one passenger (excluding the driver’s family and dependents). At 18 years of age, they are able to obtain a full privilege license.
You will find 47 states in America where automotive insurance providers can legally ask you for a greater rate per month for having poor credit. Motorists who’re lucky enough to get have good or excellent credit scores may have reduced payments. Individuals with a bad credit score, however, will likely be getting billed more.
Here is a question: imagine if a family member or friend borrows your automobile, and gets into any sort of accident? If they’re discovered to be to blame, then it’s your insurance provider that’ll be coping with any claims filed because of the accident. It is because insurance follows the automobile, not the driver or owner. This is exactly why the make/type of your vehicle or truck is essential for the insurance provider to understand.
The state laws we have already covered will have a much more dramatic influence on your monthly bill than most of the laws below. However, it is good to be aware of them – and to obey them as best you can – to prevent them from blemishing your driving record and having an adverse influence on your insurance costs.
Aggressive driving laws do exist in New Jersey. However, unlike most other states, the aggressive actions are at the discretion of the officer. For more information, consult the “Careless Driving”, “Operating a Vehicle in an Unsafe Manner”, and similar statues of New Jersey law.
|Aggressive Driving||Careless Driving/Unsafe Manner Statutes|
|Cell Phones and Texting Laws||All driver ban|
|Inc. Penalty for High BAC||BAC 0.10|
|Admin. License Susp. on 1st Offense||90 days|
Distracted driving is a big problem, no matter what state you are in or what roads you are driving on. That’s why the state of New Jersey has wisely decided to pass all-driver bans on both talking and texting on a cell phone while driving. And these are all at a primary level of enforcement, too.
|Rural Interstate||65 mph|
|Urban Interstate||55 mph|
|Other Limited-Access||65 mph|
New Jersey Department of Revenue – Motor Vehicle Division – click here for information on obtaining your driver’s license, requirements for ID cards, and vehicle registration.
How to contact directly:
New Jersey Dept. of Banking and Insurance
PO Box 325
Trenton, NJ 08625-0325
Phone (Toll Free): 1-800-446-SHOP (7467)
Compare New Jersey Car Insurance Companies that Offer the Lowest Rates in Your Area