CALL FOR QUOTES: 1-855-406-0240
Georgia auto insurance rates vary from company to company. The process of choosing the right policy can be overwhelming. Fortunately for you, AutoInsuranceEZ.com is here to help! Whether you live in Athens, Savannah, Columbus, Augusta, Atlanta, Roswell, Macon, or Albany, GA, enter your zip code to get up to 10 free car insurance quotes from the leading providers in your area.
Georgia is one state in which the price of insurance for the average driver is a bit lower than in many other states. Overall, Georgia drivers can expect to pay somewhere around $70/mo* to keep their insurance coverage in good standing. However, some cities might be a little higher – like in Atlanta, where the monthly average is around $83 each month – or lower, like the $66 monthly average for cities such as Albany or Augusta.
Most carriers in the state offer discounts on car insurance in Georgia for a variety of reasons. Are you a good student? Do you have more than one car? Are you a safe driver? If you answered yes to any of these questions, you might be eligible for discounts, so make sure you ask your agent about specific discounts that may be available to you.
If you are looking for cheap Georgia car insurance, learn more about the requirements in this state. Georgia requires liability insurance, with minimum of $25,000 for injury liability, $50,000 for all injuries, and $25,000 in property damage. Georgia follows a Tort system which means that its drivers are not required to purchase Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage nor Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist coverage (UN/UIM).
|Bodily Injury Liability||25,000/50,000||100,000/300,000|
|Property Damage Liability||25,000||50,000|
|Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury||Not required||25,000/50,000|
|Medical Payments||Not required||5,000|
|Collision||Not required||500 deductible|
|Comprehensive||Not required||100 deductible|
Most likely, your monthly insurance bill is going to be decided according to what type of vehicle you can afford, and what you can afford to pay each month to keep it protected. For someone driving a luxury vehicle, which will require larger amounts of coverage to be purchased in addition to extra forms of protection, it will be much more costly than insuring an older compact sedan.
For the first DUI offense, you will receive up to a $1,000 fine, face a one year license suspension, and up to one year of imprisonment. Georgia has addressed aggressive driving in their legislature. Drivers are required to file an SR-22 to reinstate a suspended driver license after a DUI, uninsured auto accident, or driving without insurance. And after all of the dust settles, don’t be surprised if your insurance rates go up significantly; there can be some pretty stiff rate hikes for drivers convicted of a DUI in Georgia.
At the tender age of 15, Georgia teenagers can apply for their learner’s beginner stage permit. This permit is effective for their first 12 consecutive months of driving, and requires that they collect at least 40 hours of supervised driving (six of which should happen at night) before applying for at intermediate stage permit at 16 years of age or older. During their intermediate stage, They cannot drive between the hours of 12-6:00 AM, nor can they have non-family passengers in the car with them for their first 6 months. During their next six months, they can have only one passenger who is under the age of 21 in the vehicle with them. Starting at 17 years of age, if all other stages have been completed, they can have up to 3 non-familial passengers under the age of 21 in the vehicle with them until they turn 18. Then they can apply for full licensure.
Driving in Georgia with a bad credit score could end up costing you a pretty penny. At the very least, the difference between an excellent and a poor credit score could mean a doubling of your monthly rate. But there are plenty of free ways to track your credit and build up a better score to eventually save money on your monthly rate.
Here’s an interesting question: what happens if a close family member borrows your vehicle and gets into an accident? Well, you and your insurance company may end up paying the price. This is because in most cases, the insurance policy follows the vehicle, not the driver – it’s also the reason you need to tell your provider the make, model, and age of your vehicle.
So far, all of the major elements discussed can have a pretty hefty influence on whether or not you end up saving a lot of money – or spending a lot of it – on your monthly insurance bill. But violating any of the laws and regulations below might also end up costing you higher insurance rates over time:
Georgia is one of many states in which local officials realize that certain behaviors behind the wheel, while seemingly harmless, can lead to spikes in accident rates. When these actions are committed, drivers in Georgia can be sited for aggressive driving violations in addition to getting a ticket for: following too closely (or “tailgating”); passing another vehicle in a dangerous or aggressive manner; violating lane markings; failure to signal, change lanes properly, slow, or stop where appropriate according to traffic signs and traffic control devices; impeding traffic flow; or reckless driving.
|Cell Phones and Texting Laws||yes|
|Inc. Penalty for High BAC||BAC 0.15|
|Admin. License Susp. on 1st Offense||1 year|
With regard to cell phone use, there is an all-driver ban on texting while driving, and it is a primary offense within the state of Georgia. There is also a primary ban on talking on a cell phone while driving for both bus drivers, and also young drivers under the age of 18. Primary offenses are those which can get you pulled over and cited just for that violation alone; law enforcement officials need no other excuse to pull you over.
|Rural Interstate||70 mph|
|Urban Interstate||55 mph|
|Other Limited-Access||65 mph|
Georgia Department of Revenue – Motor Vehicle Division – click here for information on obtaining your driver’s license, requirements for ID cards, and vehicle registration.
How to contact directly:
Georgia Dept. of Insurance
2 Martin Luther King, Jr. Dr.
West Tower, Suite 716
Atlanta, Georgia 30334
Toll Free: 1-800-656-2298
Compare Georgia Car Insurance Companies that Offer the Lowest Rates in Your Area