AutoInsuranceEZ.com
Fast, Free Quotes, Instant Savings

CALL FOR QUOTES:
1-855-406-0240

FIND THE CHEAPEST INSURANCE QUOTES IN YOUR AREA
Yes No

Car insurance in AlabamaFind affordable Alabama automobile insurance coverage online. Whether you live in Birmingham, Montgomery, Mobile, Huntsville, or Tuscaloosa, or whether you live in in Hoover, Dothan, or Decatur, with so many companies offering car insurance in your state, how do you know what auto insurance is right for you? Find affordable auto insurance policies and optional insurance coverages available in the state of Alabama.

Alabama Auto Insurance – Average Premiums

The state average for automotive insurance in Alabama is hovering right around $67 currently. Of course, your zip code will be the biggest factor in determining how your rates fluctuate by location. In some cities, such as Dothan, you might only have to pay around $62/mo. In larger areas, like Birmingham, your monthly payments might be somewhere around $73.

Average Auto Insurance Costs in Alabama Legend: Major City Birmingham Huntsville Mobile Montgomery Tuscaloosa Decatur Dothan Hoover State Average 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 $73 $64 $71 $67 $66 $65 $62 $71 $67

 

AutoInsuranceEZ.com provides approximate measures of the relative cost of car insurance to drivers in each state. The state ranks 32 out of 50 states in terms of average expenditures for Alabama vehicle insurance. But with our help, you can find some of the lowest rates in your area.

Important Alabama Auto Insurance Laws and Requirements

Alabama requires liability insurance, with a minimum of $25,000 for injury liability, $50,000 for all injuries, and $25,000 in property damage. Alabama does not currently require Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage. Alabama is a tort state, so no-fault insurance is not required. For more details, take a look at the chart below.

Coverage Requirements Most Common
Bodily Injury Liability 20,000/40,000 100,000/300,000
Property Damage Liability 10,000 50,000
Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury Not required 20,000/40,000
Medical Payments Not required 2,000
Collision Not required 500 deductible
Comprehensive Not required 0 deductible

 

Choosing the Right Amount of Alabama Car Insurance Coverage

Not all automotive insurance policies are created equal. At the very least, you must purchase the mandated state minimum coverages and in their minimum amounts. If your vehicle is newer, more expensive, or you are worried about types of damage which Liability won’t cover (such as theft, or weather damage), then you should buy more coverage – and in higher amounts, too.

Basic vs. Comprehensive Auto Insurance Legend: Basic Coverage Comprehensive Coverage Birmingham Huntsville Mobile Montgomery Tuscaloosa Decatur Dothan Hoover State Average 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 90 $38 $85 $34 $73 $38 $85 $35 $73 $34 $77 $36 $84 $39 $87 $37 $90 $36 $82

 

Alabama DUI Laws

First-time DUI offenders in Alabama can have their license suspended for up to 6 months if they are convicted of a DUI. For DUIs that are higher than a BAL of 0.15, you may also have to have an ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle. To reinstate a suspended license, you must file an SR-22 as proof of insurance before your license reinstatement. Furthermore, Alabama is one of 36 states in which it might be legal for your insurance company to deny your claim if vehicle damage or payments for medical treatment were the result of an accident involving alcohol consumption. Of course, all this is on top of the fact that your insurance rates will go up significantly for a DUI conviction.

DUI Car Insurance Costs in Alabama Legend: Clean Record DUI Violation Birmingham Huntsville Mobile Montgomery Tuscaloosa Decatur Dothan Hoover State Average 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 $38 $67 $34 $46 $38 $52 $35 $47 $34 $57 $36 $40 $39 $66 $37 $77 $36 $56

 

Age Limit Laws

At the age of 15, teenage drivers in Alabama can apply for and drive, if supervised, with a Learner’s Stage driving permit. Young drivers must maintain their permit for at least 6 months, take driver’s ed, and accumulate at least 30 hours of supervised driving hours before they can apply for an intermediate driver’s permit. However, these are not issued until the driver is at least 16 years of age. Intermediate state drivers cannot drive between the hours of midnight and 6:00 AM, and cannot have more than 1 non-family passenger in their vehicle while driving. By the age of 17, they can apply for a full license. Despite all of these safety restrictions, teenage drivers are still paying some of the highest rates around.

