CALL FOR QUOTES: 1-855-406-0240
Looking for cheap Idaho auto insurance quotes? It doesn’t matter where you live, be it Boise, Nampa, Meridian, Pocatello, or Idaho Falls; you can still get up to ten rate quotes from the best automobile insurance agencies in your area through AutoInsuranceEZ.com. Because prices will vary from company to company, you should always compare rates thoroughly before you purchase your vehicle policy. We’ll be glad to help you find the coverage you need.
If you are currently driving around in Idaho right now, your average monthly rate might be somewhere around $57 per month, or maybe a little higher. But the price will vary depending on exactly where you live in the state. Some places, such as Nampa, can be as high as $75/mo; however, You could be paying as low as $44 or less monthly by living in a city like Boise.
Another factor which may alter the cost of your motor vehicle insurance policy is where you live. If you live in an area rate of automobile collisions, your insurance costs may be higher. This is because rural drivers are less likely to get into an accident than city drivers.
Idaho doesn’t have any no-fault accident laws, so there is no requirement for no-fault vehicle insurance. In addition, Idaho drivers aren’t required to carry uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage either. Based on these requirements, finding cheap Idaho car insurance will be a fairly simple process. The minimum insurance requirements for Idaho motorists include both Property Damage Liability and Bodily Injury Liability. Their minimums and recommended amounts are listed below:
|Bodily Injury Liability||15,000/30,000||100,000/300,000|
|Property Damage Liability||10,000||50,000|
|Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury||Not required||100,000/300,000|
|Personal Injury Protection||15,000/30,000||15,000/30,000|
|Collision||Not required||500 deductible|
|Comprehensive||Not required||0 deductible|
Were you aware that Liability coverage won’t pay out any claims if your car is stolen? Or if severe weather damages your vehicle? To protect against these events, you’ll have to buy Comprehensive and Collision coverage, respectively. But it all depends on whether your budget can afford it, or if your car is worth the extra coverage.
If you are convicted of your first DUI offense, you may face the following penalties: a 6 month prison sentence; a fine of up to $1,000; your license may be suspended for 3-6 months, and have restrictions imposed within 30 days; and you may also be evaluated for alcoholism and be required to seek treatment. Not every driver is required to file an SR-22. These are for special cases when motorists are convicted of serious driving violations. These include causing an accident while driving without insurance, being convicted of a DUI, or operating a motor vehicle without proof of insurance. In Idaho, you will need to file an SR-22 in order to have your driver’s license reinstated.
Idaho starts their young drivers on a path to learning the road at a much younger age than other states. A teenage driver can apply for their learner’s permit as early as 14 years and 6 months of age. After that, all it takes to get your intermediate license is 50 hours of supervised driving (with 10 hours at night) and to be at least 15 years of age or to have had your learner’s permit for at least 6 months. During the intermediate stage, young drivers are not allowed on the road from sunrise to sunset, and cannot have a non-family passenger in the car who is under the age of 17 for the first 6 months of their intermediate permit. By 15 years and 6 months of age, the passenger restriction is lifted; by 16 years of age, the nighttime driving restriction is lifted, and Idaho teenagers can apply for a full license.
The vast majority of states in the country allow for insurance companies to change their rates based on the credit information of their customers. Also, in most states, the difference between an excellent and a poor credit score can more than double the monthly premiums for poor credit drivers; however, this credit burden is not as severe in Idaho.
There is a long-standing myth that “the insurance policy follows the driver”. However, this simply is not the case. Your insurance company asks questions about your vehicle, such as the make, model, and the year, because your insurance follows your vehicle. And this can have adverse consequences, such as your insurance company having to pay out claims for an accident that someone caused while borrowing your vehicle.
So far, the laws and regulations in Idaho that we have discussed are very influential when it comes to your monthly rates. But knowing the following laws can help you keep your rates down too, as long as you follow them:
Unfortunately, there are no aggressive driving laws on the books in Idaho. But that doesn’t mean that things such as tailgating or failure to yield are legal. It just means that these actions, if you are cited for them, cannot then be compounded with an aggressive driving charge added on. But if you cause an accident because you were driving aggressively, those circumstances will be taken into account both when determining your legal punishment for putting other drivers in danger as well as how high your insurance rates spike.
|Aggressive Driving||No state law|
|Cell Phones and Texting Laws||All-Driver Texting Ban (Primary)|
|Inc. Penalty for High BAC||BAC 0.20|
|Admin. License Susp. on 1st Offense||90 days|
In Idaho, there is no ban against talking on a cell phone while driving, despite the fact that such a distraction increases the likelihood of an accident by four fold. Thankfully, however, there is an all-driver ban on texting behind the wheel. And since it is a primary level offense, you can be pulled over and ticketed for it at any time.
|Rural Interstate||70 mph|
|Urban Interstate||65 mph|
|Other Limited-Access||70 mph|
Idaho Department of Revenue – Motor Vehicle Division – click here for information on obtaining your driver’s license, requirements for ID cards, and vehicle registration.
Idaho Department of Insurance How to contact directly:
700 West State St.
P.O. Box 83720
Boise, ID 83720-0043
Consumer Affairs: 1-208-236-6411
Compare Idaho Car Insurance Companies that Offer the Lowest Rates in Your Area