Auto Insurance by Age Legend: Average Rates for Teenage Drivers Birmingham Huntsville Mobile Montgomery Tuscaloosa Decatur Dothan Hoover State Average 15 30 45 60 75 90 105 120 135 150 165 $135 $118 $137 $124 $119 $163 $157 $176 $141

 

Credit Score Laws and Regulations

For most states, it is legal for your insurance provider to adjust your premiums based on how high or low your credit score is. If your credit score happens to be high, then you’re in luck – automotive insurance providers often give lower rates to drivers who are fortunate enough to have maintained a high credit score.

Auto Insurance by Credit Score Legend: Excellent Credit Poor Credit Birmingham Huntsville Mobile Montgomery Tuscaloosa Decatur Dothan Hoover State Average 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 $32 $68 $29 $54 $32 $73 $30 $54 $29 $59 $29 $54 $30 $58 $35 $62 $31 $60

 

Insuring your Vehicle in Alabama

Even though you, as an individual and a driver, are legally required to carry insurance, your policy doesn’t so much follow you as it does your vehicle. That’s why your insurance company needs to know the make and model of your vehicle to accurately quote you a policy rate. Why is this important to know? Well, if you have an expensive vehicle, and you let a friend or family member borrow it, any insurance claims on an accident which results from them driving your car or truck will be billed to your insurance company, not the company of the driver.

Car Insurance by Make/Model Legend: 2015 Honda Accord 2012 Porsche Boxter Spyder Birmingham Huntsville Mobile Montgomery Tuscaloosa Decatur Dothan Hoover State Average 15 30 45 60 75 90 105 120 $38 $129 $34 $129 $38 $125 $35 $129 $34 $117 $36 $122 $39 $125 $37 $128 $36 $126

 

Additional Alabama Auto Insurance Laws and Requirements

All of the laws mentioned above will have a significant influence on how much you end up paying for your insurance policy. The laws below might not make as much of a difference, but knowing them (and more importantly, following them) will also help keep your rates low:

Highway Safety Laws

In Alabama, there is currently no state law against aggressive driving. But if aggressive actions such as following too closely or speeding excessively lead to an accident, there is no guarantee that the additional violation will not end up on your driving record, or influence who is deemed at fault in the accident.

Aggressive Driving No
Cell Phones and Texting Laws Secondary All Driver Ban for Texting; Restrictions for Young Drivers
Inc. Penalty for High BAC BAC 0.15
Admin. License Susp. on 1st Offense 90 Days

 

Speed Limits and Cell Phone Use

Like many states across the country, Alabama does have an all driver ban on texting while driving. This violation is also a primary offense. That means that you don’t have to be breaking any other laws while driving – such as speeding, or tailgating – before a law enforcement official can legally pull you over and write you a ticket for texting while driving. Talking on a cell phone while driving is only illegal for young drivers with an Intermediate permit. However, like texting, it is also a primary level violation.

Rural Interstate 70 mph
Urban Interstate 60 mph
Other Limited-Access 65 mph

Important Alabama Contacts

Visit the Alabama Department of Revenue – Motor Vehicle Division for information on obtaining your Alabama driver’s license, requirements for ID Cards, and vehicle registration.

Official State Alabama Website

Alabama Department of Insurance

How to contact directly:

Physical Address: Alabama Dept. of Insurance
201 Monroe St. Suite 1700
Montgomery, AL 36104

These Alabama Car Insurance Companies Offer The Lowest Rates In Your Area

 

Get FREE Quotes In Seconds!


FIND THE CHEAPEST INSURANCE QUOTES IN YOUR AREA
Yes No